We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Told to wait in an empty restaurant.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The 502 Restaurant

The 502 Restaurant
502 Cleveland Blvd, Walker, MN
218.547.7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in Walker
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Walker, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Told to wait in an empty restaurant.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The service is terrible! We were told there was a 10 minute wait for lunch and there was only ONE table!! There beer is kept in lighted coolers so it tastes skunky. The bartenders (one in particular) has NO customer service skills whatsoever. You can sit with an empty beer/drink for a good 15 minutes while she hangs out talking with co-workers. Will not be going back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best View with a Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Normally, you'd see that title reversed: "Best Restaurant, with a View" but it was so overwhelmingly nice the evening we were there to celebrate a double birthday I have to give the view top billing.
We sat outdoors on the patio, with a sunset lake view stretching from horizon to horizon, and balmy breezes. ((OK, so we were lucky to pick the one best day of Summer in MN :>{ what can I say?))
Service was courteous, and fairly prompt considering the crowd on a Saturday night. Can't say much about the food, becuase 4 of 5 of us had the Walleye! IT was served with side of roasted root vegetables that was also very tasty. And the Walleye was good, despite an earlier reviewers comment about it being frozen from Canada. NOTE: Most of the Walleye you get anywhere in any restaurant will be, unless you go catch it yourself!

Did sneak a look at the neighboring table's fare, and the Cajun Pasta and RIbs both looked and sounded tasty.
Desserts -- both the flourless Chocolate Cake and a unique butterscotch-Caramel creation, were delicious.
NET: I'd definitely go back, even if I had to sit insdie :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
“Don't miss the Sunday brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Don't miss the Sunday brunch. Great value, scrumptious brunch buffet and a beautiful view! Service is also good,

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Range, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Huge breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Enjoyed the plethora of choices on the breakfast buffet; being able to enjoy the beauty of Leech Lake from the dining was delightful. Because it was early and I usually eat a light breakfast, I was disappointed that the buffet was their only breakfast option.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Frozen Fish?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Good service and an imaginative menu, put the wait staff told us that the walleye was frozen and came from Canada.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 502 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The 502 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 502 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.