We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
7231 W. Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were going to stay in Grand Marias but there were no openings! I called one of the hotels in Grand Marais and asked how much it was a night and it was $120.00. But, since there were no openings at the last minute I called Americinn in Tofte and for even less than that we got a jacuzzi suite! Excellent service plus a hot breakfast! I'm so glad we called!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngmTofte, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Have you heard about our frequent stayers program, Easy Rewards? Be sure to check it out! You can earn points when you stay at any Americinn and they can then be redeemed in the form of a room voucher or cash! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    44
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
51
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We arrived late on a Saturday night. The staff were friendly & helpful. The room was clean and spacious. The room was at just the right temperature. The kids enjoyed the pool & game room. The only thing missing was a water slide which only a handful of Americinn's have. The front lounge of the hotel is huge with a fireplace, moose head and bear skin - lots of seating ( both to relax & eat). The selection of tv channels was a bit disappointing, it could be I wasn't using it right. I also found the wifi connection a little iffy. Breakfast was great. All in all, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tofte is my favorite place to stay when visiting the North Shore of Lake Superior. Great location with regard to parks, trails and all kinds of outdoor activities. Tofte is very small -- doesn't really feel like a "town" -- but there are good places to eat, get gas and a few shops nearby. The hotel staff is always friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is great. The pool and hottub are great amenities. I have stayed here two or three times and have never been disappointed. In June 2012 I stayed for three days during the week and got a great rate -- $67/night, if I remember correctly. Highly recommended! (If you stay, be sure to visit the little town park on the lake shore behind the fire station!)

Room Tip: I like the upstairs rooms. Rooms on the south end are close to a "side" entrance to the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great staff and facility! Will return again. I have stayed here before and nothing changes always clean and well staffed. Located right in the middle of the North Shore and plenty of ammentities just blocks away

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were impressed with how hard all of the staff work to keep Americinn -Tofte clean and welcoming for travelers. They display a real can-do helpful attitude! Thank you.

Note to Travelers: There is no elevator in this facility which means getting your things up to the second floor can be a bit challenging.

Note to Management: The poor internet service is very frustrating, especially when cell phone coverage in the area is spotty at best. Please improve the quality of your facial and bathroom tissue...it feels like sandpaper.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I found the AmericInn at Tofte MN to be a good value. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. We even had an in room hot tub which was romantic. It was a nice location if you are interested hiking the trails along Lake Superior. My only complaint is that the "high speed" Internet access was not very high speed, although it was free. I don't know what it would take to improve the speed for Internet access, but it would be nice if they could. We wanted to use the computer to do some research on trails and local entertainment, but gave up because it was taking far too long. I also appreciated the complimentary breakfast. It's nothing fancy, just juice, cereal, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, Belgian waffles that you make, bagels, pastries, milk, coffee, and even yogurt. Again, nothing fancy, but it did save us some money and time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I didn't have high expectations for the AmericInn in Tofte, MN. I figured chain hotel, budget price point, just looking for a place to sleep.

I was pleasantly surprised to find out the hotel staff to be extremely welcoming with a great sense of humor. The breakfast was really well stocked with a wide variety of foods considering it was of the free variety. Eggs, biscuits and gravy, bacon, waffles, cereal, muffins, English muffins, bagels, coffee, juice, milk, yogurt, granona bars etc etc. Rooms were clean, nice large pool, hot tub, sauna.

If you are someone who survives on lots of tv channels and RELIABLE high speed internet then you'd be better off looking elsewhere. You have about ten channels to choose from and the internet while being free was extremely unreliable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior

Address: 7231 W. Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Location: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AmericInn Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Tofte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.