We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louise's Place

Louise's Place
19 Waterfront Drive, Two Harbors, MN 55616-1467
(218) 834-2176
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Two Harbors
Description: Description: Louise has always loved to feed people, starting with her own family. She understands that good memories, and warm friendships are often anchored to sharing food together. So, starting a restaurant 15 years ago, where friends and family could gather, was a natural. What makes Louise’s Place unique is her personal blend of quality, fresh ingredients and attention to making your order just the way you like it.Turn down to the Big Lake where Louise’s Place looks out at Agate Bay.
Restaurant details
Description: Description: Louise has always loved to feed people, starting with her own family. She understands that good memories, and warm friendships are often anchored to sharing food together. So, starting a restaurant 15 years ago, where friends and family could gather, was a natural. What makes Louise’s Place unique is her personal blend of quality, fresh ingredients and attention to making your order just the way you like it.Turn down to the Big Lake where Louise’s Place looks out at Agate Bay.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cozy and Comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A nice place to stop for a cup of coffee and a little something after an early morning walk. Lots of locals which is always a good sign. And you cannot beat their prices.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Adorable small town feel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Small cute place.
Good coffee.
Locals hang here.
All the pastry we had was fresh and soft and sweet.

I assume the woman who served me was Louise...not sure. But she was very friendly and sweet.

You can order cooked breakfasts with eggs etc. When you walk in it does not seem that way at first as there is only one staff member at the counter.

It is an eclectic mix of crafts and unmatched tables. Basically a simple place with nice people and yummy cinnamon rolls.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stopped here for a quick breakfast based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. This one was a winner! Selection wasn’t huge, but the food was fresh, hot, and delicious! Breads and baked goods were also extremely good. A super neat little shop to with homemade quilts and crafts for sale. My wife loved it and ended up buying some as gifts for family. Would go there again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Might be the best in Two Harbors.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

After being disappointed with our dinner the night before at the Blackwoods Grill and with our room at Larsmont, we decided to try one more locale in Two Harbors..... Louise's Place. It was mostly what we expected.....a cutesy cottage type hole in the wall with fairly decent food. Fortunately, we were there on a fairly quiet weekday morning and were served very quickly. I can see where things could get hectic on a weekend morning, as there are not too many tables. Overall, we were pleased with the atmosphere, food and service and would recommend Louise's Place as possibly one of the best places in Two Harbors.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not true to the reviews!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

After reading the Trip Advisor reviews we determined Louise's was the place for lunch in Two Harbors. Walking in we found the interior to be less quaint and more confined. One person took orders as a large tour group walked in and crowded the tight quarters. We were fine with this knowing the food that was coming would make up any deficiency the lack of space produced. Sadly, the food was not good. From a dry chicken roll up to a potato soup that was not tasteful.

The women serving the food was very friendly. She did her best under the circumstances. Nonetheless, a review more than average would be generous. This is the first time Trip Advisor has fell short of our expectations.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louise's Place also viewed

 

Been to Louise's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louise's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.