We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cover Park Manor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cover Park Manor
15330 58th Street North, Stillwater, MN 55082   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Stillwater
Goodland, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We chose to stay at Cover Park Manor for our 10th anniversary. This is our 9th B&B stay here in the midwest. After reading the other recent reviews on here, I was expecting the worst, but was pleasantly surprised. We spent 3 nights in the Adell Suite. A very nice, spacious 3 room suite with a large private balcony. The fireplace is in the bedroom and lent a cozy atmosphere. The bedroom itself was very large with a big, comfortable king size bed, chair, loveseat, desk and armoire with small tv and cable. The sitting room had a full size couch, chair, large coffee table, buffet with microwave, refrigerator and bar sink, plus a side table with extendable leaf and 2 chairs. We found plenty of sitting room and plenty of space to enjoy our breakfasts. The double whirlpool is in a sunken window-lined room with the toilet behind a half-wall. The skylights throughout the rooms always brought in nice sunshine. We were able to do an early check-in and found our wine and cheese tray a very nice amenity - I counted 8 different veggies, 5 cheeses, 2 varieties of crackers and 2 varieties of grapes on there. Breakfasts were well prepared and very filling - coffee, orange juice, fruit cups, dessert, main entree and 1-2 side dishes every morning. I always enjoy eating a family style breakfast and meeting the other guests, but having breakfast catered to our room was a nice change of pace - we were able to sleep in and eat in our jammies. Our room was clean and fresh smelling and we had room service every day that emptied the trashes and replaced any towels that were needed. The only thing I could find lacking was the dusting - there was visible dust on the top of the mirror and the tops of the window valences. The decor, you could tell, was done in the early 90's, but that's a matter of personal taste; everything was in good repair and good condition. The landscaping was in need of some pruning - but to me looked like any other fall garden. So, I'm not sure why all the negative reviews, we really enjoyed our room & our stay! This B&B, while not as fancy as some others we've stayed in, was on par with other small country B&B's we've visited here in the mid-west. And although I only saw the owner once, she was a very likable, charming lady.

Room Tip: Adell Suite is the largest with the most sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    0
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Branch, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our fifteen year anniversary and first time "getting away" from the usual (kids, jobs, etc.)... I wish that we would have done more research! (This was our first B&B experience) When walking up to and entering the house, if we would not have been liable for the full price of the weekend, we would have turned around never to return.

Although the breakfast part of the "B & B" was tasty - coffee was served at 8:00 and breakfast at 9:00.- for early risers this made a late start to the day.

The Michael E. room as a whole, was lacking - in need of a good dusting, all and out cleaning (I wrote "Hi" on the sink in the cleaner residue) and a face lift. The third level which we were so excited about looked like it had been an afterthought - just ill kept and sad. Although I can appreciate the time and $$$ that it takes to redesign such things, and not knowing what the back story is on the owner/operators - perhaps this cannot able to be done, but then PLEASE "re-fresh" the photos so that those wishing to stay there would be able to decide whether or not to save or spend their hard earned dollars.

The gardens were completely unkempt, and the landscaping broken, slanted, and not cared for.
I am thankful that my hubby and I are able to find humor in all of this, have learned from our mistake and were still able to experience the joy in just being together - next time, we will do more research and spend our money and time in a more relaxing less "haunted house from the '80's" feel B&B.
P.S. In the Michael E. room you will have a nice view of a run down ice rink and park. In driving to and from you will clearly see the ambiance and landmarks of the correctional facility, electrical power plant and water treatment plant. Unfortunately, we did not get any tours ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Could be charming. Quaint. But the photos on the Internet are misleading. It doesn't look like that anymore. Gardens overgrown and desperately need weeding, paint peeling, a thick layer of dust and grime on most things. Furniture in disrepair.

Our room was darling: rundown, a bit grimy, but quaint. Went to rest in the sitting room and several wasps dove at us-one getting tangled in my hair. We told owners who downplayed it and did ... nothing. Offered to spray (spray WHAT? Where?? How are they getting IN? But there was little interest in solving our "unwanted-guest" issue.

After killing wasp after wasp, we sprawled on the bed for a rest and <sniff> the sheets smelled of mildew. Argh.

More wasp battle, then the wasp colony sent Goliath - seriously, almost 2 inches long.

We had to leave.

And initially, they wanted to keep our money. But they said they'd try to sell it to another couple.

NOT good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We just returned from a one-night say in the Michael E. Suite. While it was nice to have a private hot-tub room on the 3rd floor, it was awkward to carry our breakfast tray to the 3rd floor as it was the only place with a small table & chairs to sit down and eat. Breakfast was delivered to the rooms; it was good and arrived on time. The wine, cheese and grapes upon arrival was a nice touch. The room looked like it may have been decorated 15-20 years ago with old magazine pages in cheap frames on the walls. There must have been about 14 pictures on the walls with this old car theme - very dated and didn't seem to match the decor of darker wallpaper. The shower was old enough that it was yellowing and the bathroom wallpaper had some spots/nicks. All in all, not impressive. The bed was comfortable, but the room is over-priced for what you get. Another downside is that the gift certificate was not allowed to be booked in September or October without a 2 night stay. This exception was not stated anywhere on the certificate and I only found out about this when I called to reserve an autumn Friday night. It was then I was told it must be for two nights and I wasn't going to pay for one night extra. Very disappointed in this and will not return to this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson, Manitoba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just returned home from a 2 night stay at the Cover Park Manor. This was a wonderful experience and it was nice to be away from all the hustle and bustle of downdown Stillwater. We had the Adele room which was delightfully decorated in a quaint country manner. This large suite has a large bedroom with skylights and a private balcony that was perfect for breakfast every morning. We had our own private sitting room complete with microwave and fridge. When we arrived fresh vegetables/fruit snacks and sparkling drinks were provided for us. The large jacuzzi tub in the bathroom was also naturally lit by skylights and was very clean and relaxing. We were treated to a delicious hot breakfast delivered to our door every morning. The privacy we were given was so wonderful. A short drive to downdown Stillwater gets you to everything you could ever wish to see. It was too hot outside to appreciate the nearby park and walking trails but they looked very inviting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We just returned from Cover Park Manor in Stillwater. The Inn is in desperate need of some TLC. My husband and I were really disappointed in the condition of our room. We really hope they are planning on updating the Inn and freshening things up. The saving grace was the wine and cheese/fruit on arrival and the breakfast was amazing! If they fix this place up it could be one of the best in Stillwater!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had a nice stay. Really enjoyed the breakfast and were happy to find a walk out deck which was very nice!! The owners continue with improvements and hopefully we will return for another stay. This time in the Michael room.

Room Tip: Try the Michael room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cover Park Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cover Park Manor

Address: 15330 58th Street North, Stillwater, MN 55082
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cover Park Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cover Park Manor to your Saves list