We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with a great view of the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior to your Saves list
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   596 Larsmont Way, Two Harbors, MN 55616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location with a great view of the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Larsmont a half dozen times in the last five years. Lately, we've been traveling there for a long weekend in the winter. Its a great location if you'd like to do any Nordic or downhill skiing. The rooms are always spotless, well furnished, and very comfortable. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. The cottages are 15 minutes from Duluth and just a few minutes from Two Harbors, so its a great location with a lot of activities in the area.

Room Tip: The one bedroom cottages have a full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    65
    19
    12
    6
See reviews for
85
141
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Lovely setting - beautiful view of the lake. Beds were very comfortable. Staff at front desk were not the friendliest and couldn't seem to smile. Inside of 2 bedroom lake cottage was roomy but a bit dusty with cobwebs in the corners. You might want to bring your own pots and pans - the ones provided were not very good - much of our food stuck to the pans. And you might want to bring your own bath towels - the towels given were extremely rough and itchy - must not have used fabric softener. We were only there for two nights (attending a wedding) so it wasn't too bad.

Room Tip: If anyone needs to sleep on the sofa bed and you have a room with a lake view, be sure to bring a sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Excellent property, service, people, and food.....the ONLY issue we had was with how they do their billing.
We booked almost 10 months in advance to have our wedding at Larsmont, with the intention of paying installments and having it completely paid for before we checked in, with the exception of a meal that we had arranged with the Ledge Rock Grille after our wedding ceremony. EVERY TIME we called we owed a different amount and they couldn't tell us exactly how much had been credited to our account. It was frustrating and stressful. It was the same way when it came to paying for the meal after our wedding ceremony. UGH...it all worked out in the end but not without a fair amount of stress as frustration along the way.
Truthfully though, we would do it all over again, regardless. The property and people by far make up for the stress and frustration we felt over how they do their billing.

Room Tip: Might want ton bring your own pillow....and leave a window open to let the lake lull you to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We chose Larsmont Cottages because of the location. We wanted to be close to Duluth and far enough up to go view the beautiful fall leaves. When entering our room, we immediately felt relaxed. The view was amazing, the room had that cozy welcoming feeling. We ate at their restaurant for dinner and the food was excellent! We will definitely stay here again if we come to this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We spent 4 nights at Larsmont in the middle of September, and while the weather was less than cooperative, we had a great time at Larsmont. We stayed in the cottage suite, and the jacuzzi in the room was amazing. The fireplace was nice too, definitely heated up the room! The only negatives about the place were the workout equipment could use updating (the treadmill claimed I was running 6:30 minute miles, when I normally run 9:30 minute miles) and the service in the restaurant was less than stellar (server didn't know what the special was and was slow in everything he did). This is a great place to get away on the North Shore.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Only a short drive from Gooseberry Falls and Split Rock Lighthouse, these cottages are very nice. We stayed in a comfortable, pleasantly decorated cottage only feet from Lake Superior and could hear the waves. There was no noise from Highway 61, a major drawback at many other places. The staff was enthusiastic and friendly. Our cottage had a whirlpool tub in the room along with a walk-in shower, good bed, and gas fireplace. The Ledge Rock Grille is convenient and offers a decent variety of choices. We didn't explore other amenities they offer because the weather was rainy and wet, but they were there, and without the disadvantages of some of the larger resort properties.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin that is closest to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This was our 4th visit to Larsmont Cottages and we can't wait for our 5th. The accomodations are always very nice and comfortable, my 6 year old son loves the pool and can often be found feeding the seagulls for hours on the rocks in front of the resort. The Ledge Rock Grill is very good, but we would also highly recommend the Scenic Cafe and Nokomis restaurants to the South of Larsmont on Scenic Highway 61. The Alpine Twister slide at Spirit Mountain in Duluth was great fun for all of us as was the zip line. A great time, as always, on Lake Superior.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior

Address: 596 Larsmont Way, Two Harbors, MN 55616
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larsmont Cottages On Lake Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Resort Two Harbors

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.