We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sand Lake Resort
Save
You added Sand Lake Resort to your Saves list
94154 Couny Hwy 61, Sturgeon Lake, MN 55783   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Barry and his Wife are perfect example of great customer service and a great resort. A month ago, I rented a pontoon however 1 1/2 hr on the lake the boat would not start. Things like this do happen and Barry was very accommodating. Not only did he refund the cost of the boat, he gave me another day to use a different pontoon. Their site is always clean and they treat my friends and family with care. We just used our second trip and had a fantastic time and it was highly memorable. Thank you Barry, you guys rock!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnum, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Thank You Sand Lake Resort for working with Marketplace Foods. It is nice to see local businesses working together to put the customers #1 and have great experiences making memories. They allow us to deliver groceries right to the cabin so everything is set up with no worries. What a way to go! Thanks Again... Chris Fitzsimmons Online Shopping Manager at Marketplace Foods.

Room Tip: I have seen most of the cabins, and they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a wonderful time on our family vacation to Sand Lake Resort this year. We rented the Eagles Nest cabin for a week. The cabin was the perfect size for our large family. The caretaker (and family) was very nice and accommodated us in any way he could. We went and bothered him for more blankets and pillows around 930PM one of the nights and he was more than happy to get them for us (he even brought them over to our cabin himself). We also took the pontoon out one day and it was really fun. We will keep Sand Lake Resort in mind when we plan our next family vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitMgt, Manager at Sand Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We enjoyed meeting you and your family and would love to have you stay with us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a really good time here even though the weather was not perfect. If you like fishing, quite place on a lake, sandy beach, than you will like it here. There were 2 nice play grounds for kids, water toys for kids, boats, pantoons, etc. The manager checked on us if we needed anything. The closest big grocery store is about 5-7 min drive. We don't have any complains, only great memories!..oh, the game room may need some touching, but still kids liked it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitMgt, Manager at Sand Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are glad you had a good time and hope you will come back again! Look for a bigger and better game room if you come to stay with us in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloquet, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The resort and cabins are wonderful but the caretaker guy was pretty rude to us when we knocked on his door at 8pm because our gas grill didn't work. He "scolded" us for not making sure our grill was in working order earlier in the day (I guess we figured that was HIS job to assure things are in working order - turned out the ignitor was bad). Either way, we didn't not allow this negative interaction to ruin our family vacation and continued to have a wonderful time at the resort. We rented two cabins for 3 nights and the pontoon for two half days. It's a beautiful location and the cabins are well kept. We will continue to go back year after year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My daughter and I had a great time at Sand Lake Resort. The owners and their family were so helpful and kind during our stay. Our cabin was spotless and comfortable. Would come back for another vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

What a fantastic time for our first stay for our family vacation! The new patio area by the beach is excellent. Pam and Arnie are very gracious and wonderful as managers! Any request we had was taken care of. Cabins are great, beach is gorgeous, and fishing is good too! Game room is great as we have one child so it was great for him also. Anyone reading this should know it is a fun,relaxing,enjoyable time staying there. We have already booked our cabin for next year!
Thank you Pam and Arnie!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Lake Resort

Address: 94154 Couny Hwy 61, Sturgeon Lake, MN 55783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Sturgeon Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Sturgeon Lake
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Lake Resort…. A Friendly Place…Come and enjoy a nice, relaxing stay at our friendly resort. Our resort is located on the shores of beautiful Sand Lake, in Sturgeon Lake, MN. Just less than two hours North of the Twin Cities and less than an hour away from Magnificent Lake Superior. Our resort offers great fishing, swimming and boating and much more for a great get away! We are affordable and friendly, offering great discounts on week-long stays and boat rentals for our guest and discounts on groups!We have 7 comfortable, clean CABINS that can sleep 3 to 6 people. If you are looking for an original log cabin, Cozy and Windsong Cabins are your choice. If more modern is your flavor, check out Rockwood and Comfy Cabin. Lakeside, Laguna and the new Sandy Beach Cottage offer the best views of the lake from their decks or patios. If you have a larger group or just want a bigger place, we have 4 Lodges that offer great accommodations and can sleep up to 12 people in comfort. Evergreen, Eagles Nest and Sunrise are the newest additions to the resort with new furnishing and amenities.All of our Lodges and Cabins offer the following: Free WiFi Flat Screen TV’s in all cabins and lodges with Direct TV or Cable access DVD players Fresh, clean linens and towels Fully equipped kitchens Many of the Lodges and Cabins are newly furnished Each Lodge and Cabin comes with a private Fire Pit, Picnic Area and most have a private deck! There is a public boat launch located less than 250 yards from our resort! At our resort there is plenty to do for everyone; Rent one of our boats for a day of fishing or boating fun, they come fully gased, with all the safety equipment you need to have a safe, fun day on the water! Use one of our free Peddle Boats, Canoes or Kayaks Swim or just sit out in the sun at our private beach Fish off one of our six private docks Visit our Game Room with a pool table, ping pong and air hockey Play Volleyball in our new sand volleyball court Kids can play at one of the two playgrounds Enjoy Movie Night (see schedule in Game Room) And S’Mores! (complimentary fixin’s for your first night with us)Nearby you will find lots to do; Fish at Sand Lake or any one of the several nearby lakes, all great for fishing! Hike or bike the local Trails including the famous The Willard Munger State Trail, with access less than 20 feet from the Resort! Easy access to Hundreds of miles of ATV trails, right across the highway from our Resort including the Soo Line Trails. Enjoy fine dining at one of our great businesses including; Doc’s, Gampers, Lazy Moose Café and Edy’s Diner. Play Golf at one of three nearby golf courses including Moose Lake Country Club located less than 2 miles away and accessible by boat! Go bowling at Gampers Family Fun Center Or go pick Agates at the nearby quarries. From Fishing Weekends to Family Vacations, from Romantic Weekend Getaways to Large Family Reunions, Sand Lake Resort is the Perfect Place to Stay! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.