We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ribs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pancakes on the rocks

Pancakes on the rocks
king Georges rd, Beverly Hills, Hurstville, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Café
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Nice ribs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Busy place - be there early to avoid the long Q. Tandoori Chicken pizza was tasty and perfect and portion was just nice for 3 people. Pork ribs were full of flavours and our meal finished off with The Ultimate pancake washed down with a cup of coffee. We were well looked after by a waiter and will definitely be back. Car park entry is a bit weird with 2 entrances. One from Stoney Creek where you get to park undercover and if you come from the little lane behind the restaurant, you get to park in an uncovered car park. Otherwise, its a great place for a good meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    1
    7
    1
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You try then you will know...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, I was excited to try some yummy ribs. But The ribs were AWFUL. They tasted like lighterfluid and charcoal briquets,cold, undercooked, greasy and tough. We try both pork and beef, , seriously there are terrible!!!very dissapoited!!!sorry not worth to go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Worth a try but don't queue too long.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went for a Saturday lunch thinking it wouldn't be too busy, it has been a long time since we queued for a restaurant, takes me back to when Sizzler first opened here. Overall the restaurant is good. The staff are all very young and they seem a little scattered with a large crowd. The food was nice but nothing that I would call amazing. We asked if the garlic bread was bread or pizza, they said bread - it was a pizza type. No big deal it was tasty. The ribs we ordered were with teriyaki sauce. The sauce was not like any teriyaki I have ever tasted, it was so salty I scraped it off. Mum had the Fisherman's Catch which she really liked. At no time did anyone try and sell us a second drink which was interesting and we asked for the bill twice. Unfortunately customer service in general seems to be slipping with the "me generation" so in keeping with not expecting a lot from a restaurant these days, Pancakes on the Rocks was very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It is worthy to try the pancake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I try the pancake only. It is not bad. My friend highly recommend it. And It makes me to expect too much. Price is reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Not "Lovely" Pancakes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This location has been changing hands between restraunts for the last 10 years.
It's easy to find but hard to park. Large inside and modern decor. Seemed to be full of the 16-25 crowd at 10pm on a Friday night.
This chain of restraunts was once part of the the "Lovely Pancakes" group which still exist in Victoria and the ACT. They had three restraunts Pancakes "at the Rocks" , "at the Movies" (Now KFC on George St) and "at Parramatta" back in the 70's and early 80's. But don't expect that quality or organic trademark anymore they are no longer affiliated with that group.
Pancakes were a bit gritty and closer to a crumpit in thickness and consistancy than a regulation pancake.Cheap vanilla icecream , and watery "Maple Syrip".
By the way they don't have actual maple syrip from the tree, only "Maple flavoured" syrip. But they don't mention that unless you ask. And why ? Because it's too expensive. Funny as it's only about $1 a bottle cheeper for 350 mill in Woolworths.
Better places in the area within a short walk. Or if you want a roadtrip go to the Lovely pancakes , pancake parlour in canberra and see what it should be.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancakes on the rocks also viewed

Beverly Hills, Hurstville
Beverly Hills, Hurstville
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Beverly Hills, Hurstville
 

Been to Pancakes on the rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pancakes on the rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.