We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Big Bog Boardwalk is an excellent way to learn about an ecosystem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bog State Recreation Area

Big Bog State Recreation Area
55716 Hwy 72 NE, Waskish, MN 56685
218-647-8592
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Waskish
Oronoco, Minnesota
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Big Bog Boardwalk is an excellent way to learn about an ecosystem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We hiked for about 1 1/2 houaround the pond and to the end of the boardwalk & back. We were the only ones there on a Wednesday morning. Thinterpretive plaques are excellent. The plants are very interesting. We saw evidence of beaver's work by the parking lot and along the pond walk. Saw blujays, a crow and a young buck deer. We heard a sparrow. I loved this walk!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bemidji, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Camping!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The boardwalk is interesting and easy to walk, cool plants to look at...but what we loved the most was our stay at the campgrounds. We rented a camper cabin for 3 nights, it was very cozy and plenty of room in it, clean and well kept up. especially love the gas fireplace! Canoe and kayak rentals very reasonable, caught some fish on the river and cleaned them right there in the large and very clean fish house(I think that's what you call it, the place where you filet fish). Last but not least...the staff were very friendly, accommodating and so helpful as they were very knowledgeable about the area. My husband was impressed! Will definitely stay again!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warroad, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unique boardwalk in a bog & kid-friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The boardwalk makes this an easy walk, even for toddlers. The north bog walk is about a mile. Lots of interesting plants that kids will love: pitcher plants (carnivorous!), orchids, cranberries, laplander's tea to name a few. As you get away from the pond, there are no mosquitoes!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“great place to camp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Beaches here are smooth and sandy, climbing the tower is super fun for the kids and has amazing views of Red Lake. The campground is clean and well taken care of (new facilites, very clean bathrooms). We enjoyed the walking paths and board walk (if you can handle the bugs, which will be there pretty much anytime when there is no snow).

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Bog State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bog State Recreation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Big Bog State Recreation Area to your Saves list