We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Superior Shores Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Superior Shores Resort to your Saves list
Superior Shores Resort
1521 Superior Shores, Two Harbors, MN 55616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Two Harbors
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Nice Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have stayed here before and like it, due to the fact that we are smokers and there aren't any other places as nice as this one on the North Shore where you can smoke. We had a third floor one bedroom suite with a full kitchen, living room with a two sided fireplace, one side in the living room and the other side in the bedroom. The bedroom has a king size bed, and a large jacuzzi. The pillows on the bed aren't real comfortable, if you go, I would suggest you bring your own. The kitchen is fully equipped and they even gave us microwave popcorn.

The view of the great lake is splendid with a nice deck and grill. The resturant is nice and the food is good, a little spendy.

The only complaint I have is that the couch is very hard, it does make into a bed which is lumpy, and the chairs around the table are very uncomfortable. But all in all a very nice place, the people who work there are very nice and helpful. It is only a hop, skip and jump into Two Harbors.

We will visit again.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor has the best view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    72
    35
    23
    17
See reviews for
90
85
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savage, Minnesota, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have always wanted to try Superior shores Resort – Believing it was a more of upscale place to stay due to the price. So when an opportunity for me to try it due to a Yoga retreat being up there I thought GREAT! Let me share with you what I found out.

Upon arrival – All looked great! The room – albeit small – appeared clean not exactly what I would have expected for the price paid but nice all the same. However after the weekend went on things just went downhill.
Main area
Lots of counter space and Electrical outlets were nice
Full size beds - I expected this as I saw this when I booked the room but it is odd they are not Queen sized…that isn’t the worst they are encased in wood boxes that are larger than the bed so you CONSTANTLY Hit your feet/knees on the sides
Coffee pot was there - but NO Coffee cup? As a matter of fact no glasses at all - I guess I would expect to have glasses and not plastic cups in this type of resort?
VIEW- We had a Lakeview room (122-1) and the view was ok - you mainly only saw the grass area in front of lake and could only see the lake in the far distance however the Lake was VERY nice. But note it is also connected to the state park so you could visit the same area without staying here.
Unlocked fuse box in our room. If we wanted to we could of taken out the electricity in areas of the hotel? REALLY???

Sink Area
SMALL -not 1 inch of counter space. Only a sink surrounded by 3 walls. Nowhere to set anything down in a bathroom area.
No towel bars

Bathroom
SMALL- if you have a hard time moving around – just know you will have a hard time getting up from the toilet – VERY SMALL AREA
Our room had an unfinished ceiling – it was Spackle – but not painted.
Door didn’t lock – don’t expect privacy in the bathroom any one can walk right in – considering the door was angled to always close you never knew if someone was in the bathroom so a lock would have been nice.
Tub – had holes in it and was clearly caulked to cover the holes. Would have been nice if maybe they could of painted over that?
THE BEST PART - Toilet didn’t flush after the first, 2nd or third flushes all the time - we used the toilets in the lobby area so we wouldn’t have floaters!
No towel bar -
Only two towels in a room that clearly sleeps 4
Only shampoo - No lotion or conditioner? REALLY?

Resort
The resort was having electrical issues all day on Saturday - so when the Electricity finally went out completely around 6PM I shouldn’t of been surprised but I was! When I finally made my way to the door to the hallway the neighbors said “this was a planned outage – didn’t you get the call?” That was the last straw for me. If I would of known would of decided to go out to eat (After a day of Yoga – I was tired and decided to just stay in and have some leftovers – had I known I would of left!) So I went up to the desk and asked why I didn’t get a call and they said they ran out of time to call everyone! For real they didn’t think to take the 30 employees and go door to door and knock on doors with the 15 minutes’ notice they had? Instead one employee was to call every room in that time? Not sure who’s bright Idea that was – but not very smart. I understand these things happen and we made the best of it - but to know they were aware of the issue and that is how they chose to handle it blows my mind! Keep in mind originally they denied knowing - until I said “my neighbor got a call?” And at check out they said they didn’t know either! Crazy!
Broken Glass in the hallway - So wear your shoes ALL THE TIME
Apparently they allow pets! -This is actually very cool as I myself have a dog and think it’s great that hotels allow pets. However - Keep them away from other guests that don’t.
Walking to a yoga session I was cornered by a large yellow lab as a hotel room door opened and a dog came flying out barking at me as I was in his territory- Actually had to ask the owner to call off his dog and pull it back in the room so I could get by? You would think that would be obvious.
I never read the reviews before I went as I just assumed it would be awesome! However I would think that if I am part of a Yoga retreat they wouldn’t put me in a pet room (UNLESS I HAD A PET!!!) - I should of said something right way but by the time we noticed all the issues we had already unpacked and didn’t want to move rooms anyways

Note - On Saturday night I told the front desk I was dissatisfied with the whole thing and not only the electricity being out and that I was going to write a review - they truly didn't seem to care! At check out, I again said I was dissatisfied and was told I could wait to talk to a manager... At that point I wasn't waiting. You only get one chance to make a first impression - They made a HORRIBLE ONE!

Room Tip: In short - Unless you want to pay more for you room - as I can only hope the other rooms are nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our second visit, there was some wicked weather Friday through Saturday. Our power kept blinking off and on throughout our stay and finally blacked out early Saturday evening. Some rooms seemed to have power, the lounge had some, but the restaurant didn't, the hotel desk was dark but the snack shop lights were on, our hallway was lit but the second floor wasn't. Sporadic. It's a great place to stay but geting a little run down. There was a knob on one closet that was stripped out and fell off a couple times. The insulation in the oven peeled off and the oven had a hard time preheating, The windowsill in the bedroom leaked badly. It's a very nice property and we would stay again but they need to do a little tinkering.

Room Tip: Third floor is quiet, no one above you and the closer to the lobby, the better for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Staff doesn't care. Rooms are UN-kept and outdated. Bathroom didn't work and was smaller than any hotel bathroom I have ever been in. Pet hair in corners and bugs in the toilet??

The only thing this place had was the North Shore but there are public beaches that are better to visit than this place.

Room Tip: Don't book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We went up to Superior Shores for my birthday and just loved it. I have stayed here before with family or on a girls weekend too. It is the perfect resort for any occasion. It is located just north of Two Harbors, MN on a cove on Lake Superior. The rooms are done in a upscale northwoods decor and the 1 Bdrm suites are perfect for a blustery fall or winter day. They have a fireplace that is two sided so it is in the bedroom and the living room. They have decks with grills full kitchens dining area and a large bathroom with a double sink vanity. They also have a two person sunken garden tub in the master bedroom or bath in some locations. The living room has a queen sofa sleeper. There is a indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and kids pool in the main area of the Lodge and a restaurant with a beautiful view and vaulted beamed ceilings. They have a special for Nov and Dec called the Gales of November and is a great value with food included. Don't drive past this excellent resort.

Room Tip: For a view of the lake ask for a Superior Room. To save a few dollars you can get a Northwoods View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My extended family booked the Up North executive lodge which is part of a smaller development of condos about a half mile down highway 61 from the rest of the resort. We had 4 couples (including 3 young children). We have stayed in other large multi-bedroom units before, both regnionally, as well as oceanfront rental properties elsewhere around the country. There is no question that this is the highest end rental unit that I have ever seen. Thick carpeting in the bedrooms, hardwood floors in living areas, thick granite countertops throughout, custom lighting and furniture. There are 5 good sized bedrooms, including two master suites with fireplaces/views/baths and another large bedroom with pull out sofa. Very large whirlpool tub upstairs off the hallway, and another whirlpool in each of the two master bedrooms. There is a huge kitchen with open concept, wrap around bar counter and large island. There's also a second counter seating area that's part of the wet bar (also in the great room), which has its own bar fridge. The views are spectacular, and the open design means that all living spaces look out on the lake. The deck was designed with glass panels so that this view is unobstructed. There is a large table on the deck as well as a sitting area and gas grill.

The unit is connected to the pool and indoor-outdoor whirlpool (basement level) as well as small exercise room by a private stairwell. The facilities are shared with other rental units in adjacent buildings, as well as with the residents of the 3 other executive lodges. However it was never busy when we stayed in August. Since this unit is on the end, there are more windows. The whirlpool is actually in view of the deck (if you look around the side of the building) which was convenient for us when the group was split apart. Noise from the whirlpool wasn't an issue.

There is a short trail to a campfire circle right on the water. They supply wood for this each night and there are rustic benches. It is breathtaking.

My only complaint would be that there are few hangers in the closets. Oh, and no major walking trails along the water (beyond the property line). Yes, that's it. This is a pricey place, but if you want luxury along the north shore for your large gathering, you will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We rented a Burlington Bay 1BR condo for a 3 day getaway during MEA. Couple of points to note--the condos are individually apportioned. We noticed the main difference in the "add ons." Meaning one condo had lots of board games to play and gobs of kitchen utensils, where another did not. Regardless, they are clean and cozy with tremendous lake views. We also enjoyed the pool and indoor / outdoor hottub. It's a bit more expensive than staying in Duluth, but highly recommended to get away and enjoy stunning scenery.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Superior Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Shores Resort

Address: 1521 Superior Shores, Two Harbors, MN 55616
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Superior Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Superior Shores Hotel Two Harbors
Superior Shores Two Harbors

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Superior Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.