We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Rail Traincar Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Two Harbors
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Rail Traincar Inn
Save Saved
You added Northern Rail Traincar Inn to your Saves list
1730 Highway 3, Two Harbors, MN 55616   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% off 2nd Night Midweek
Ranked #3 of 7 Two Harbors B&B and Inns
Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We just spent three nights in one of the gorgeous King Conductor Suites at Northern Rail. Having toured it previously, we knew what to expect, and our expectations were met and exceeded. There's something downright luxurious about a fifty foot suite with a king bed, separate big living room, comfy seating everywhere, large windows with great views, spacious bathroom, the convenience of a fridge & microwave, and lovely, unique decor. We enjoyed an evening in front of the electric fireplace, in our beautiful wing chairs--and another couple of evenings cozied up on the sofa, watching movies (from Northern Rail's extensive free library). A group of deer greeted us as we came back one evening from dinner. Even they know where the best spot is.

Cyndi is the perfect hostess--friendly, fun, knowledgeable--after five minutes she makes you feel as though you're her new best friend and that she has all the time in the world to fill you in on any questions you may have. At the same time, she puts in countless hours making sure the rooms are spotless, breakfast is served on time, and all of her guests are completely satisfied. We certainly were--and we've booked a long weekend in February. We're already looking forward to a cozy, happy time no matter how awful the Minnesota weather may be.

Although the Conductor Suites are the biggest, Northern Rail also provides smaller, but equally comfortable and beautiful, accommodations. No two rooms are alike. The front lobby/library/breakfast/reception area sports some unique items, and the long hallway that connects the boxcars, modeled on a railroad platform, is just plain fun. If you come by to check them out, Cyndi will give you a free tour (just don't jump on the beds!). Get on her e-mailing list before Christmas and you could end up with a great room deal in January.

Room Tip: The Conductor Suites (2 King, one Queen) have separate living rooms and bedrooms and each takes up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
39
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We took a trip to the North Shore to see the fall colors and relax a bit and this was the perfect place. Unique atmosphere, clean, good breakfast and fun visiting with Cindy in the front lobby! My daughter and son-in-law recommended Northern Rail to us and we were not disappointed. Hope we can come back soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which was excellent when one person wants to sleep and another watch a movie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here with our son & his wife. They liked it so much, they went and stayed there again. It's a great place.Each room is unique, and really nice. I would highly recommend it to everyone who wants something different.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here on a recent trip to MN. Well worth the price. Small enough to be quaint. and far enough off the road to feel like your in a remote cabin. The Staff was pleasant and informative. I felt more like an invited guest than a customer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Rock, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were taking a casual and relaxing vacation and had planned to stay here. This is a unique and fun place to stay. Also quiet and relaxing. Anything you wanted to know about the area, just ask Cyndi, who I called "the hostess with the mostest." We were able to go off for the day to great parks and other activities we wanted to do and came back to a nice quiet place to relax which is what we needed to do. Great place to get away from the hubbub of life.

I would recommend this place to anyone and would return when traveling this way again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was our second weekend get-a-way to Northern Rail Traincar Suites and we will probably be making this a yearly thing too. My husband is a radical train enthusiast and his sisters discovered this awesome little cozy place for us to stay at on their way back from a trip to Gooseberry Falls. The room rates are very reasonable and the location is great because we pass Duluth on the way up from the Twin Cities and Lake Superior is always in view. The Ore docks, Lighthouse, and the North Shore Scenic Railroad Train museum are right downtown in the heart of Two Harbors. Cyndi Ryder is very generous with her time and talents when it comes to staying at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast. She always provides a wealth of information to her customers because she has thoroughly researched the area. Each room that you can stay in has a three ring binder just chock full of information as well as a journal where you can give Cyndi feedback about your stay. Each suite has a theme as well as decor to match that theme. Our recent stay was in the Oriental room and the room contained two very beautiful lamps, butterfly bedding, and butterfly and white crane wall decorations. Other items that made our stay comfortable were a soft queen bed, table and two chairs, a private shower bath (3/4 bath) continental breakfast, wireless internet access, television set, phone, alarm clock, a smoke free environment, and a beautiful view of the woods and wildlife. Cyndi even provides movies to watch, books to read, games to play, and puzzles you can put together. Cyndi always puts her guests first when it comes to customer service and she really makes you feel welcome to Northern Rail Traincar Suites. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

This unique B&B is located a mile or two away from the Two Harbors food and entertainment. Very peaceful and quite setting.

I stayed with my retired parents and my son for his 3rd birthday. We stayed in the large suite at the end with a separate living room and bedroom. My parents took the bedroom and said the bed was comfortable (medium firm). I shared the sleeper sofa with my 3 yr old, and it was fine for a few nights, which is what I expected.

The hospitality and service was excellent. When she learned it was my son's birthday, Cyndi set him up with 3 candles for his blueberry muffin at breakfast. My son was delighted with the hybrid train/hotel building.

The lobby has a good selection of toys, DVDs, puzzles, and games that can be borrowed by guests.

During our stay we ventured out to Gooseberry Falls, Silver Bay, Beaver Bay, and Duluth. All were easy distances for a preschooler and 2 less-active grandparents.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northern Rail Traincar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Rail Traincar Inn

Address: 1730 Highway 3, Two Harbors, MN 55616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Two Harbors
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Rail Traincar Inn is a "Unique Hotel with a B&B Feel"! Nestled in the woods our accommodations provide a relaxing northern getaway 1/2 mile from the north shore of Lake Superior. There are 14 rooms in 7 boxcars (1/2 car each) called Porter and Porter w/Sofa rooms and there are 3 full car Suites (there are 10 cars total). We have several themes for our rooms: Oriental (inspired by the Asian influence of the Orient Express) Safari (Inspired by the Safari trains of the early 1900's) Victorian (Inspired by the era of train travel) Northwoods rooms for something different: Fishing, Bear, Golf & Lighthouse. From the charming platform hallway to the unique rooms and the peaceful surroundings Northern Rail appeals to anyone looking for a unique experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Rail Traincar Bed And Breakfast
Northern Rail Traincar Hotel Two Harbors

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Rail Traincar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.