We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfriendly staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Castaways Wine Bar and Restaurant

Castaways Wine Bar and Restaurant
Mylor Harbour, Mylor Bridge TR11 5UF, England
01326 377710
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“unfriendly staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Came off a boat & tried to get a pint There was a private function in the main bar but the restaurant bar wouldn't serve us either - even though we wanted just to sit on the picnic tables outside. So Mylor Harbour is not a reliable waterhole to put in at!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    44
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Going Downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Castaways was such a great place to eat for locals and visitors alike. it was always buzzing and so very relaxed and provided great value for money in it's drinks and it's food.
The new owner tho seems to have lost the plot. Change for change sake. If you have a menu that works and a set-up that everyone knows and loves why change it?
I called in the other evening after sailing and frankly i didn't bother. The menu offered fish and chips, burger, pasta or a pizza. If I want to eat out in the evening I do not want a pizza no matter how many varieties you offer me.. Drink prices have shot up too.
Not the place that it was and i predict will be short of custom in the winter. Oh dear. Gylly beach here i come again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Yummy pasta with tiger prawns and crayfish, risotto was also delicious apparently! Good service, nice atmosphere, only let down by the stinky loos!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoarwithy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stop off at Castaways when we're out sailing. Their menu looks absolutely super and the service is excellent even when all we're there for is beer or coffee and pastries.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal & Good Service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We visited for a late tea/ early dinner on 15th September. The restaurant was recommended by our holiday cottage owner who is a regular.

Service was friendly and prompt.

The belly pork was excellent and superbly presented. As was my partner's chicken pasta dish. The side of garlic bread was a good sized portion and very tasty.

My pint of Tribute at £3.50 compares reasonably well with local pub prices.

We'd certainly return when next in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaways Wine Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Castaways Wine Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaways Wine Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.