We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place to stay if you have kids!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn and Suites St. Paul Northeast

Save Saved
You added Country Inn and Suites St. Paul Northeast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn and Suites St. Paul Northeast
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3505 Vadnais Center Drive, Vadnais Heights, MN 55110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Vadnais Heights
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a place to stay if you have kids!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Our kids wanted to use the pool but it was not open yet. This was a " Big" let down for my kids as they were in the van for the long ride and we needed they to have some fun before going to the wedding. The next day my kids were yelled at by the young man (Manager) for just having some fun. He did not see other kids doing the same thing and they did not get yelled at! This is not the way to treat your guests if you want them to come back. This hotels was very noisey with teams running up and down the hallways. Housekeeping did not even come to clean our room. I will NEVER stay at this Country Inn & Suites again! Maybe the owner needs to get a different manager with some customer service skills and understanding about kids.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnStPaulNE, Front Office Manager at Country Inn and Suites St. Paul Northeast, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites, St. Paul Northeast. We value all guest feedback and view it as a great way to improve our property’s facilities and services. I apologize for the negative experience that you had on your stay with us and would like the opportunity to discuss your feedback in greater detail. Please contact me directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    23
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
35
10
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Very courteous and helpful. Clean, new. Will seek out again if we stay in the area. The staff worked hard to solve a logistical problem four our group.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnStPaulNE, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites St. Paul Northeast, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for the feedback after your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites in Vadnais Heights, MN. We look forward to your next stay with us. When you are ready to set up your next group, please contact our Sales Department so we can assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed 3 nights there, and have nothing much bad things to say about this hotel.

The pool was great, but the slides is only open, Friday evenings, Saturday all day, and Sunday mornings. There seems to be a rule that someone from the hotel staff have to be there the whole time when the slide is open. I have never seen that before in other hotels, I've been too.

The location is mostly in a busness area, but likely there are stores around.

The rooms were very good, can't complain. The staff was friendly and nice. The food was nice at breakfast, and changing about every day, you don't have the same things everyday.

We had a problem in the bathroom and they came and fix it right a way, which was nice.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnStPaulNE, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites St. Paul Northeast, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to provide comments about your recent experience at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to enjoy many of our great amenities, including pool with the weekend waterslide and Be Our Guest Breakfast. It is indeed a state-mandated requirement that we have a pool attendant present during the hours the waterslide is open due to its size. We are sorry to hear that you did experience an issue with the bathroom, but are happy to know that our staff was able to provide a quick fix. If you are in the area again, we hope that you choose the Country Inn & Suites for your accommodations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

After reading the RAVE reviews I expected much more then we got. I have stayed in numerous Country Inns and this is definitely a middle of the road hotel.
We we checked in we were given a rate of 89.00 - which was fine- but then when we got the bill the next morning, we were charged 99.00. Talked to the front desk about it and it was suppose to be changed, as we decided to stay an extra night . When we left, it still hadn't been taken care of .
We asked for a quite area - we were given a room right off the front desk area( 1st floor) - right across from the business room. Had the hotel had any other customers , it would NOT have been a quite place AT ALL. My idea of quite is top floor away from elevators, ice makers and any main traffic. Again- there were not many other staying so it turned out to be okay ( aside from the snowplow clearing the business lot behind the hotel at 1:00 am till about 2:30 am )
The breakfast was the same stuff both mornings- we have had MUCH better and much worse. So again- about a C on the food. Passable but not great.
The homemade cookies at the desk are not homemade- might be right out of the package - but not made there. When we were in Florida- the homemade cookies were hot out of the oven , homemade. ( not a big deal, just change the sign to say cookies, period!)
Rooms were clean- although cable was VERY limited for channels. Beds were VERY COMFORTABLE!! The furnace seemed to run a lot ( I will say it was cold outside and warm inside) but I don't think it shut off for more then 10 minutes at a time, which was irritating at night when trying to sleep.
I think next time we will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnStPaulNE, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites St. Paul Northeast, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback of our property. We take all comments and suggestions into consideration when improving our property. I do apologize for the error in room rate that occurred on your stay. If you could give me a call at (651) 483-1625, I would be happy to investigate this further for you and discuss the rest of your stay as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed during a hockey tournament and were one of several teams staying there. I rate a hotel's success not on the number of problems they have, but on how they HANDLE the problems. Dennis, the GM, took very good care of everything for us! Usually, I never see the GM, but Dennis was everywhere and made sure everyone was enjoying themselves.

The breakfast is better than I thought it would be. It has a combination of hot and cold breakfast items, as well as a make-your-own waffle station. The quality is what I'd expect for a free breakfast, but the hostesses always kept the food stations filled. That, to me, was the biggest plus. And, I liked their coffee too.

The kids liked the pool area with its big slide.

Overall, we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnStPaulNE, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites St. Paul Northeast, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and the management of the hotel. We do hope you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Tyler Knutson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed at this hotel last month in a cold weather and because of cold weather i was little sick. The front desk agent i forgot her name was so nice and friendly as we were checking in we asked for a nice home town restaurant and I said all i want to eat is some soup. She said to me as there was a shift change and if i did not want to drive she would go and get the soup for me. This was so nice of her we stayed at many hotels big but never somebody so nice and friendly. Breakfast was great also and liked the large rooms as we were upgraded to a suite again the same nice lady.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the suite room its so nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCountryInnandSuite, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites St. Paul Northeast, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you very much for the very kind words about our staff and Bre (Front Desk). She is a great front desk agent. We all hope that you are feeling much better. We are looking froward to see you again.

Dennis General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night on our way from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada to Williamsburg, Virginia. We found it to be a clean hotel with quick check-in and a very comfy bed. We were given a corner room on one of the upper floors and loved this--had a very peaceful stay! Our particular room had a bit of a "living room" area in the front half.

We thought the breakfast was good, although the cereals available during our stay were more geared towards kids (Fruit Loops/Frosted Flakes) and the eggs had an odd consistency (very "creamy") which I did not like.

We love dining at Donatelli's whenever we're in Minneapolis-St. Paul and it's just down the street about 5 minutes, which is one of the main reasons for booking this location.

The only negative comment I can make is that I booked our July 23 stay in February and got a great rate ($96). I continually checked the rates to make sure we were getting a good deal and weren't spending money needlessly. By mid-June the rates were upwards of $150 per night--not sure that I would have chosen this hotel for that much money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCountryInnandSuite, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites St. Paul Northeast, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Thank you for staying with us again! Thank you for the very kind words about our hotel. Prices change for all hotel during the year as the amount of business goes up and down. Our team here at the Country Inn and Suites Vadnais Heights want to try to make everyones stay the best that it can be. I will be sharing with with the rest of our team here so we can improve our service even more for your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn and Suites St. Paul Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn and Suites St. Paul Northeast

Address: 3505 Vadnais Center Drive, Vadnais Heights, MN 55110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Vadnais Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Vadnais Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn and Suites St. Paul Northeast 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Interstate 35E and County Road E, the Country Inn & Suites, St. Paul Northeast is your home away from home in the Twin Cities. With its close proximity to many area attractions, including Downtown St. Paul, Xcel Energy Center, Science Museum of Minnesota, St. Paul Cathedral, James J. Hill House and Maplewood Mall, you are just minutes from enjoying what St. Paul has to offer.The Country Inn & Suites, St. Paul NE offers complimentary continental breakfast with waffle bar, free weekday lobby newspaper, free wireless internet access, a business center, fitness room, indoor heated pool, whirlpool and guest laundry facility. The hotel also features a 90 foot weekend waterslide, which is open Fridays 5 PM to 10 PM, Saturdays 9 AM to 10 PM and Sundays 9 AM to 11:30 AM.At the Country Inn & Suites, St. Paul NE there are many room type choices available, including king and queen guest rooms, one bedroom, whirlpool and extended stay suites with microwave and refrigerator. All of our beautifully decorated guest rooms feature a work desk with ergonomic chair, free local telephone calls, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and cable TV with HBO and ESPN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Carlson, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn and Suites St. Paul Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites St. Paul Northeast Hotel Saint Paul
Country Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn and Suites St. Paul Northeast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.