We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Buffalo Floor Suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treasure Island Resort & Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Welch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treasure Island Resort & Casino
Save
You added Treasure Island Resort & Casino to your Saves list
5734 Sturgeon Lake Road, Welch, MN 55089   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welch
Tomah, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Buffalo Floor Suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I frequent this casino about twice a year as a trip. Since we spend the weekend and have a players club card, we get offers and this time hit the jackpot! I received a complimentary whirlpool suite. It was truely amazing! It was two rooms, whirlpool in the bedroom, sitting room with couch and a mini kitchen area. It was new and clean, even for being a smoking room. I would highly recommend if making a reservation to pay a little extra and stay in the whirlpool suite on the Buffalo floor.

Room Tip: Book way ahead if you are going to stay on a weekend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    51
    28
    15
    16
See reviews for
17
68
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011 via mobile

I have stayed at here many times always have a clean comfortable room (could use a fridge) great cheap food and drinks,tons of slots to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Perfectly adequate property and casino. Expected a smoke screen when we got there (based on other reviews) but wasn't bad at all (and i dont even smoke). There are non-smoking areas so all the complainers must not be able to read signs. News flash- people go to casinos to smoke so if you cant stand smoke go somewhere else. My wife and i stayed in Eagle Tower room and it was nice. Heard the Buffalo tower rooms were older and more beat up so decided to pay a little extra. Casino is neat, plenty of food and gaming choices. Overall i really liked this place, no its not a Hard Rock hotel and casino, or Treasure Island in Las Vegas, but if you want places that nice then go places that nice. However, for being out in the middle of no where in MN this place is pretty darn nice. Has day care on site (didnt use however) and also a arcade and bowling alley so plenty to do.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Very nice casino with a awesome location right on the Mississippi River. The complex has something for everybody. The rooms are nice but well worn. They need to be redone soon because the beds are very saggy and the shower has almost no water pressure. But I see they do not want to take a room out of the inventory because they were packed the weekend we stayed there.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I have never been a gambler but I had a chance to see a band that I missed in the 80s...Loverboy! (Ya, I hear you laughing)

The concert was enjoyable. However, the facility left a lot to be desired. As I entered, I could not believe that I was hit by a blue wall of smoke. Yes, you can smoke there. It was AWFUL. The "concert" hall was just a big convention-style room with banquet chairs up front and some tiered seating at the rear and on the sides. The drive to the casino was most noteworthy for a lack of adequate signs to the "resort." I often wondered if I was going the right way.

Overall, I'm glad I saw the concert but I now know that I won't be returning unless there is something really amazing happening there (which I can't imagine).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed in the Buffalo Tower which is the older section of the hotel. Room was average, decent size and clean. No fridge or microwave. Bathroom was big. Beds are comfortable but the pillows seemed to "crackle" every time I moved, which was kind of annoying when you're trying to sleep. Pool area is nice sized but in need of some tlc. Two whirlpools which was nice. Excercise room looked to have a stationary bike, a treadmill, maybe an elliptical and a few free weights in a pretty small room. There's also a big bowling alley and arcade, and I did notice a daycare room with an i-Pad station for older kids. The closest city is Red Wing and that's about 10 miles away. This "resort" is out in the middle of nowhere basically. It is on the Mississippi River and they do have a marina, but it is quite a distance from the hotel/casino. I believe they have buses to shuttle back and forth. All in all, it's a fine place to spend an overnight.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Heights, OH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

An organization I belong to decided to hold its annual meeting at Treasure Island Casino in Welch, MN. The hotel is average, and the rooms are just a little tired. Red Wing is the nearest "city" of any size. If you're used to the resorts and buffets of Vegas, well this ain't it. The food was OK, but the restaurants and buffet were so-so in appearance and value. You had to walk through smoking areas to get to the restaurants. While there were no-smoking flloors available in the hotel, once you walked into the casino area where eerything of interest was located, you got hit in the face by smoke. The best thing in the resort - IMHO - was the ice cream served at the bowling alley concession stand. While I'm sure that if you came to play the slots and gaming tables you would have thought this property was a great value, I enjoyed my time away from it, going shopping in Red Wing and visiting the National Eagle Center in Wabasha.

Room Tip: Don't go if you don't smoke and gamble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treasure Island Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Island Resort & Casino

Address: 5734 Sturgeon Lake Road, Welch, MN 55089
Location: United States > Minnesota > Welch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welch
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Hotel Welch
Treasure Island Resort And Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasure Island Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.