We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to Go Back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Superior Gateway Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Two Harbors
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Superior Gateway Lodge
465 Westover Road, Two Harbors, MN 55616   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Twin Cities, MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Go Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This lovely place was made all the more lovely by our hosts: Pat and Joe! The building is superbly made, with spacious rooms and top-notch amenities. Our room was HUGE and definitely worth the upgrade in terms of space and that wonderful two-person whirlpool! It was so wonderful to come back from a day of biking or hiking and be able to sink into it!

Breakfasts were PHENOMENAL! Every day was started with a new dish that I'd never experienced, and they were ALL good!

It IS off the beaten path, but there were plenty of places to eat in town, just a few miles away. There's also a mini fridge with a tiny freezer inside plus a microwave. We bought snacks and that was helpful for the midnight munchies.

There were other families there while we were there, and a couple nights I think we were the only ones (owners don't stay on site). Either way, it was really quiet and we didn't even know we had others in the house til we met them at breakfast.

Bring your bikes, you won't want to miss the beautiful trails near Gooseberry Falls and all the way to Split Rock Lighthouse!

You may also want to bring some water shoes so you can explore Gooseberry Falls up-close and personal

Do not forget the camera! There are some beautiful sites all around!

Last but not least, I must comment on the beautiful symphony that serenaded us each night...the tree frogs, I think. The sounds was so peaceful!

In all, I HIGHLY recommend this B&B for couples especially, but I could easily see a group of friends renting the place out for the weekend, or even a family reunion.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the largest suite upstairs. All of the rooms are lovely. Families can have the whol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selfhelp1948, Owner at Superior Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Your review was appreciated. Joe and I also enjoyed your sweet voice as you shared in song around the piano.
We agree that the North Shore is the perfect place to have a great escape and then come to the peace and quiet of the lodge for a romantic evening!
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at SGL this September for 3 days and 2 nights. It was an absolute pleasure to say the least. Our room was the Rosewood Queen Suite with its own balcony on the 1st floor. The room itself opens out to the beautiful main area and on to the dining and kitchen. From the craftsmanship of the cabin itself, to the small attentions to detail in virtually every nook & cranny, not to mention the beautiful nature surrounding the property, I would recommend a stay here to any friends, couples or families looking to have a nice getaway on the North Shore. Our only regret was that Joe and Pat were away for the weekend we stayed, but nonetheless the young university student who was taking care of things while they were away did an excellent job of making our anniversary weekend all the more memorable. Thanks for providing such a nice getaway and my wife and I will be sure to be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

You might find places a little closer to town, but it would be difficult to find one that has friendlier hosts that genuinely care about their guests as much as Pat and Joe. From the moment we stepped into the front entry-way, it was a ‘wow’ and a sense of comfort. The Romantic King Suite was spacious and inviting w/ just the right amount of décor. As a bonus fresh flowers and small snacks awaited our arrival. The only problem with the breakfast is that I will now compare all breakfasts to what I experienced, thus setting the bar quite high. It was GREAT! The entire stay was wonderful and I would certainly do it again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selfhelp1948, Owner at Superior Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We sure enjoyed having you at the lodge! Thanks for being one of our amazing guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbenkufsky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

You will love coming here! It is a great place to get away and have a relaxing weekend or weekday. We stayed Sunday and Monday night and we had the house to our selves. The Inn ceepers are so nice, and friendly, and love to share the story on how they built the house. My husband and I had a great honeymoon weekend, and will be coming back just to come back and have a get away weekend.

Room Tip: I gave the swimming pool a 5 because we stayed in the King Suite with the hot tub. It was very rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I live in the Twin Cities, are very busy and work opposite shifts. We just wanted to take a few days to go up north, relax and enjoy each other's company. SGL was the perfect place to do this. The locationa is a little ways from Two Harbos, which lets you really feel that you have gotten away from it all. We stayed in the room with the king size bed. It was spacious and cozy at the same time. We took advantage of the whirlpool tub every night we were there. There is no A/C but even in the extreme heat we had this summer, we were able to be mostly comfortable with the ceiling fan and the windows open. The bed was absolutely wonderful. it was so comfortable. The breakfasts were very tasty and inventive. We got a chance to try things we had not before and enjoyed the variety. If we are in the Two Harbors area again we will definitely stop here!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selfhelp1948, Owner at Superior Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Your gracious comments are incredible. It was a pleasure to get to know you.
We just did some revising to our cooling system although the cool evenings and massive logs do most of the work, there are a couple days each summer that need a little help.
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We are a couple with 4 children and do not get away very often on our own. I was surprised with an overnight stay at SGL. We stayed in the Romantic King Suite, it was beautiful, peaceful and relaxing. The bed was very comfortable and was the best night sleep that we have had in months, we woke up early feeling refreshed and ready for our day along the north shore.
The service was great, and they make a wonderful breakfast for you. We both agreed that this is a place that we will go back and visit again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversary with a weekend at the SGL in Two Harbors. It has a very quiet and relaxing location, a perfect setting for a log cabin. Everything was immaculate! The bed was extremely comfortable! Breakfast was outstanding! We stayed in the Rosewood Room on the first floor of the lodge with its own private deck. Pat and Joe are wonderful hosts, giving us many tips on places to visit as well a local eateries for lunch and dinner. Great place for that a quiet, private, peaceful couples' get away!
Mark and LouAnn, Inver Grove Heights, MN

Room Tip: Rosewood Room is on the first floor right off the main living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selfhelp1948, Owner at Superior Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review. We enjoyed having you stay with us! We love it when folks celebrate their anniversaries! Thanks also for the coffee comment. People do enjoy the coffee here--fresh ground Colombian!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Superior Gateway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Gateway Lodge

Address: 465 Westover Road, Two Harbors, MN 55616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Gateway Lodge is a majestic handcrafted White Pine log lodge that beckons you to stay a while. Located near Two Harbors, MN, this new facility is perfect for that special Bed and Breakfast getaway. We feature luxury Jacuzzi suites and a unique gourmet breakfast. Make this your special "Gateway" to Lake Superior's spectacular North Shore attractions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Superior Gateway Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Superior Gateway Lodge to your Saves list