We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual great standard but with the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Castels Chateau de Chanteloup

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sille-le-Philippe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Castels Chateau de Chanteloup
Save
You added Les Castels Chateau de Chanteloup to your Saves list
Chateau de Chanteloup, 72460 Sille-le-Philippe, France   |  
Hotel amenities
KENT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Usual great standard but with the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Extremely warm welcome and very efficient staff giving us all the low down on what the site offers. We stayed here for one night on a stop-over so managed to stay in the wooded field just by the gate without having to unhitch the caravan. They were very specific about where and how to park.

Didn’t have time to use any of the facilities apart from the toilet and shower block. We used the one by the Chateau, which you do have to pass a very busy restaurant with quite a few people sitting outside, which I did find a bit odd.

The usual standards you expect from a Castel site and of course the usual price for August 2013, 2 adults, 1 child under 12 years, caravan and electricity for one night was 39 euros

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Luxury camping close to Le Mans. Camping is on the vast open green spaces in front of the chateau. Campers and caravanners are set around the edge so you get a feel of 'old fashioned' French campsites before mobile homes and tatty wooden chalets took over on the rest - but not here (no statics at al!). If shade is your thing then you could also camp in the forested area. If you don't have your own equipment, then you could try the chateau's own 'glamping'.

Wonderful bar. Fantastic restaurant (traditional French cooking or great pizzas..). The grassy area at the back of the chateau outside the bar, has an open tippee with bamboo style settees/chairs with cream cushions, tea lights on the low tables and patio burners. More Mediterranean hotel than campsite....

Beware - the two swimming pools are on the small side and there is no 'lazy river' or curly/straight slides into the pool - but that was part of the charm of this site for us, because it encouraged those who prefer such things to go elsewhere....

Dominique the owner is a v.savvy man simply because he really "gets" customer service. He treats his camping guests as if they were in his hotel - he is in the bar, in the restaurant talking to people, chatting to people in the morning queue for bread and croissants from the local baker who comes onto the site. His team of young Dutch, English and French staff are superb.

We talked to fellow campers who had been returning for 30 years, which says it all. Wonderful atmosphere. Now we have found it - we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The pool was good but no steps into it which is difficult for disabled people. It was however a decent sized pool and not too crowded. The unheated pool was a bit unnecessary. The garden was idyllic with lots of butterflies. The restaurant was very friendly and good food. We had the steak and the apple crumble was fantastic. The pitch was on a slight slope which was disappointing as they could have found us a more level place. Staff friendly. Soap and loo paper made this hygienic place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glamorgan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Recently stayed for a couple of nights.
Fab for the children with great facilities and generous tent pitches. A very charismatic host who added to the experience and I would definitely go back again maybe for the Le Mans racing next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked in for 2 nights prior to leaving Ireland, we received a wonderful welcome this is one of the best campsites we have ever stayed in, just enough peace and quite to keep me and hubby happy and just enough activities to keep the kids happy, we stayed an extra night and explored the town of les mans there was a bus stop just a couple of mins walk from the site into les mans, we loved our stay and will visit again.

Room Tip: We loved our pitch close to the chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

When you arrive you are met by happy friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble for them, they do everything they can to help
Will definitely be visiting again next year
Cleanest friendliest campsite I've been to in uk or france

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Sad to be leaving.
Great entertainment for kids. Staff join in & make you feel like you are part of someone's home for a fleeting moment.
Pool area good .
Great relaxed atmosphere.
Great food & beer too!
Dont visit...we don't want the secret of how nice this place is to get out!!!
Definitely returning...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Castels Chateau de Chanteloup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Castels Chateau de Chanteloup

Address: Chateau de Chanteloup, 72460 Sille-le-Philippe, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Sille-le-Philippe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sille-le-Philippe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Castels Chateau de Chanteloup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.