We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pizza is to Die For” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coho Cafe

Coho Cafe
7192 West Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
218-663-8032
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Pizza is to Die For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Every time we stay on the Northshore, this is a scheduled stop. The pizza is just one of the many great items on the menu. We also like the breakfast and for sure the desserts.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    70
    20
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“NIce to have so close and good hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We visited Coho Cafe several times during our stay due to it's later hours and how close it was to our condo. Had breakfast and ordered a pizza. The breakfast was good, pizza ok. We were not in love with the crust as it was very thin, but the toppings of the spicy shrimp were good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend up north”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This might be a good restaurant but we hit it on a bad day evidently. We were coming back to the Twin Cities from our weekend in Lutsen. The Fall leaves were peaked and the scenery was beautiful. We stopped for breakfast at this cafe. It is a cute little restaurant and nicely decorated. It is a bakery/deli and looks very inviting. For a coffee shop I thought the coffee was awful. There was only dark roast and another flavored coffee to choose from, pumpkin spice or caramel or something. The food was okay, not superb. The bad thing was that we waited for 45 minutes for our food. It was a Monday morning about 9:30. Several of the tables around us were experiencing the same thing as I saw four other people go to the counter and ask when their food would be ready. It shouldn't take that long to make an order of french toast. They said they were training someone new. If that was the case the senior cook should have taken over to get the orders out. We wasted part of a vacation day when we wanted to be doing other things sitting and waiting for our food. We would have left due to poor service but you pay first and then sit down so you can't leave since you already paid for your food. We will never go there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The pizza is so good here. Ate here twice recently and both times it was very good. The desserts looked good. Try the garlic cheese bread you won't be sorry!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron River, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Dry, day old bread shouldn't cost $5”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I can only base this review on my experience, which is a bummer. It was terrible. My coffee was fine but for a coffee shop that isn't the best review. I'd rate gas station coffee fine. From my limited palette, it certainly didn't seem fresh ground. Or if it was, it wasn't the right amount of coffee to water or something. It was just bland and watered down. I could look past that, though. What sucked was the loaf of garlic asiago bread we bought for a picnic in the middle of nowhere. It looked fresh. We paid what one would assume was a fresh bread price. It was displayed as fresh. And, this place is a bakery. We drove a solid hour away from civilization. Hiked. Were starving. We cracked open the bread and just about gagged. It was stale. And I don't mean an hour stale. I mean, sitting overnight stale. And dry. And hard. As in, all of the water in the world wasn't helping us get it down. The sad part was we didn't have an alternative. What's even sadder is I had seen some of the plates of food while we were paying for our overpriced bread. It looked like good food. The cafe is cute. It was busy which implies some folks must have been having a good experience. But ours, terrible. Bakeries shouldn't do that. And, bakeries far from civilization/leaving their customers stranded in the woods with inedible bread, well that just ruined our whole day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coho Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coho Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.