We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and better history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Split Rock Lighthouse

Split Rock Lighthouse
3713 Split Rock Lighthouse Rd., Two Harbors, MN 55616
218-226-6372
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Two Harbors
Type: Lighthouses, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Well-known and often photographed lighthouse dating back to the 1920s.
Fulda
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great views and better history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you like lighthouses at all this is a must see! It is kind of expensive but I think worth it to keep up this marvelous piece of history. To me the movie alone was worth the price of admission. The buildings and grounds are clean and very well maintained and we have to pay for that.

Lots of stairs and walking so be ready for that. Not a good place for little kids really.

It is a fascinating look back into history and an engineering marvel for the time it was built. Hard to think was it was like to be all alone out on this cliff but it must have really been something for those families.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    70
    12
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very beautiful and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We took the guided tour which was very informative and then you were left to go explore and see on your own. There were period dressed guides in all the building that were able to answer any and all questions. A must do....

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“a must - one of the most majestic lighthouses in the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The cost is $9 but seniors get in for $7 & show your AAA card & that will take it down to $5. You can read all about the lighthouse & don't really need to take the tour - unless you are a fast walker.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We had fantastic weather in October. The leaves were just turning so we got some great photos. The walk down to the beach for the view is great, just be prepared to walk back up. We went down the trail versus the stairs since it was easier on the knees. The guides were very knowledgable and in character. Would definitely do again!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It was nice, but not as interesting as I might have hoped. I think this spot may be a little over hyped.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Split Rock Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Split Rock Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Split Rock Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.