We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Couples Escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior to your Saves list
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   596 Larsmont Way, Two Harbors, MN 55616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Nisswa, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Great Couples Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Larsmont a number of times over the years for a relaxing get away. The property is beautifully maintained and staff are very professional. Nothing relieves stress like sitting in front of a fire listening to waves crashing on the shore. The perfect destination to enjoy the simpler and quitter moments in life.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    68
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
91
153
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Owatonna, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our family of 6 (4 kids ages 17-23) stayed at Larsmont Cottages for 3 nights while attending a high school hockey tournament in Duluth and we also wanted to take advantage of skiing at Lutsen and snowmobiling in the area. We loved the 3 bedroom townhouse that even had a garage. Very clean with nice furnishings. Our teenagers enjoyed the hot tub. I had a fabulous hour massage in the 'massage cottage' -- excellent massage and facility. We had a wonderful meal at the Lodge Rock Grille as well. Excellent food and service at the restaurant. We will return again to stay at Larsmont Cottages!

Room Tip: We stayed in a 3 bedroom townhouse in the woods......it was perfect for a winter stay. It had a gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunder bay ontario
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We returned to Larsmont again after a 2year absence trying other places on the northshore. What a treat. Clean private quiet and just what we needed. Will be back every other month just like we used to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We just hosted our wedding and reception at Larsmont Cottages in mid October. Larsmont was superb in their service to our guests and throughout the event. Dan Little, the resort manager was excellent in listening to all of my questions and requests and incredibly accommodating. He truly made us and all of our guests feel at home, and my mom was very impressed by how professional yet laid back and calm Dan was.

The on-site staff during the weekend was knowledgeable and helpful as well. I, as the bride, really did not have to do anything, it was all taken care of as Dan had promised. This was a wonderful place for our small intimate wedding of about 40 people.

I would say that it was a challenge working with Bev Weckman during the weeks leading up to the wedding, it was difficult to get a confirmation of the details and I often had to repeat information multiple times. Once I met with Dan in person however, everything was handled great from there.

The best part of the weekend was having all of our guests together at the resort for multiple days, and we booked a large cottage in the woods for a central location for people to meet and mingle throughout, a hospitality location for our guests, which we also used for ourselves. It worked really great.
Thank you to Dan and the Larsmont Staff for making our day so wonderful and memorable!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at Grand Superior Lodge. A resort that is owned by the company that owns this resort. The set up here is simular, but much smaller and less busy. We stayed in an upstairs queen guest room. These are very small rooms. They would be simular to staying at a friends home in a guess bedroom. I did not realize how small they were. If I had, I would have booked a larger room. It was fine and had what we needed. The resort is beautiful and fairly quiet. I have to say, I did see a big difference between the employees here and at Grand Superior. At Grand Superior, they were much more engaging. Larsmont employees seem to be just going through the paces. They didn't engage in any conversation at all. Just seemed like a job. Grand Superior's employees were always asking questions and looking for feedback. I think we will stay there in the future. Larsmont is an okay resort. I just didn't feel anything special there.

Room Tip: The king bed rooms on the up levels are much bigger. The lower level has much larger multi bedroom u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just got back from my 4th stay at Larsmont Cottages. This time we had a lot of family with (13 total). We rented a whole unit (3 bedrooms). There is a lot of space. Each bedroom has it's own full bath, plus there's a half bath on the main floor as well. The full kitchen allows for all meals to be prepared in your unit if you wish. There is a large grocery store a few miles north in Two Harbors. We enjoyed sitting by the fire pit each evening. In the area, Gooseberry Falls and Splitrock Lighthouse are nice daily outings. Or just relax here and enjoy the lakeview. Lake superior is literally right out your back door. There are a few units that are not on the lake, so make sure when you book. Also, some are closer to the lake than others. I find that if I ask when I book, they are very helpful. Speaking of staff, I have had nothing but very positive interactions with all of them.

It is a bit costly, but if you are looking for a very luxurious lake superior getaway, you will be very happy with this resort.

Room Tip: Some are closer to the water than others, ask when you book, They are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staples, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

booked a water view with balcony room online. repeatedly asked if it was water view and told YES...it was NOT. when we went to the front desk to ask about this they were NO help. Offered a discount on a room 3X the price at a discount and that was it. told them how taken we felt, they just stared at us. we told them we would not accept the room and checked out 5 minutes after arriving. no apology, only that "we are having problems with the online people and you should complain to them"....really???? property is gorgeous and we were so looking forward to staying there. if i was one of the unit owners i would be horrified by the service. we left the property on a friday night with no idea where we would find accomodations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
6.9 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#6 of 7 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
15.6 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#4 of 7 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
4.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 7 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
20.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
20.7 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior

Address: 596 Larsmont Way, Two Harbors, MN 55616
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larsmont Cottages On Lake Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Resort Two Harbors

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.