We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7231 W. Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Minnesota
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

A two night stay at the Tofte AmericInn was a very pleasant experience. Great staff. Very clean rooms. Will stay again when in this area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    46
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
55
43
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Tofte, Minnesota is a beautiful little town that sits on Lake Superior about 80 some miles north of Duluth. Its not a big tourist stop so, although its a great spot to access hiking, kayaking, BWCA, etc, its a quiet spot.
The AmericInn is clean and, for the most part, very friendly place to stay. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable on the area and its activities. I was checked in by the general manager who was great to work with and she answered all my questions.
I would give this hotel an "excellent" rating if it would break away from corporate and offer some different (but easy) breakfast choices. Even if it was just one dish that is more local flavor, that would be impressive. The usual waffle, bagel, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, biscuit and gravy, and bacon (I think) that comes off of a semi trailer from the Cities is getting old.
Temperance River State Park is about 4 miles south and well worth the visit for a great hike up the river to see the falls and river gorge.
The BWCA ranger station is almost next door to the AmericInn so if you're heading in to do some hiking or canoeing, that's the place you have to go.

Room Tip: Sign up for the free AmericInn rewards program and you get upgraded if rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

It has been a few years since we have been to this American Inn. We had a nice quite time, went to visit our favorite stores in the area. The room, pool and staff were all nice. The only bad thing i found we the wireless less connection was very slow and not reliable. Lets face it whos goes to the north shore to stay on there computer? Okay sometimes life needs to keep going.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Basic roadside lodging in a great location for a quick overnight before heading into the BWCA. Or, a good base camp for visiting the state parks. Hotel itself is basic. Basic rooms (but clean), basic breakfast, basic pool. Kids love it. No cell service in our wing, and spotty in the lobby and parking lot - but that's Tofte. The computer in the lobby is almost comically old and slow - a 56k modem, I think, and Office 97(?). But hopefully, you're not coming to the North Shore for it's technology. All-in-all a decent value in a good location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised at how well this hotel has been maintained through the years. Last time I visited was about ten years ago though I frequent Americinns both in Minnesota and Wisconsin. The lobby was warm and cozy and it seems they updated the paint colors. The hotel staff esoecially the man in charge was top notch clean. He made sure breakfast tables were cleaned up and he was friendly as well. We were welcomed on our late arrival with a "Boy, am I gladbto see you!". Checkin was fast and courteous! The pool is beautifully kept and a pleasure to see the grandkids swimming in such a pleasant environment. Only downfall was it was hard to connect with cell phone service and the lobby computer could be updated! Will I return? Absolutely! Thanks Americinn for another great stay and good value!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here with my parents and my kids and had a great time! They have adjoining rooms on the second floor which was really nice. I think there is only one set of adjoining rooms on the second floor so keep that in mind. We loved the lobby, decor and they have a lovely breakfast in the morning. There are not that many restaurant choices in Tofte but the Coho Cafe is excellent and had wonderful wait staff! Great stay and will be back again!

Room Tip: one set of adjoining rooms on second floor, not many restaurant choices so keep that in mind...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Good hotel for short stays with family. Indoor pool was great and lobby is spacious. About 7 miles from Lutsen Mountain for skiing and an easy drive. Bluefin Bay resort is across the street and the restaurant was a little pricey but the food was excellent.

Included breakfast was bare bones at best - ran out of waffle batter one day and donuts the next. The hotel was packed but they knew that in advance and hopefully can plan better next time.

King Jacuzzi Suite is not a suite but a large room with a jacuzzi - deceptive label as I usually think of a suite having a separate bedroom. Another lesson to ask first.

Minor irritant: TomTom location is about one mile south

Staff was freindly and responsive - I will stay again when in the neighborhood

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior

Address: 7231 W. Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Location: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, AmericInn Hotels, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Tofte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.