We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for business travel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior to your Saves list
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7192 W Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Mn
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not good for business travel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you book with a group and the place isn't full you'd think that the resort would make some effort to find a room near the rest of the group for a woman traveling alone. Especially if it is 0 degrees outside. Instead I was stuck with the most remote room (although there were rooms closer to the group available) with terrible cell coverage and not great wifi access. The rest of my group was a very icy walk away. And while I specifically asked about swimming pool/fitness center access, they still booked my room far from amenities.

Also when I checked in the woman was very rude about the fact that I didn't have a car for their forms. Despite the fact that I walked in with 3 other adults and had booked under the name of the company, she didn't quite get that I had traveled with a group for work. Again that might have been an indicator that I was *not* interested in the most remote room available.

I had booked a hillside room, which was fine. No view. Again very icy walk to the room. Would have happily paid for an upgrade to be near the rest of the group. (Mind I paid the same amount they did for their rooms.)

Despite happy memories of coming here on vacation with my husband years ago, I will not be coming back to a tourism destination that so poorly calls room assignments.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsideGM, General Manager at Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are very sorry that this guest was located apart from others in her group. A group coordinator from this organization reserved a block of rooms in advance that included all of the Hillside Guest Rooms available at that time; and then instructed each group member to individually reserve a room from this room block. The group coordinator later canceled some rooms that were not needed. No one on their side or ours thought to move individual reservations around in order to assure that the rooms they kept were located more closely together. Improvements in cell and wifi service are coming soon. Our wifi system will be replaced in April and a new cell tower is being built in our community this May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    100
    31
    18
    12
See reviews for
77
192
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hugo, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We love the North Shore and visit at least twice a year. We got engaged up there, married up there, and even had our "babymoon" up there! We decided to go up for a vacation Valentine's week (M-F) with our 6 month old twins. We usually stay at Larsmont Cottages, but decided to give Bluefin a shot because we love the location.

We rented a Superior One Bedroom Condo (49A) and were very disappointed. The unit had a beautiful view of the lake, but that was about all that impressed us. It was dirty. There was rice on the carpet, so my husband grabbed the cheap little push vaccum out of the closet and vaccummed the carpet. Then I was cooking dinner in the kitchen and discovered that the dishwasher was full of clean dishes, so I put the dishes away. We go on vacation to relax, not clean up after the previous guests. The heat lamp was falling down in the bathroom and there was a layer of dust on everything (before we used the fireplace). The kitchen was well stocked with utensils, but some of the stuff needed to be updated. The frying pan had a lot of the coating scraped off and everything stuck to it. The bed and bedroom was tiny as well. Enough room for the bed and that was about it!

I think the property has potential, there was not a shortage of activities. The room service from Bluefin Grille was delicious (Filet), the breakfast and coffee from Coho was good, and the staff was friendly. The place needs some serious TLC though. Although you really couldnt ask for a better location, I think we'll keep staying at Larsmont and make the drive north from there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsideGM, General Manager at Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the poor work done by our housekeeping department before this guest arrived. We strive to do much better. 79% of guests over the past year gave us an "excellent" rating on the cleanliness of their accommodations. Another 19% rated cleanliness as "good". However that does not matter to the 2% who, like these guests, found our cleaning substandard. We continue to try to improve our training and quality control methods in order to eliminate disappointing guest experiences. We have contacted these guests privately in order to make appropriate accommodations to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just spent 9 days at Bluefin Bay. Everything was wonderful from the helpful staff to the clean comfortable room to the friendly bar tenders! We ate at both restaurants for breakfast and dinner and had great service. The pool and hot tub areas were clean and relaxing. Although we were there to snowmobile, they do offer many other options - ice sckating, bonfires with smores, snowshoes and shuttles to the ski hill. All in all it was a wonderful place to stay and a great value for the money! We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked a two night mid-week stay at Bluefin Bay and the experience exceeded our expectations. The staff are exceptional, the room was modern and spotless, the lake view was incredible, and the shuttle to Lutsen was prompt and never missed a beat. The dinner options at the on-sight restaurant were priced accordingly and delicious. Definitely consider Bluefin Bay if you find yourself in the area, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Bluefin is a place where I always wanted to stay but drove by many times during trips to the North Shore. My wife and I and our two kiddos 11 and 13 decided to give it a shot, and it was a great decision! From the staff to the room, it was all a blast! The only down side was breakfast in the Bluefin Grill, the omelet was tiny and it had no sides with it...But that was the ONLY thing I was disappointed in! Will do it again no doubt!

Room Tip: They are all good, they overlook Lake Superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We checked into our room and it did not look any thing like the picture that they had posted on line. We went to the front desk and they were very helpful but could not move us until the next day to the room that we thought we had booked in the first place. No problem this was our wedding anniversary trip, we can wait the room we had was nice just not what we thought we had booked. We go to diner to the Bluefin Grille only to find they have changed the menu and it's not for the better. We have eaten there many times in the past and this was a major disappointment. No choice of any kind of a steak, no ribs, just gross chicken with this gross sauce and horrible meat balls. One thing we liked about staying there was you had a wonderful restaurant and room with wonderful views of the lake, out door hot tub and an pool all there for you. We go to the the out door hot tub after a very disappointing meal only to find it full of parting young folk, and I mean full, we felt very, very comfortable, wondered where any staff was to over see this and left. With all that being said, we will not be back any time soon to either the lodge or the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsideGM, General Manager at Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We changed our menu last summer to feature the Scandinavian culinary traditions of our area. Some guests loved it and some did not, so late last fall we surveyed 2,000 of our regular guests to see what kinds of food they wanted us to offer. We introduced a new menu March 1 based on the feedback we received from this survey. Though it still includes some Scandinavian influenced items, it now offers a much broader array of food choices. We hope these guests do have a chance to check out the new menu, because we think it will be much more to their liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife, son and I stayed in room #31 last weekend for 3 days and loved it!!That unit like ll others we stayed in in the past was kept up very nice and has a perfect view of the lake.It was a nice and relaxing trip and a great place to stay if, like myself,a person goes up there to go skiing at Lutsen and has other people in thier party staying behind just to relax. The 1 bedroom we stayed at was nice and cozy, meanwhile our 20 month old son just loved running around the room and checking everthing out like any toddler his age.been up to the north shore many times and this place is a safe bet you will have a nice time.The stay 2 nights get one free is a real motivater also this time of year!!

Room Tip: Request a room with lake view if staying in one of thier hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior

Address: 7192 W Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior is unmatched in its intimate proximity to the largest freshwater lake in the world – Lake Superior. The stunning views, warm and friendly hospitality, award-winning restaurants, and a full-service resort with complimentary outdoor equipment and activities are the hallmarks of Bluefin Bay. Choose from hotel suites, or one, two or three bedroom condos on the lake. Our restaurants, the Bluefin Grille and Coho Café and Bakery also overlook the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluefin Bay On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte
Bluefin Bay Hotel
Bluefin Bay Tofte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.