We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery to your Saves list
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Località La Velona, 53024 Castelnuovo dell'Abate, Montalcino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived on Sunday to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The hotel is indeed a beautiful venue to come for a celebration or a special holiday. Our room has a spectacular view over the Tuscan hills . The restaurant is first class although quite formal. The rooms are beautiful although it would be nice to have complimentary water to drink in our room. We are enjoying the excellent service and the magnificent location and feel we made a great choice in coming here.

Room Tip: The modern spa rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastellodiVelona, Direttore at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Diane,
I wish to thank you for the kind feedback you have shared and for the choice of the Castello for your special occasion! The comments and the suggestions you have outline are greatly appreciated both regarding the expectation of the complimentary water and the formal atmosphere of the main dining room.
We will certainly work to improve all important details concerning the service and the product.
Again, we all thank you for the kind review and we hope we will have soon the pleasure of welcoming you again.
With our kindest regards

Sabrina Camillini
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    51
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
37
191
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Castello di Velona sits on a promontory and thus the views of the Val d'Orcia are breathtaking. The fortification has been transformed into an exquisite hotel with service beyond the ordinary. Every staff member we met from the maids to the waiters to the front desk clerks went out of their way to be helpful and pleasant.
By all means, spend the money and reserve a junior suite in the spa extension which makes one feel like the entire Val d'Orcia is outside your door. It is magical. The suite was luxury itself with a bathroom as large as the bedroom.
The pools both indoor and out , especially the thermal pool, are an experience . The restaurant is excellent and the service impeccable.
Our stay was delightful, only marred one night in the dining room by a group of seven obnoxiously loud American women .
I highly recommend this hotel if you are going to be in the Montalcino area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastellodiVelona, Direttore at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Peg423,
We are all so glad to learn that we managed to go beyond the ordinary! We wish to thank you for sharing your comments and nice words towards us. We know the property takes the most important part in making a positive impact on guests thanks to its position and thanks to the nature around. But in any case, we managed to add something pleasant for you and this is so important for us.
We hope you will have the chance to visit us soon again and we send our warmest and kindest regards.
Sincerely,

Sabrina Camillini
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you are looking for the peacefull side and the beauty of Tuscany, within a great historical location... facing the Amiata Mount and surrounded by Brunello vineyards... this is the place.
Great views, exclusive location, great services...
Enjoy your stay...

Room Tip: Very exclusive, quiet, peacefull and amazing location....every room is different, it is not an hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastellodiVelona, Direttore at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Mr Toto,
This is such a pleasure for us to read about your positive feedback regarding your stay with us! If we managed to offer a great service, this is truly appreciated and makes us so proud!
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again and we send you our kindest regards

Sabrina Camillini
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Brave are the people who in 1997 decided to create a hotel of the old semi-ruined castle. Breath taking views, spacios rooms, unusual layout, magnificent swiming pools with thermal water, and many other attractive things not seen due to a very short stay in this very nice place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastellodiVelona, Direttore at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Igorvg,
we wish to thank you for sharing your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Castello.
Since you had the chance to spend only a short stay with us we hope you will be able to plan to come back soon and have the chance to enjoy also the other attractions you have missed last June.
We all look forward to welcoming you soon and we send our kindest regards

Sabrina Camillini
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

After a very busy trip around Italy, our 3 days here were just what the doctor ordered for relaxing. The hotel is a masterpiece of combining the old with the new. You could hardly tell where the old castle stopped and the new started. The staff went out of their way to make us feel as if we were at home and the room was very comfortable. The pools were outstanding and relaxing. The restaurant was outstanding. We ate in it once and then had wonderful local wine outside of our room where Tuscany opened up before our eyes. We then went to the restaurant for coffee and desert. All in all a wonderful experience and we will recommend the Castello di Velona to all of our friends who travel to Tuscany.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Spa section are outstanding with nice grassed areas outside your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastellodiVelona, Direttore at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Colosea,
We are so glad to read about your nice comments and we thank you so much for sharing your feedback.
It's difficult to describe how proud we are when we learn that we managed to make you feel like you were at home. This is a fantastic goal for us!
Once more we all thank you for your kind words and your recommendations!
Looking forward to welcoming you soon, we all remain
With kindest regards

Sabrina Camillini
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you are going to drop a few extra $ on five star, do it here!!!!! The value for money is excellent. There are very few hotels that would compare with regard to location. A castle with incredible 360 degree views of one of an amazing countryside. The spa and pool are top notch and the views from the pool are also incredible.

The real gems at C d V are the staff!!! Each staff member I came into contact with, whether it was reception, concierge, pool, restaurant, porter etc, they were all happy, helpful and committed to customer service.

We also ate at the restaurant twice for dinner and while the menu isn't huge, the meals were outstanding.

Once again, you can spend a lot more and get a lot less than what you get at Castello Di Velona.

Would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't fill your schedule with too much when you are there, because the hotel itself is a great p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastellodiVelona, Direttore at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear James,
let me say that this is one of the best comments we have ever had, “real gems”, this is terrific! We thank you so much for sharing this fantastic feedback and we cannot wait to welcome you again!
Reading through your nice words it is so rewarding for us, you cannot even imagine how much since this is what we mean to pursue in our daily operations, from the very first second we are on duty, no matter what happens outside.
From each one of my fantastic team, a grateful thank you!
With our very best regards

Sabrina Camillini
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I don't know where to start: with the friendliness of the staff, the amazing views from any room, the spectacular suites overlooking the glossy green hills of Tuscan vineyards, the fabulous massages in the spa, the wonderful warm water from both indoor and exterior pools coming directly from the thermal spring underneath the castle? I came here for a surprise wedding party of a friend (bride was overwhelmed and overjoyed) and I am definitely coming back here for a proper holiday. One thing only: if you want to visit all the lovely vineyards around here you have to be a good driver and enjoy super twisted meandering roads - my husband and I do. Montalcino and Montepulciano are less than an hour away so you can do lots of wine tasting, also ship wine directly to your home - they deliver anywhere in the world.
I recommend Castello di Velona for a luxury holiday in a serene and superb setting. Mind you, it's a pricey relaxation you are in for ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastellodiVelona, Direttore generale at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear “balaura” what should we ask for more? Such an enthusiastic review to start this new year with!!! A real optimism infusion and a great support for all of us!
We have been so happy for hosting the event you have taken part to, an amazing surprise for the bride but also full of joy for everybody, including us! We are so looking forward to welcoming you again for your holiday and we thank you so much for the kind words and the positive feedback you kindly shared.
We all send you our best regards and we wait for you soon!
Sincerely,

Sabrina Camillini
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery

Address: | Località La Velona, 53024 Castelnuovo dell'Abate, Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino > Castelnuovo dell'Abate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Thermal SPA Resort located in the heart of Val d'Orcia World Heritage Site. Winery of Brunello di Montalcino produced by the Owners in the Property with owned Vineyards around the Castle. In the Property is located the hottest Thermal spring in all Tuscany (85°C) whose mineral waters are led both in the 5 pools (indoor and outdoor) and in the SPA Rooms. 1500 Sqm SPA with water and steam Paradise of both Sauna, Steam Bath, Thermal pool and 6 emotional showers, with 10 single and couple treatments rooms (all cabinets have a view to Val d'Orcia, 4 of which are connected to the SPA Rooms). The hotel rooms are divided into Castle Rooms (all in the heart of the 1000 years old Castle) and SPA Rooms built on the West Walls of the Castle (with travertine marble all over the bathroom and room and Thermal water directly in your bathtub). Some of the SPA rooms have a private cabinet for treatments and massage with a separate entrance for the therapist who does not interfere with the privacy of the room itself. All rooms face the wonderful val d'Orcia 360°. All SPA rooms face the sunset and have a private garden. Gourmet Restaurant with a Terrace for summer dinner facing the Sunset side of the val d'Orcia for romantic dinner. Traditional Restaurant with Original Fireplace and Lobby Lounge in the Chiostro where all day dining is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Escapio, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Velona Montalcino
Castello Di Velona Hotel Montalcino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.