We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the Location Fool You - Well Worth the Drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terra Waconia

Terra Waconia
140 West Main Street, Waconia, MN 55387
952 442 3353
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Terra Waconia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Waconia
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Vine
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't let the Location Fool You - Well Worth the Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Even on a cold winter night, this was well worth the drive. Wonderful appetizers of soup, beautifully small cupped for each of us, warm olives, and a nice selection of well-presented local cheeses. The salad course was nicely prepared with fresh crisp greens. The main course of tile fish with a light sauce of basil seeds in coconut milk was gorgeously presented and delicious. The seven meat, wrapped in bacon, meatloaf was an interesting combination of flavors. The kitchen happily made a side of the vegetarian risotto dish that was again beautifully presented and delicious. The wine selection is obviously carefully chosen, priced at the low to mid-range of cost to accompany food of this quality. We had two very nice Spanish wines - a Rioja and Priorat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Perfect little restaurant in Waconia, with great staff, and wonderful food. This restaurant can be perfect for couples or groups. Energetic to quiet atmosphere and the food is out of this world. For foodies, can there be any other place in Waconia?
We really enjoyed our meal and the staff is so helpful and cherry, it felt like we belonged to our own little foodie club.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Trying to find great places to eat that aren't right in the heart of the city is very difficult. I found it here. We were looking for a place to celebrate our anniversary and found Terra Waconia.

The locally sourced menu offered some great options. Their wine selection was great and they provided some great recommendations. We started with a delicious cheese plate and then moved on to an amazing salad. From there I had the goat with couscous and my wife had the ravioli. Perfect.

The service was great -- attentive, and eager to answer any questions.

You can tell this is a place that loves what they do and cares about their industry.

We will be back, again and again. What a find!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I loved it - again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Didn't review after my first visit, but feel compelled after my 2nd. Second visit just solidifies that this is the real deal. Really is astounding, first class establishment. Yes, it's a haul. But it is worth it. You have to be flexible, but trust that chef is doing the right thing. Rabbit over potato gnocchi. Goat chops. Monkfish over parsnip purée. Love.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gem in a small town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We have enjoyed eating at this restaurant for a several years. The quality and variety of food are both outstanding. The owners take pride in serving "local" food and do a fantastic job at creating a "dining out" experience in a small town. We have never been disappointed in the food or service. The restaurant is small and quaint!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terra Waconia also viewed

 

Been to Terra Waconia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra Waconia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.