We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Two Harbors
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lighthouse Bed & Breakfast
1 Lighthouse Point, P.O. Box 128, Two Harbors, MN 55616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Two Harbors B&B and Inns
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Wonderful Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This summer I had my eyes set on visiting and staying at this lovely B&B in Two Harbors, Minnesota. Mission accomplished and I was not disappointed. My sister accompanied me and we stayed in the Skiff House, which is a separate building on the grounds. We chose this for sleeping as it had two beds and a wonderful soaking jacuzzi tub!

The grounds are beautifully maintained and the interior lovingly restored. There is even a photo of the wife of the keeper in the dining room sitting next to the buffet currently in the home.

They did an excellent job turning the Skiff House into sleeping quarters with private bath and tub. While this is not "historic" inside, it is so very comfortable with a lovely seating area with a view of the harbor, A skiff is a boat with wheels used to transfer goods from the boats in the harbor up the hill to the property, I believe. There is also a seating area outside the gift shop with a picnic table for gathering.

The hostess, Rose, was welcoming with a homemade lemon curd desert and coffee awaiting us as we checked in. The morning breakfast gathering at 9 a.m. was a special treat with home cooked treats of a fruit soup with orange mint glaze, eggs with Hollandaise Sauce on English Muffins, breakfast potatoes and sausages. This was in addition to an apple-cranberry juice and coffee, of course. Tastefully presented, too, I might add.

The lighthouse building itself has three rooms and while we did not see them, as they were occupied, we did see the shared bath and the upper light house area. All spotlessly clean, restored and a special experience.

I rarely give an "excellent" rating but in this case, it seems appropriate.

Two points that were not "excellent" but rather unimportant really but since this is a review, here goes:

1 - The coffee was a bit on the weak side for my taste but that is a personal choice.
2 - No internet service on site, but they do have several options in town if one needs to be connected. Phone service, was just fine.

Being in Two Harbors at the Lighthouse was not just a great place to sleep but a memorable experience in a beautiful location with lots of history and peace.

Room Tip: For couples, the Lighthouse is the choice. If visiting with another, the Skiff House provides a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place is in an actual lighthouse. Not only do you get a pass to tour the grounds and the buildings, but you also get a pass to explore the Edna G.tugboat, a museum of the history of the area, and the place where 3M got its start in Two Harbors. It is located on the harbor where you can watch the ore boats come and get loaded up with iron ore.

Room Tip: The Skiff House is a great place as it has a jacuzzi and the window overlooks the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Last summer the man of my dreams and I married on the grounds of the B & B over looking Lake Superior on the most beautiful day of the year. The nostalgic Lighthouse made our wedding most memorable. The staff, the rooms, the food and the views were wonderful. We are returning for our anniversary!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Ever since I was a little girl, I've dreamed of living in a lighthouse. In landlocked Oklahoma, that's been hard for me to do, but staying here definitely helped with wish fulfillment. Not sure they allow young children, but since my daughter was older, she was welcome. What a special stay for us both! I booked rather late in the summer and was happy to find one room available on a Sunday night. I planned our whole Minnesota vacation around it. The lighthouse itself is well-preserved and we had fun exploring it and the grounds on our own. Our room was charmingly decorated, clean, comfortable and quiet. The food was delicious. Even though there were other guests, it often seemed as if we had the place to ourselves, and we also enjoyed our private moments on the shores of Lake Superior. It was fun browsing in the gift shop next door, and after checking out, we drove further east to Gooseberry Falls State Park, which was beautiful. I may have crossed "lighthouse stay" off my bucket list, but I sincerely hope to return someday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We loved staying at the Lighthouse B&B in Two Harbors, MN. It's a short drive past Duluth, and near two of our favorite state parks, Gooseberry Falls and Split Rock Lighthouse. The historic house was spotless. Lots of work and dedication has gone into it.
The breakfast was hearty, healthy and delicious. There were also fresh baked goods when we arrived. Rose was a wonderful hostess.
It was fun to see the humongous ore ships load at the docks just across the harbor. We hope to come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Harbor Room. It has a view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and I recently celebrated our second wedding anniversary the Lighthouse B&B was a great spot. The room was very nice and spacious and it was just downstairs from the actual working lighthouse. We got to go up there at night and see the light operating in the dark and the food the next morning was delicious. Rose, the "light house keeper," was a terrific host and made our stay memorable. We also got to see a couple ships dock in the harbor, hike the Superior Hiking Trail, visit the 3M Museum, and eat in downtown Two Harbors.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We had a great time at the Lighthouse. Rose was an awesome host. Breakfast was wonderful and HUGE! The views were breathtaking. Since its an old house, the floors were creaky and the tub small, but that added to its homey charm. I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
Free Parking, P...
Show More
10.3 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 7 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 7 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Two Harbors
AmericInn Two Harbors
#5 of 7 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#6 of 7 in Two Harbors
3.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Budget, Free Pa...
Show More
24.0 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
4.5 mi away
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Lighthouse Point, P.O. Box 128, Two Harbors, MN 55616
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the rocky shoreline overlooking Lake Superior and Agate Bay. The LightHouse Bed & Breakfast offers an overnight experience like no other. You can bask in the historical flavor of this turn of the century building then explore the diverse recreational opportunities and wealth of year-round natural beauty the North Shore has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Bed And Breakfast
Lighthouse Hotel Two Harbors

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lighthouse Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list