We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Voyageur Motel

Voyageur Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Two Harbors
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Voyageur Motel
1227 7th Ave., Two Harbors, MN 55616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Two Harbors
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“decent place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It appears the reviews for this motel have either been very good or very bad. The bottom line is that the rooms for this old timey 9 room motel are somewhat small. However they are kept very clean and the lady I spoke with when registering was quite nice.
We paid $60.00 for the night we stayed there. I did check rates at the other motels in Two Harbors like the Americinn whose rates are more than double those at the Voyageur. The hotel is convenient to the Two Harbors restaurants, coffee shops and gas stations.
If you are needing a room to stay in Two Harbors and do not want to pay well over $100 for a fancier hotel, than I recommend the Voyageur.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joliet, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We chose this motel for price since we were traveling. There was no air-conditioning, which isn't always needed in Minnesota, and it was an unusually hot day. There was a ceiling fan and a standing fan, which got us cool and comfortable quickly. The room was clean and fresh with a comfortable mattress. The owner was amicable and got us some ice from her freezer. There was fresh coffee very early in the morning. I do not like the nasty verbage from some reviewers, and wanted to give this business a review that was fair to the owner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I like the town of Two Harbors precisely because it is NOT a touristy place. Unfortunately, plans are being made for a waterfront marina (which may or may not help the local economy, but it will most certainly change the all-American working-class atmosphere that the town has always had).

A big plus about Two Harbors is the library, which shows foreign films monthly.

Another big plus is the Voyageur Motel. It is one of those good old-fashioned Mom & Pop operations that delivers all the basics: clean, quiet, comfortable, reasonable rates. It's a short walk from the lake, close to several good restaurants, with a laundromat next door. Antique lawn ornaments decorate the parking lot. Shower in unit 6 is big enough for two people! Good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Carpeting, bed spreads, and curtains all in good shape. Pets are welcome. These folks work hard to maintain this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is located right off the main drag, making it easy to get anywhere quick.
The lady running the hotel was very helpful, and gave lots of tips for food in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My Husband and I stayed at the Voyageur Motel for the first time At end of Sept and first of Oct.... I wanted to put up a review because there were some really bad reviews and I don't want people to be afraid to stay at this small motel...YES it is small, it is like the kind I used to stay in when I traveled when the kids were little...but the owner was kind, helpful and gave us good tips on places to eat..ALSO, the place was clean,t he sheets and bedding smelled clean and fresh...IF you want a place to lay your head and not interested in the high price of fancy hotels, this is a nice place to lay your head.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

The Motel hostess was very friendly and helpful. If you need to stay in Two Harbors and do not want to pay the high prices of other area inns, Voyaguer Motel is a good option. Our room was not air conditioned, but had fans and was very comfortable. I will try to stay there again next year on out way up to Ely.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
three hills
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

the owner is a horrible lady to deal with i have never been so mad at someone in my whole life. I have a 3 month old baby I asked her repeatedly if the rooms were clean she told me over and over that it was a very nice place and very clean rooms. The place is a dump there were drunks all over the place it was so dirty i wanted to stay somewhere else so i asked to get my money back because the place was such a mess. i didn't want to stay there with my baby i didn't feel safe and it was NOT clean at all. She was a horrible person to try and deal with. You cant talk to her at all she is a vulgar person! she also tried to over charge us for the room i went online and seen the real prices of there rooms she is a money hungry witch!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Voyageur Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Motel

Address: 1227 7th Ave., Two Harbors, MN 55616
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Two Harbors

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyageur Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Voyageur Motel to your Saves list