We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sea food platter - wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An Tigh Seinnse

An Tigh Seinnse
11 Queen Street, Portnahaven PA47 7SJ, Scotland
+44 1496 860224
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Coffee Shop, Seafood, Vegetarian, Pub, Family Fare, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Kentish lass
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The sea food platter - wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Fabulous little pub. Five of us shared a seafood and veggie platter. Never tasted lobster or scallops so good. Well done chef.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    30
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“In Gaelic Means "The Public Place or House"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I called in for a snack, very nice welcoming feel to this very small inn. We visited very many years ago when an excentric old lady ran it, if she didn't like the look of you, you didn't get served. We discovered that this old lady has retired but is still the Champion of Gaelic on Islay.

A nice young girl served us very pleasant indeed and had time for a chat. I ordered the multi-bean Chilli thinking that it was normal meat Chilli with lots of beans. Although I am not veggie it was a very lovely Chilli. My wife had Chicken and chips which was an enourmous portion. Enough for a Doggy bag for our 2 rescue dogs Elvis & Telly.

Now owned by a guy named Carl who used to own the Port Charlotte Hotel many years ago.

Just opposite the Pub is the island of Oransey with its lighthouse. Between the island and the tip of Islay there are tremendous waves crashing in from the Atlantic. Seals stare at you and there is also one of the first ever wind energy projects just up from the Pub.

Nice to find an oldy worldy Pub which gives you a feeling for the old days on Islay.

Best Wishes

Phil & Elaine Coombes

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, Scotland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a lovely meal here on the last night of our stay in Portnahaven, The girl behind the bar was so welcoming and helpful. Our order was taken within minutes and it was delightful especially as it was a very busy time of the evening. Well done that girl.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great service, very friendly staff who are always happy to help. Food is piping hot with great traditional and local selection on offer. Lovely atmosphere with a warm and cosy room. Great for the kids as very relaxed. Would reccomend as a great wee pub to visit with family and friends!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Having read the glowing reviews, we were looking forward to eating here. The room we were in was cold and dingy but we thought that the food would make up for it - we were very wrong!
The meatballs were tasteless, overcooked and clearly reheated, the pint of prawns hadn't been cleaned out and still had grit in them. Children's pizzas were edible and the chicken was ok. Whilst the lady who served us was very nice, it has to be one of the worst meals out we have had. Beautiful location but terrible food which looked nothing like the other pictures on the site.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Tigh Seinnse also viewed

 

Been to An Tigh Seinnse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Tigh Seinnse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.