We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chase on the Lake” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chase on the Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chase on the Lake to your Saves list
Chase on the Lake
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   502 Cleveland Blvd., Walker, MN 56484   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Walker
Nevada City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chase on the Lake”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a resort hotel pretending to be upscale but not knowing how to do it. We were expecting a luxury hotel and instead got a beautiful facility in a beautiful location run by a group of young folk who probably have never been to a truly upscale hotel. First of all, the housekeeping is inadequate. Our room was not ready on arrival. On our second day, after a long outing we returned to an unclean room. The explanation was that they were first cleaning the rooms for the new arrivals. The internet connection is confusing with passwords changing without notice and mostly never working. The in-room lighting is inadequate if more than one person needs to read. Our telephone never worked and they were unable to fix it. The restaurant is mediocre at best. The only access to the beautiful lakeside is through the restaurant and to sit and enjoy it, one most order something. It is billed as a biking friendly resort yet has no secure place to store the bicycles overnight. The day we arrived we could not find a parking spot in their parking lot because of a wedding and had to park some distance away. Our expectations were definitely not met.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    43
    22
    19
    13
See reviews for
73
87
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Grand Forks, MN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I chose Chase on the Lake in Walker, MN as a last minute get away and we were not disappointed at all! The resort is a mix of families and couples, but handles both well. Calling a day in advance, the resort was able to get us into a King Balcony room overlooking Leech Lake and we were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the property was very pleasant--reminiscent of an old timey resort down to the music that played throughout the lodge. Our room was very comfortable with a wonderful overview of the lake and the resort property and was decorated with Art Nouveau and Arts and Crafts style furniture. The bed was comfortable with lots of pillows, and the view from the balcony was absolutely fabulous. Nice shower, good towels (but not great), nice amenities. Room had a small fridge and coffee maker. Our room was very quiet other than the outdoor noise from the open balcony window (our choice). The only downside (which was also an up side) was the noisy air conditioner; however, the room was very comfortable temperature wise as needed. The restaurant was very good, with good food and service. Overall, a very pleasant get away that we will do again!
The hotel also had a work out room, swimming pool/hot tub, and 2 lane bowling alley, which we did not use. Hotel is located ON the lake with boat rentals available and a small swimming beach, and is only 2 blocks from downtown.

Room Tip: The lake side rooms are worth the extra for the view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I had to go there for a business seminar for a couple of days. We were placed in a room without a lake view, even though I had confirmed that we had a lake view before we went there, TWICE. We were in the older building. Quiet, nice beds and bedding. Like most hotels, there was totally inadequate lighting for reading in bed. I hate that. The elevator went out one of the days for quite a while - I have physical issues that make it difficult for me to climb 3 flights of stairs - artificial knees and arthritis. No accommodations were made for that - not even something off the bill. The "breakfast" and break foods were pathetic at best. Almost laughable. The restaurants were okay, as was the bar area. The deck on the lake side is very nice. Again, it was just okay. We wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Be sure you are emphatic that you want a room with a LAKE VIEW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We travelled 5 hrs with a group of 60 by motorcycle to Chase on the Lake to enjoy a second annual trip to Walker, MN. What a beautiful place that town is. The hotel is centally located, on the beach, walking distance to everything in Walker (the town gets 5 stars, too). The rooms are all excellent. Some friends had suites, some just single rooms. ALL were extremely satisfied. The bedding, mattresses, shower, pool, spa & hot tub - - all excellent.
When we were looking for something to do one evening, we asked if we could use the fire pit on the beach. The answer was "Yes" AND they started the fire, provided heaps of wood AND an entire basket full of Hershey Bars, marshmallows and graham crackers - you see where I'm going with this? What a great stay. My husband played guitar and sang on the beach. Later, we went into their top notch lounge to hear another solo player entertain us.
Terrific!

Room Tip: Other friends tole us to avoid rooms over the restaurant/bar as outdoor patio sound/music travels up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for a last minute getaway and a friend suggested the Chase.
We had a great time with terrific accommodations, and superb food and service.
The staff couldn't have been nicer!
we biked, hiked and shopped the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Our room was directly above the restaurant and bar. Could hear the band playing all night. Seems that lots of drunk partiers liked our hallway too because they were standing out there talking and woohooing all night. Needless to say, I slept very little. The rooms are nowhere near soundproof. Worse than a motel 8. The whole weekend was ruined for me due to being so tired. Then to top off our weekend, we tried to use a coupon for a free beer at the resort's 502 restaurant. It said to order a small plate to get a free beer. Well, we ordered the large plate figuring they would still honor the coupon since the food we ordered was three times the cost of the small plate. Nope, they wouldn't take the coupon. My $22 chicken was not even good. was really dissapointed with this resort. I wouldn't mind coming back to Walker, but I would never stay here again, nor could I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have a lake house but wanted to try something different so we booked a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo with a lake view. It was fantasic!!!! The condo is very modern, clean & roomy. I have nothing negative to say. Its an unique, historical building. Its nice to get up & go to breakfast and have maid service come in. They clean, make beds, replace towels & even start the dishwasher. Its a beautiful place to stay & they have so much to offer, restaurant, spa, bowling alley & pool. Our daughter, her husband & one year old stayed with us & it was never crowded.
And if you want to shop you only have to walk a block or 2 to the downtown. And best yet there is a casino a few miles east of town. So check it out. I can hardly wait to go back.

Room Tip: Try a condo with a lake view, its beautiful. Get one with balcony, they have table & chairs. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chase on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase on the Lake

Address: 502 Cleveland Blvd., Walker, MN 56484
Location: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Walker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chase on the Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chase on the Lake is nestled on the shores of Leech Lake, in the heart of downtown Walker, MN. Historic and unique, it offers elegance and charm, mixed in with the warmth of a 1st class resort venue. Beautiful classic and lake view hotel rooms, along with state of the art and gorgeous 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos, ensure a memorable stay at Chase on the Lake. Ownership opportunities are available with all of our Lakeside Condos. Special amenities may be enjoyed such as dining in our 502 restaurant, with patio seating; Copper Door Aveda Spa; Chaser's Bowling Alley and indoor heated pool and hot tub. All year round outdoor activities are available with fishing, swimming on our private beach and boating. In the winter months, Chase on the Lake offers beautiful trails for snowmobiling and ice fishing for Walleye on Leech Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Chase on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase On The Lake Hotel Walker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chase on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.