We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th year and loved it again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Two Harbors
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel
Save
You added Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel to your Saves list
2778 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Getaway Special
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Two Harbors
Saint Paul
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“4th year and loved it again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our 4th year staying here and we loved it again! Nice clean cabin (#3) with all the amenities, we all love the free soda, movies and games,free fire wood and a great shore line and fire pit. The property is well maintained by it's friendly owners.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
9
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights while hiking nearby sections of the Superior Hiking Trail. There are both cabins and motel units. I stayed in one of the motel units. The cabins are conveniently located only 100 yards from the shore of Lake Superior and close to Gooseberry State Park, a premier park with wonderful trails, some of which connect to the SHT. I stayed in one of the motel units which was inconvenienty located only about 50 yards from busy and noisy Highway 61. The motel room was clean and nicely furnished with twin beds, a frig, microwave, coffee maker (you need to bring your own coffee) dishes and utensils. There was a living room area with sofa, tables and chairs, and a TV with VCR and DVD players. There was a large CD/VCR library that guests could use. The owners also provided free soda pop and other freebies. The current owners (as of Sept. 2012) have the place for sale. There is an excellent restaurant located directly across the street. I paid $95/night, an excellent price considering the location on the touristy North Shore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Around 1925 my grandparents built the cabins at Breezy Point, the name up until 1970 or so when they sold the property. They built 8 cabins, 5 on the lake, one where the house now sits and two on the west side of the property. The little building near the road was filled with treasures the tourists could purchase. Besides all of the trees along the property there was a circular drive way and a pond with fish, trees and flowers. There was no running water so my mothers job was to carry water from the lake for the guests, the house and of course the laundry. With no plumbing out door toilets were used and the two holers were great (you could bring a friend). My grandmother washed all of the the linen in a tub, then a ringer washer with blueing then hung everything on a clothes line, most every thing was ironed too. The cabins rented for $1.50 to $2.50 a night depending on location and size. Nothing was easy but my grandparents saved money and built the motel in the early 60's. Of course my grandmother was older and more beds ment more work, which she did everything alone. The guests did not build fires, at that period of time, the rocks were protected and they were perfect. The nights were quiet and I could go to sleep, as a little girl, hearing the water hitting the rocks and the june bugs hitting the bedroom screen. It was my wonderland and I felt like a princess. I was able to visit and stay 4 nights the summer of 2011. It was a wonderful experience and I loved every moment but I was sad to see the deterioration of the buildings, that would never be, and the lack of personal interaction. It is just a business now and I did not get a reduced rate. How the times have changed! I must say the time spent, especially on the sun porch, brought back pleasant memories of years gone by.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We booked our cabin after looking online. Admittedly when we first arrived I was a little skeptical. Our cabin needed a new coat of paint on the exterior but the price was right and it was clean, comfortable and quiet. We spent our first night there having a bonfire on the shore. It was perfect! Great location, just a short distance from everything we came to see. I grew up in a "family owned resort" area and like to support these types of establishments. If you want an expensive luxe pool and spa place, then you won't find what you want here, but if you want a nice atmosphere in a great location at a great price, then give this place a shot. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANKATO
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The previous reviewer said there was no lake access, which is not true. We have stayed here many times, and there is a set of steps between cabins 3 and 4, which goes down to ledgerock shoreline, with a view of Grand Superior Lodge. If you want a new cabin, there is one only a couple of years old with fireplace, new furniture, etc. If you are satisfied with older log cabins, there are several of those with either porches or a deck. There is a duplex with each section having an upper floor with bedroom, lower floor with fireplace, living room/kitchen/dining area, bathroom, and another bedroom (builet in about he 80s). If you want an inexpensive option, there is a small motel with either 2 kitchenette units or 2 motel rooms. Shasta pop is free, as is video/dvd usage on a rainy day. Located right across from the Rustic Inn for a convenient breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Also, only 2 miles south of Gooseberry Park.There are few of these small family-type resorts left on the shore--they should be valued. If you want Grand Superior and its prices, go there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011 via mobile

Motel rooms right along highway, can be a little noisy. Rate is very reasonable for north shore. Could be due to they don't have a "beach". Room left a little to be desired. Furniture was 70's dated but comfortable. Owner was nice, but didn't attend to the room concerns we had. Overall we may choose this place for a quick night on the 'shore.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel

Address: 2778 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Two Harbors
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.