We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lake Views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tofte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior
Save
You added Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior to your Saves list
6626 W Hwy 61, Tofte, MN 55615   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in a condo at Chateau LeVeaux for two nights in mid-August. It was in a great location, close to many State Parks where we hiked and viewed some spectacular waterfalls and rivers . The condo was clean and adequate, with a 70's vibe. We had a two bedroom unit with a large balcony that overlooked the lake. We cooked breakfasts and dinners in the condo, which helped keep expenses down. The grounds were nicely kept and there were several fire pits for use. The pool and hot tub were a welcome relief after a full day of hiking. We had a wonderful time exploring the area...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    24
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
22
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Circle Pines, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in August 2012 for two nights in Great Lakes Condo # 3. All the comforts of home with the full kitchen, cooking utensils, etc. We spend most of our time just sitting on the patio watching the Big Lake....It was a bit warm up there that weekend and our unit did not have air (some units do), but the fans helped. The only problem were the flies, they were everwhere but this is not the problem of the resort. Just a way of life sometimes. Even tho the property was apparently full, it was really quiet. Everyone seems to respect the quiet times. There are many fire pits if you want to tip a few watching logs burn. There is a grocery store less than two miles away in Tofte. It really has everything needed if you want to cook rather than driving 25 miles to Grand Marais or pay the cost of dinner at Bluefin Bay (spendy), for the property also has otrdoor grills. We would return if the opportunity arises !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

About 25 miles south of Grand Marais on Hwy 61, we chose this hotel for the specatcular view and was not disappointed. They have stairs leading down to Lake Superior where you can walk along the large rocks and see the waves crash into them. The condo #2 was very well decorated, very cozy with a great view of the lake where you could just sit and stare for hours. The lobby is furnished with videos, books, internet (wifi in room too), and a great observation deck area. My only recommendation to them would be to keep the grounds kept up a little better, i.e. all chairs in good condition, fences mended, exterior as clean and in good order as inside the condo. There are plenty of places to eat up and down Hwy 61 but no restaurants at this lodge. . We had a condo with a full kitchen and did all our own cooking which was what we wanted.

Room Tip: I believe all condos are individually owned so look at the pictures and check the amenities to choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a good time at the Chateau LeVeaux on our four day stay in room 15. I could have given it a higher rating if it hadn't been so noisy. Unfortunately we could hear everything that was going on above us. Maybe some additional insulation between floors or different neighbors would have been helpful . It appears the Chateau caters to dog lovers. There a designated areas for dogs however owners do not always keep them under control. I did not go there to listen to barking dogs.

On the positive side the view of the Lake is incredible. You can walk down to the water from above. Our room was clean and well maintained as was the rest of the area. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Personal experience would say to look for a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent a week at the Chateau LeVeaux and it was the most relaxing week's vacation. Peaceful and quiet. There is always something to see and/or do on the North Shore and the Chateau is close to all of it. The Chateau itself is and always has been very nice. The view of Lake Superior is outstanding! Our room was very nice and just enough room for three people. The kitchen is well equipped. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. Given the opportunity we will most definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Don't need to bring your own beach towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in room #3 and it was not clean to the standard I would expect for the price. The bed was HORRIBLE and sank in the middle. Can we say wake with a backache? There was a huge flat screen and Bose surround sound but I would rather have a comfortable bed. There is no AC our room which I'm sure is usually not a problem but was warm the weekend we were there so we had to leave our window and slider open all the time. This lacked privacy as we were on ground level and lacks safety. On the good side nice to walk down to the rocks by the lake, pool area was nice and it was fairly quiet.

Room Tip: I wonder if some are privately owned and might be nicer than the one we were in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Had a wonderful 3 day stay at Chateau LeVaux. Our room was very nicely decorated, spacious and relaxing. The views of Lake Superior were fantastic and you could walk down to the water. The resort was quiet and had a nice pool, hot tub, and game area. Finally, there was so much to see around the area - we were lucky enough to even spot a wolf. The only complaint was that there wasn't a restaurant on site, but our room did come with a fully stocked kitchen.

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit No. 1 and it was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior

Address: 6626 W Hwy 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Location: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to all area recreational attractions, Chateau LeVeaux features the most spectacular views of Lake Superior in the area. Condos include woodburning fireplace, fully equipped kitchen, walkout patio or lakeview balcony. Pet friendly/whirlpool units available. Indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and game room all under one roof. Honeymoon, Senior and Group Rates available. "Right in the middle of everything you want to do, and the perfect place to do nothing at all!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Leveaux On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.