We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really unique, clean & friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Rail Traincar Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Two Harbors
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Rail Traincar Inn
Save
You added Northern Rail Traincar Inn to your Saves list
1730 Highway 3, Two Harbors, MN 55616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Two Harbors B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really unique, clean & friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We went up north for a mini vacation. It's the middle of winter. Some places weren't open. We stopped at this coffee shop. People there told us of this place. Really reasonable in price. Knowledgable staff, ( about the area) friendly service. CLEAN. Rooms. I can't wait to come back in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
45
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mound, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were thrilled with our stay at the Northern Rail Traincar Suites. The hospitality could not have been better, very friendly staff and management. The rooms were extremely clean. We stayed in the King Suite and could not get over the size of it. Pricing is also very much inline with what you would get with a larger chain, but probably a much smaller room.

This is not a B & B and management is working with Trip Advisor to have this distinction taken off. They do offer a continental breakfast which does have many choices. There are DVD's, books, and plenty of board games that you can borrow at no charge.

We never would have thought sleeping in a train box car would be so enjoyable. We are already planning our return trip here next summer with our daughters! Well done Cyndi!

Room Tip: If you are visiting for more than a night treat yourself to one of the three suites. Well worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We just spent three nights in one of the gorgeous King Conductor Suites at Northern Rail. Having toured it previously, we knew what to expect, and our expectations were met and exceeded. There's something downright luxurious about a fifty foot suite with a king bed, separate big living room, comfy seating everywhere, large windows with great views, spacious bathroom, the convenience of a fridge & microwave, and lovely, unique decor. We enjoyed an evening in front of the electric fireplace, in our beautiful wing chairs--and another couple of evenings cozied up on the sofa, watching movies (from Northern Rail's extensive free library). A group of deer greeted us as we came back one evening from dinner. Even they know where the best spot is.

Cyndi is the perfect hostess--friendly, fun, knowledgeable--after five minutes she makes you feel as though you're her new best friend and that she has all the time in the world to fill you in on any questions you may have. At the same time, she puts in countless hours making sure the rooms are spotless, breakfast is served on time, and all of her guests are completely satisfied. We certainly were--and we've booked a long weekend in February. We're already looking forward to a cozy, happy time no matter how awful the Minnesota weather may be.

Although the Conductor Suites are the biggest, Northern Rail also provides smaller, but equally comfortable and beautiful, accommodations. No two rooms are alike. The front lobby/library/breakfast/reception area sports some unique items, and the long hallway that connects the boxcars, modeled on a railroad platform, is just plain fun. If you come by to check them out, Cyndi will give you a free tour (just don't jump on the beds!). Get on her e-mailing list before Christmas and you could end up with a great room deal in January.

Room Tip: The Conductor Suites (2 King, one Queen) have separate living rooms and bedrooms and each takes up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We took a trip to the North Shore to see the fall colors and relax a bit and this was the perfect place. Unique atmosphere, clean, good breakfast and fun visiting with Cindy in the front lobby! My daughter and son-in-law recommended Northern Rail to us and we were not disappointed. Hope we can come back soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which was excellent when one person wants to sleep and another watch a movie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here with our son & his wife. They liked it so much, they went and stayed there again. It's a great place.Each room is unique, and really nice. I would highly recommend it to everyone who wants something different.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here on a recent trip to MN. Well worth the price. Small enough to be quaint. and far enough off the road to feel like your in a remote cabin. The Staff was pleasant and informative. I felt more like an invited guest than a customer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Rock, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were taking a casual and relaxing vacation and had planned to stay here. This is a unique and fun place to stay. Also quiet and relaxing. Anything you wanted to know about the area, just ask Cyndi, who I called "the hostess with the mostest." We were able to go off for the day to great parks and other activities we wanted to do and came back to a nice quiet place to relax which is what we needed to do. Great place to get away from the hubbub of life.

I would recommend this place to anyone and would return when traveling this way again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
20.1 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 7 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#6 of 7 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
7.6 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#4 of 7 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
24.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Rail Traincar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Rail Traincar Inn

Address: 1730 Highway 3, Two Harbors, MN 55616
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Two Harbors
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Rail Traincar Inn is a "Unique Hotel with a B&B Feel"! Nestled in the woods our accommodations provide a relaxing northern getaway 1/2 mile from the north shore of Lake Superior. There are 14 rooms in 7 boxcars (1/2 car each) called Porter and Porter w/Sofa rooms and there are 3 full car Suites (there are 10 cars total). We have several themes for our rooms: Oriental (inspired by the Asian influence of the Orient Express) Safari (Inspired by the Safari trains of the early 1900's) Victorian (Inspired by the era of train travel) Northwoods rooms for something different: Fishing, Bear, Golf & Lighthouse. From the charming platform hallway to the unique rooms and the peaceful surroundings Northern Rail appeals to anyone looking for a unique experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Rail Traincar Hotel Two Harbors
Northern Rail Traincar Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Rail Traincar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.