We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Voyageur Motel

Voyageur Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Two Harbors
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Voyageur Motel
Save
You added Voyageur Motel to your Saves list
1227 7th Ave., Two Harbors, MN 55616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Two Harbors
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Easy and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We dropped in here as we were passing through the north shore drive. This is a basic, no fuss no frills place. Comfy, warm and not expensive - we didn't need anything more. There is coffee on from 5am and it is not far from the towns bars and restaurants. The shower was good and powerful, the bed was comfy and heating easy.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsville, Illinois
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had difficulty finding places to stay--lots of people traveling to see the leaves change. We decided to give this place a try because of the reviews. It was very disappointing. Our room was very small with a full-sized bed and a twin bed crammed into it. There was no air conditioning and our windows wouldn't open (other rooms did have open windows). The little ceiling fan did a pretty admirable job of cooling things down. Our biggest objection was the filthiness of the two chairs in the room. Nasty! Happily, the bathroom was very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

we were looking for a place to stay 1 night before camping.. we choose this place.. it was , clean, comfortable, affordable , nice, and we had a great nights sleep... Gigi ,,, was very nice , she gave us a home town feel.. we would stay here again..

Room Tip: if you are traveling with another couple .. rooms 5 and 6 work well ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It appears the reviews for this motel have either been very good or very bad. The bottom line is that the rooms for this old timey 9 room motel are somewhat small. However they are kept very clean and the lady I spoke with when registering was quite nice.
We paid $60.00 for the night we stayed there. I did check rates at the other motels in Two Harbors like the Americinn whose rates are more than double those at the Voyageur. The hotel is convenient to the Two Harbors restaurants, coffee shops and gas stations.
If you are needing a room to stay in Two Harbors and do not want to pay well over $100 for a fancier hotel, than I recommend the Voyageur.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We chose this motel for price since we were traveling. There was no air-conditioning, which isn't always needed in Minnesota, and it was an unusually hot day. There was a ceiling fan and a standing fan, which got us cool and comfortable quickly. The room was clean and fresh with a comfortable mattress. The owner was amicable and got us some ice from her freezer. There was fresh coffee very early in the morning. I do not like the nasty verbage from some reviewers, and wanted to give this business a review that was fair to the owner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I like the town of Two Harbors precisely because it is NOT a touristy place. Unfortunately, plans are being made for a waterfront marina (which may or may not help the local economy, but it will most certainly change the all-American working-class atmosphere that the town has always had).

A big plus about Two Harbors is the library, which shows foreign films monthly.

Another big plus is the Voyageur Motel. It is one of those good old-fashioned Mom & Pop operations that delivers all the basics: clean, quiet, comfortable, reasonable rates. It's a short walk from the lake, close to several good restaurants, with a laundromat next door. Antique lawn ornaments decorate the parking lot. Shower in unit 6 is big enough for two people! Good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Carpeting, bed spreads, and curtains all in good shape. Pets are welcome. These folks work hard to maintain this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is located right off the main drag, making it easy to get anywhere quick.
The lady running the hotel was very helpful, and gave lots of tips for food in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Voyageur Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Motel

Address: 1227 7th Ave., Two Harbors, MN 55616
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Two Harbors
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyageur Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.