We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well deserved "get away"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Superior Lodge

Save Saved
You added Grand Superior Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Superior Lodge
2826 Hwy 61, Two Harbors, MN   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Two Harbors
1 review
“A well deserved "get away"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Grand Superior Lodge from 10/11/13-10/13/13. We had a wonderful time as always. It was a perfect time of year. The staff and the accommodations are outstanding. We will not wait so long the next time.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad view on the property. Although some of the 2 bedroom cabins are bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Grand Superior Lodge. We are overjoyed to hear that you were able to get that "Well Deserved" vacation. We are so glad you found us to be above average and recommendations worthy. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    69
    25
    20
    23
See reviews for
82
122
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My family joined me here for a nice long weekend in September during which time I had a conference for work on site. The accommodations were wonderful for this event.

The lodge rooms were typical hotel rooms from what I saw but we had reserved 4 nights in one of the private 2 bedroom cabins by the lake. There are several of these, all with slightly different layouts and size. The theme is the same: clean, well appointed, internet access, fireplace, big windows facing the lake and close to everything.

The lodge facilities including the indoor pool were well above average and well maintained. The onsite bar was pretty decent and had live music (not too loud) but the restaurant itself was overpriced and mediocre food. There are other culinary options within 30 minutes which I'll write separate reviews on.

The proximity of this resort to both Gooseberry Falls State park and Split Rock Lighthouse State part is wonderful. (1 mile and 8 miles). A ridiculous amount of biking and hiking can take place from this resort as a base.

Room Tip: Recommend the private or semiprivate cabins by the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued customers and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I treated ourselves to a romantic getaway at the GSL. We were very impressed with the staff, grounds and rooms.. Only problem is our gas fireplace would not light. (Kind of a big deal for us romantics) the staff was very responsive and tried several times to fix it, but could not before we had to leave. Regardless they were wonderful and very nice and I would definitely return for another stay.

We stayed in the (upstairs) suite in the lake log home and loved it. The views are spectacular and the room is cozy and warm. Also make sure to check out the hot tub as it is big and feels fantastic after a long day of hiking.

Only thing I might recommend in the future is for GSL is to plant some sound blocking trees along the highway to cut down the little bit of truck noise that sometimes is audible from the rooms.

Great place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The room in the lodge was very nice, the view of Lake Superior was spectacular. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. If you like to relax, this place is very quiet and peaceful. A good location. Gooseberry Falls is about 2 miles away and Split Rock Lighthouse is about 8 miles away.

Room Tip: If staying in the lodge select a room with a balcony overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write your comments, and to give us a positive review. We are glad to read that our amenities, accommodations and overall stay with us exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you for being our guest.

-Grand Superior Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We've stayed here many times over the years. Sadly, the past few years the accommodations have been increasingly disappointing - unclean & in disrepair. Not sure if it's the property management or the individual unit (cabin or log home) owners who have slid to a lower standard. It's a beautiful property and the location works wonderful for us, but we'll be seeking other options next trip. The resort charges an 'amenities' fee but doesn't even do a daily trash pull or towel refresh. Nightstand was sticky, ceiling fan had cobwebs, bedspread had spots - not okay at ANY $ rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed in a Lakehome suite for our honeymoon, was very clean, modern and well maintained, grounds were perfect, view was excellent. Those at the front desk provided excellent service, were always accommodating at arranging for fires, food / drink arranged for in advance and were delivered to room before we arrived. The front desk and grounds staff were very pleasant, loved the hospitality with lighting fires, providing smores, DVD movies, and games to borrow. Had an unpleasant experience at the restaurant however, would highly recommend if it were not for the restaurant.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello Mark,

Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments, and give us this positive review of the resort. Our staff are dedicated to providing exceptional customer service for every guest. We have been working extremely hard to earn reviews such as yours. On behalf of Splashing Rock Restaurant, we would like to apologize for the problems you encountered. We appreciate the time and feedback provided as this enables us to continuously improve our product and services to our guests. I hope you if we see you in the near future you will be able to give them a second chance to show you true customer service.

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isanti, Minnesota
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Service is horrible, the area is beautiful and the cabins are nice so it is too bad that the service was terrible. Our gas fireplace in the room was not working on Friday night and when we called them they said sorry there is no one here that knows how to fix it. So we called Saturday morning and someone did not come until Saturday evening, and then they couldn't fix it and just said its still broken you are not able to have a fire tonight. The manager said he would take $100.00 a night off the bill because of this, but at check out only took off $50.00. He was very rude. It was obviously not a big deal to them that we didn't have a working fireplace but it was a big deal to me. It was our one year wedding anniversary. We will never stay at any of their resorts again but that is OK because there are many other places to stay on the north shore!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hello Lisa,

On behalf of Grand Superior Lodge we are sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We would like to apologize for the circumstances surrounding your recent stay with us. It was unfortunate to hear about the fireplace not working in your unit during your anniversary. For this there are no excuses. I did speak with the General Manager who had spoken to you Saturday regarding the issue in the unit and he had said that he would take off $100 for your stay. We were able to pull up your folio which did reflect the $100 off. We apologize for the miscommunication. We are happy to report that the fireplace was fixed and is now working in the unit that you were staying in. While certain circumstances of the room did not meet the expectations for your weekend, we do hope that you were able to relax along the shoreline and take advantage of the complimentary smores and fire pits.
We look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay and hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with better service.

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Superior Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Superior Lodge

Address: 2826 Hwy 61, Two Harbors, MN
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Superior Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Grand Superior Two Harbors

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Superior Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.