We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune Bay Resort Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tower
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fortune Bay Resort Casino
Save
You added Fortune Bay Resort Casino to your Saves list
1430 Bois Forte Rd., Tower, MN 55790   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tower
Faribault, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I don't know how this hotel doesn't have a better rating. It definitely gets a 5 from me. Our whole room was very nice and updated and the bed was nice also. We also had a balcony overlooking the golf course. Another nice thing was the sauna and the fact that they have their own marina.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us this past summer.

We have added some new amenities (e.g. totally redesigned The Tamarack, added a credit union and a Tim Hortons Cafe & Bake Shop) since your last visit so we encourage you to come back for another trip to check them out.

Thanks again for the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    28
    23
    18
    7
See reviews for
25
50
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Having stayed at other area casinos in the past, I usually come to expect a warm room, decent bed average meal and good hospitality. Not much of a gambler, my business associate and I decided to stay here for a few nights and snowmobile the local trails. What we got was a warm reception, a ton of freebies - $40/nt off with sign up of players club, free drinks, free breakfasts, etc... A nice room and atmosphere was also unexpected but was appreciated. The topper of the whole trip is that we had rode 120 miles away from the resort and my partner's sled broke down. Stuck in the middle of no where, the resort came and picked us up - a 2+ hour drive! For no charge! Wow is all I can say. Of course we tipped them generously and could not believe they would be so helpful. We had decided to cut our stay short a night because of the breakdown and guess what, Fortune Bay refunded our last night! We have been many places in the area in the past for snowmobiling, golfing, etc... but will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Good afternoon:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Sorry that your trip was cut short due to problems with your snowmobiles, but we’re glad that our staff was able to turn your experience into a positive one.

We’ll make sure to pass along your comments to our team members whom helped you out, thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenora
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

very nice hotel clean and bright. casino clean but found it cold. never offered any perks while we were there. buffet was o.k. but not a lot of variety. rooms were expensive.Service was good.
Beds were comfortable. overall experience was good. We were there about 20 yrs ago and was quite surprised on the changes.Liked how the bathrooms were kept so clean. Floor was very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Good afternoon:

Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay.

Thanks for letting us know that our staff provided good customer service.

Thanks also for appreciating the efforts of our janitorial department whom work extremely hard to keep our bathrooms and entire facility clean for our guests.

Sorry that you were not able to receive any perks, but our rates are very comparable to similar properties in the region.

We’re also glad that you enjoyed the changes that we have made to our property since your last visit. Our next project is a remodel of our restaurant, so if you happen to stay with us again, make sure to stop by to see those changes.

Have a great rest of the week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We just happened to stumble on this casino/resort on the reservation, and stopped by to see what the rates were for a night. What a beautiful place!
It was a Thursday, so we received a very nice king suite on the 4th floor (Very comfortable bed & clean room), and several coupons to redeem during our stay. Very quiet to sleep...Nice!
We got our memberships cards, and were told if we lost at least $50 in slot play, to come back to the membership counter & they would give us $50 back on our players card. That was nice! I've been to a lot of casinos, and I thought they were a little tight on payouts! But, we did enjoy paying the slots on both floors, and being non-smokers we were pleasantly surprised how clean the air seemed.
The gift shop was loaded with everything, but local Native American jewelry/art for sale, which I like to support. I walked out empty handed.
Ate breakfast in the Tamarack, and it was very good...Waitress was excellent!
Our overall experience was good, and we would stay here again, if in the area!

Room Tip: Way to much light from the hallway came into our room, so we rolled up a towel and placed it on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Good afternoon:

Thank you very much for your review. It sounded as though you enjoyed your stay, which is always nice to hear from our valued guests.

As a friendly reminder, we do have plenty of local Native American jewelry and art for sale at our Bois Forte Heritage Museum.

The Museum is located on-site, so make sure to stop by should you decide to come back for another visit.

Have a great rest of the week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice Labor Day weekend stay at Fortune Bay. The restaurant at the golf course is excellent. I would suggest bringing your own wine and paying the corkage fee. The golf course was in excellent condition. Some of the friendly staff I have ever encountered.

Room Tip: Ask for the golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Good morning Don:

We’re glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our property. I will make sure to pass along your comments to The Wilderness staff.

Thanks for recognizing the fact that their staff comes to work with a smile on their faces and makes sure that all guests have an enjoyable time when they visit The Wilderness, have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were on a trip to Ely so we decided to stop at Fortune Bay Casino and check it out. When we arrived at the casino we were impressed to find that it was so new and modern. When we went into the hotel portion the lobby alone was very beautiful. It had a large stone fireplace in the center that could be functional in winter. The whole ambiance was that of a north woods cabin. The staff was very friendly and informative. They did a great job of explaining to us where everything was and that we should stop and get signed up for their players card first because it might save us money on the hotel room. When we arrived at our room it was very large for a standard room. There was a nice flat screen TV in the room along with free wi-fi access. It had a balcony with a nice view and to me it seemed rather private. The room was very clean and it seemed like nothing was out of place. The hotel room was very quiet and the beds were very comfortable. We woke up very well rested and ready to start our day.

The casino floor was also very nice and clean. We noticed right away as non-smokers that the air was rather fresh. They had air purifier units scattered around on the floor that did a great job of taking care of the smoke smell. We were able to enjoy our gaming and return to our hotel at night and not reek of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Good morning:

Thanks for your extensive review about Fortune Bay Resort Casino and your positive comments about the customer service that you received while you were a guest here.

We are very proud of our lobby area and do use the large fireplace quite extensively during the cooler months. Our snowmobiling groups seem to enjoy that area after a long day of riding their sleds as do our other guests who prefer to sit around the fireplace while enjoying a hot cup of coffee and catching up with their favorite book.

Regarding your comment on the casino, we do our best to minimize the smoke so that our non-smoking gamblers aren’t overly offended by the smoke. We also offer a smoke free area for gamblers who really seem to enjoy that option.

Thanks again for taking the time to review our property, have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

They have alot of rooms here.Our room was good.The pool area is awesome.It has a great view of Lake Vermillion.The restaraunt was good.The casino has alot of games with 2 floors of gambling.Dont forget the arcade.Alot of fun games there and has good prizes.Pretty Good stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortuneBay, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Good morning:

Thanks for your review about our property.

We’re glad that you enjoyed some of the amenities that we have to offer.

Hope to see you again, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortune Bay Resort Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Bay Resort Casino

Address: 1430 Bois Forte Rd., Tower, MN 55790
Location: United States > Minnesota > Tower
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tower
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you enjoy gaming in our exciting casino, relaxing by our pool, fishing on beautiful Lake Vermilion, dining at one of our fine establishments, or playing our championship golf course "The Wilderness." Fortune Bay Resort Casino offers a little something for everyone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fortune Bay Hotel Tower
Fortune Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune Bay Resort Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.