We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - great location with lots to do” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson St. Paul Northeast, MN

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson St. Paul Northeast, MN to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson St. Paul Northeast, MN
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3505 Vadnais Center Drive, Vadnais Heights, MN 55110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vadnais Heights
Durand, Wisconsin
1 review
“Nice hotel - great location with lots to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Great place to stay with kids. Close to lots of restaurants, shopping, and attractions. Staff was very nice and this is a beautiful hotel. Kids especially loved the pool and giant waterslide. Nice big whirlpool too. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    36
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
67
12
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

What a treat! The pool and waterslide exceed anything I've experienced in this price range. Everyone on the staff was pleasant and went out of their way to accomodate us. The weather was too cool for the planned family picnic, so the staff let us use their breakfast room. It was great! When we wanted to go out for dinner they not only gave us directions, but printed them out for us. The front desk quietly let me pay our bill before there was the usual family check grabbing. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable. It was a great value. Because the pool was such a draw our first floor room was noisy as people were opening and closing the doors to their rooms and in the hallway until around 10pm, but the rest of the night was quiet and peaceful. If we have another opportunity to stay in the area we'd choose this hotel immediately.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

All of the hotel's staff was very friendly. The front desk lady was especially polite and helpful in explaining the hotel's facilities and services, and was quick in responding to all of my questions and requests.

The room was extremely clean, had 2 comfortable queen beds, and was big enough for our family of four. The bathroom was one of the cleanest I've seen in any hotel, and the water pressure was excellent. WIFI and wireline internet access worked well.

The breakfast room was well stocked with a variety of food and supplies - the waffle maker was a big hit with us. The water slide in the swimming pool was a nice perk, and it was crowded on the weekend. The pool water was a little too cold though. For those who want to stay fit during their visit, they can either use the aerobics equipment at the on-site fitness room or work out for free at Gold's Gym (about 1/2 mile from hotel) - another nice perk.

The hotel is about a block off the expressway and close to restaurants, a grocery store, and retail stores such as Target and Wal-Mart.

With a superb, friendly staff, nice amenities and perks, and a great location, this hotel is an excellent value. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

It was a nice hotel. The staff was friendly although I didn't much interaction with them.

The room was nice, beds and bedding very comfy! I do agree with the review about the wadded up sheets, we had 2 rooms and all 4 beds had the same problem.
The fridge was a good size and worked well. The microwave was very weak, took twice as long to cook things.

We were in room near the elevator and one of the lights from the front made our room very bright even with shades closed. It wasn't enough to keep me awake but it did light up the room.

The pool was nice and slide was fun. The hot tub was over chlorinated to the point it made me ill but better that than letting things grow! :) The "lifeguard" for the slide was a joke. In the over 2 hours we were there I saw him for maybe 5 mins before he left and took a cell call.

Breakfast was great and the lady filling things was very nice. I wish they would post that on weekends there are no sausage and eggs after 10am. I waited for them to be filled in vain. Not a big deal but annoying.

Internet was overloaded a few times and very slow on weekend but Friday it was great!

Overall for the price they offer more than I expected. I would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

What a lovely stay my family experienced at this hotel! The front desk staff I experienced was one of a kind. They were quick to help us find local attractions and restaurants. The young woman working during our nights there (manager of some type) went the extra mile to accomodate us! The waterslide was enjoyed by my daughters, however it would be nice to have it open more often (maybe Thursday too?). I do understand staffing the slide is the issue though and understand why it's only open on weekends! I shall return when the family is ready for a getaway next summer!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Front desk staff was horrible! We were at the hotel for a wedding. When I made a reservation over the phone I requested two rooms close to each other, which I was told was no problem. When I checked in, the front desk staff said that the person who told me this over the phone was new and that this could not be done. They then went further to ask, "what would you like us to do?"- very sarcastically. When I told them I would like two rooms close to each other, I was told, "We can't physically move the room closer to the room you want." - that is a direct quote. Not once was their an apology for anything. However they had no problem rolling their eyes at each request I had.

You know the hotel is bad when people go up to the bride at the wedding reception to complain about the staff at the hotel.

The swimming pool has a slide, which is cool, but the staff is a disaster.

Stayed July 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnStPaulNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson St. Paul Northeast, MN, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Dear Kevin -

I am very sorry to read that you experienced anything less than the best in guest service. Clearly an event occurred that is unlike the service our guests typically receive and I apologize for this experience. I will be certain to review this matter with all staff, and review training procedures to insure it never happens again.

I am pleased to see that during your visit the next day that one of our service staff went above and beyond to help alleviate your situation by finding another room for you to move to. I am also happy that you enjoyed the waterslide and pool area during your visit.

Should your travels return you to the St Paul area again in the future, please contact me directly so I may assist you personally with reservations.

Respectfully,

Chris Clay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Spent 3 nights at the Country Inn for a family reunion nearby, and it was really lovely. The front desk staff were so helpful and attentive. My room was spotless, spacious, with great amenities like a small fridge and microwave. Great A/C, especially nice for those hot Minnesota days. No strange smells, and the windows did open. The breakfast was nice, with lots of options, although not a lot of sugar-free items. I remedied this by going to a nearby grocery and getting some plain yogurt and berries. It was also the perfect location, in the suburbs, to jump onto several different freeways. Not the hotel for you if you like lots of nightlife, activities, etc. nearby. Big plus: they have a small fitness center, but you can also use the very large Gold's Gym about 6 blocks away, by bringing your ID and room key - great facility with lots of equipment and classes. Also, be warned that there can be large groups of kids there staying to compete in local sports events, so it's not always really quiet. Having said that, it was not bothersome to me, but something to consider if you like it really quiet. Only negative: The hotel provides a brochure recommending some local restaurants, and I tried Duc's Vietnamese and Chinese restaurant at 705 Century Avenue in Maplewood. VERY disappointing! First of all, it is quite a drive to get there. Once there, the food was mediocre at best. Very small selection of Vietnamese food, and what I had was nearly below average (and I eat a lot of Vietnamese food!). Service was slow and inattentive. I'd select a different place, especially if you are seeking good Vietnamese food. ( This feedback was given to the hotel staff).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnStPaulNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson St. Paul Northeast, MN, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Thank you kindly for sharing your review - not only of our hotel, but the area as well. I am so pleased to see you had the guest experience the team and I pride ourselves on. I only recently joined the hotel, and am delighted to have so many service oriented staff members to help provide the best in service to our guests.

I will be sure to take a look at the restaurant guide myself, as I have visited many great local dining spots, from Chinese to Japanese to Mexican and even Russian. St Paul and the Twin Cities offer so many delightful choices. We'll be sure to update this guide - thanks largely in part to feedback from our guests!

We're working now to bring some new variety with our breakfast food items in the coming weeks and months. I hope should you visit the St Paul area in the future, you will visit with us again - and enjoy another wonderful experience.

On behalf of the entire team at the hotel, thank you for your business!

Sincerely,

Chris Clay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson St. Paul Northeast, MN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson St. Paul Northeast, MN

Address: 3505 Vadnais Center Drive, Vadnais Heights, MN 55110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Vadnais Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vadnais Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson St. Paul Northeast, MN 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Interstate 35E and County Road E, the Country Inn & Suites, St. Paul Northeast is your home away from home in the Twin Cities. With its close proximity to many area attractions, including Downtown St. Paul, Xcel Energy Center, Science Museum of Minnesota, St. Paul Cathedral, James J. Hill House and Maplewood Mall, you are just minutes from enjoying what St. Paul has to offer.The Country Inn & Suites, St. Paul NE offers complimentary continental breakfast with waffle bar, free weekday lobby newspaper, free wireless internet access, a business center, fitness room, indoor heated pool, whirlpool and guest laundry facility. The hotel also features a 90 foot weekend waterslide, which is open Fridays 5 PM to 10 PM, Saturdays 9 AM to 10 PM and Sundays 9 AM to 11:30 AM.At the Country Inn & Suites, St. Paul NE there are many room type choices available, including king and queen guest rooms, one bedroom, whirlpool and extended stay suites with microwave and refrigerator. All of our beautifully decorated guest rooms feature a work desk with ergonomic chair, free local telephone calls, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and cable TV with HBO and ESPN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson St. Paul Northeast, MN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites St. Paul Northeast Hotel Saint Paul
Country Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson St. Paul Northeast, MN, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.