We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Couples Escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior to your Saves list
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
596 Larsmont Way, Two Harbors, MN 55616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Two Harbors
Nisswa, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Great Couples Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Larsmont a number of times over the years for a relaxing get away. The property is beautifully maintained and staff are very professional. Nothing relieves stress like sitting in front of a fire listening to waves crashing on the shore. The perfect destination to enjoy the simpler and quitter moments in life.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    63
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
80
133
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Owatonna, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our family of 6 (4 kids ages 17-23) stayed at Larsmont Cottages for 3 nights while attending a high school hockey tournament in Duluth and we also wanted to take advantage of skiing at Lutsen and snowmobiling in the area. We loved the 3 bedroom townhouse that even had a garage. Very clean with nice furnishings. Our teenagers enjoyed the hot tub. I had a fabulous hour massage in the 'massage cottage' -- excellent massage and facility. We had a wonderful meal at the Lodge Rock Grille as well. Excellent food and service at the restaurant. We will return again to stay at Larsmont Cottages!

Room Tip: We stayed in a 3 bedroom townhouse in the woods......it was perfect for a winter stay. It had a gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunder bay ontario
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We returned to Larsmont again after a 2year absence trying other places on the northshore. What a treat. Clean private quiet and just what we needed. Will be back every other month just like we used to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We just hosted our wedding and reception at Larsmont Cottages in mid October. Larsmont was superb in their service to our guests and throughout the event. Dan Little, the resort manager was excellent in listening to all of my questions and requests and incredibly accommodating. He truly made us and all of our guests feel at home, and my mom was very impressed by how professional yet laid back and calm Dan was.

The on-site staff during the weekend was knowledgeable and helpful as well. I, as the bride, really did not have to do anything, it was all taken care of as Dan had promised. This was a wonderful place for our small intimate wedding of about 40 people.

I would say that it was a challenge working with Bev Weckman during the weeks leading up to the wedding, it was difficult to get a confirmation of the details and I often had to repeat information multiple times. Once I met with Dan in person however, everything was handled great from there.

The best part of the weekend was having all of our guests together at the resort for multiple days, and we booked a large cottage in the woods for a central location for people to meet and mingle throughout, a hospitality location for our guests, which we also used for ourselves. It worked really great.
Thank you to Dan and the Larsmont Staff for making our day so wonderful and memorable!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Got a very good rate booking by phone at the last minute without having to ask for it, which was appreciated. Rooms are average size but bathrooms are nice with big soaking tubs. Location is very convenient to Two Harbors but you still feel like you are off in the woods. Benches and chairs on the beach from which to sit and admire the view are great. Just across the street from the Scenic Cafe, which is reason enough to make the drive up from Minneapolis. Left my glasses there and after prompting the person on the phone to please go check lost and found right now, not tomorrow, they did find them and mailed them for a fee, which was a relief.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at Grand Superior Lodge. A resort that is owned by the company that owns this resort. The set up here is simular, but much smaller and less busy. We stayed in an upstairs queen guest room. These are very small rooms. They would be simular to staying at a friends home in a guess bedroom. I did not realize how small they were. If I had, I would have booked a larger room. It was fine and had what we needed. The resort is beautiful and fairly quiet. I have to say, I did see a big difference between the employees here and at Grand Superior. At Grand Superior, they were much more engaging. Larsmont employees seem to be just going through the paces. They didn't engage in any conversation at all. Just seemed like a job. Grand Superior's employees were always asking questions and looking for feedback. I think we will stay there in the future. Larsmont is an okay resort. I just didn't feel anything special there.

Room Tip: The king bed rooms on the up levels are much bigger. The lower level has much larger multi bedroom u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just got back from my 4th stay at Larsmont Cottages. This time we had a lot of family with (13 total). We rented a whole unit (3 bedrooms). There is a lot of space. Each bedroom has it's own full bath, plus there's a half bath on the main floor as well. The full kitchen allows for all meals to be prepared in your unit if you wish. There is a large grocery store a few miles north in Two Harbors. We enjoyed sitting by the fire pit each evening. In the area, Gooseberry Falls and Splitrock Lighthouse are nice daily outings. Or just relax here and enjoy the lakeview. Lake superior is literally right out your back door. There are a few units that are not on the lake, so make sure when you book. Also, some are closer to the lake than others. I find that if I ask when I book, they are very helpful. Speaking of staff, I have had nothing but very positive interactions with all of them.

It is a bit costly, but if you are looking for a very luxurious lake superior getaway, you will be very happy with this resort.

Room Tip: Some are closer to the water than others, ask when you book, They are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior

Address: 596 Larsmont Way, Two Harbors, MN 55616
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larsmont Cottages On Lake Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Resort Two Harbors

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.