We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cover Park Manor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cover Park Manor
Save Saved
You added Cover Park Manor to your Saves list
15330 58th Street North, Stillwater, MN 55082   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Stillwater
North Branch, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our fifteen year anniversary and first time "getting away" from the usual (kids, jobs, etc.)... I wish that we would have done more research! (This was our first B&B experience) When walking up to and entering the house, if we would not have been liable for the full price of the weekend, we would have turned around never to return.

Although the breakfast part of the "B & B" was tasty - coffee was served at 8:00 and breakfast at 9:00.- for early risers this made a late start to the day.

The Michael E. room as a whole, was lacking - in need of a good dusting, all and out cleaning (I wrote "Hi" on the sink in the cleaner residue) and a face lift. The third level which we were so excited about looked like it had been an afterthought - just ill kept and sad. Although I can appreciate the time and $$$ that it takes to redesign such things, and not knowing what the back story is on the owner/operators - perhaps this cannot able to be done, but then PLEASE "re-fresh" the photos so that those wishing to stay there would be able to decide whether or not to save or spend their hard earned dollars.

The gardens were completely unkempt, and the landscaping broken, slanted, and not cared for.
I am thankful that my hubby and I are able to find humor in all of this, have learned from our mistake and were still able to experience the joy in just being together - next time, we will do more research and spend our money and time in a more relaxing less "haunted house from the '80's" feel B&B.
P.S. In the Michael E. room you will have a nice view of a run down ice rink and park. In driving to and from you will clearly see the ambiance and landmarks of the correctional facility, electrical power plant and water treatment plant. Unfortunately, we did not get any tours ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Could be charming. Quaint. But the photos on the Internet are misleading. It doesn't look like that anymore. Gardens overgrown and desperately need weeding, paint peeling, a thick layer of dust and grime on most things. Furniture in disrepair.

Our room was darling: rundown, a bit grimy, but quaint. Went to rest in the sitting room and several wasps dove at us-one getting tangled in my hair. We told owners who downplayed it and did ... nothing. Offered to spray (spray WHAT? Where?? How are they getting IN? But there was little interest in solving our "unwanted-guest" issue.

After killing wasp after wasp, we sprawled on the bed for a rest and <sniff> the sheets smelled of mildew. Argh.

More wasp battle, then the wasp colony sent Goliath - seriously, almost 2 inches long.

We had to leave.

And initially, they wanted to keep our money. But they said they'd try to sell it to another couple.

NOT good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We just returned from a one-night say in the Michael E. Suite. While it was nice to have a private hot-tub room on the 3rd floor, it was awkward to carry our breakfast tray to the 3rd floor as it was the only place with a small table & chairs to sit down and eat. Breakfast was delivered to the rooms; it was good and arrived on time. The wine, cheese and grapes upon arrival was a nice touch. The room looked like it may have been decorated 15-20 years ago with old magazine pages in cheap frames on the walls. There must have been about 14 pictures on the walls with this old car theme - very dated and didn't seem to match the decor of darker wallpaper. The shower was old enough that it was yellowing and the bathroom wallpaper had some spots/nicks. All in all, not impressive. The bed was comfortable, but the room is over-priced for what you get. Another downside is that the gift certificate was not allowed to be booked in September or October without a 2 night stay. This exception was not stated anywhere on the certificate and I only found out about this when I called to reserve an autumn Friday night. It was then I was told it must be for two nights and I wasn't going to pay for one night extra. Very disappointed in this and will not return to this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson, Manitoba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just returned home from a 2 night stay at the Cover Park Manor. This was a wonderful experience and it was nice to be away from all the hustle and bustle of downdown Stillwater. We had the Adele room which was delightfully decorated in a quaint country manner. This large suite has a large bedroom with skylights and a private balcony that was perfect for breakfast every morning. We had our own private sitting room complete with microwave and fridge. When we arrived fresh vegetables/fruit snacks and sparkling drinks were provided for us. The large jacuzzi tub in the bathroom was also naturally lit by skylights and was very clean and relaxing. We were treated to a delicious hot breakfast delivered to our door every morning. The privacy we were given was so wonderful. A short drive to downdown Stillwater gets you to everything you could ever wish to see. It was too hot outside to appreciate the nearby park and walking trails but they looked very inviting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We just returned from Cover Park Manor in Stillwater. The Inn is in desperate need of some TLC. My husband and I were really disappointed in the condition of our room. We really hope they are planning on updating the Inn and freshening things up. The saving grace was the wine and cheese/fruit on arrival and the breakfast was amazing! If they fix this place up it could be one of the best in Stillwater!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had a nice stay. Really enjoyed the breakfast and were happy to find a walk out deck which was very nice!! The owners continue with improvements and hopefully we will return for another stay. This time in the Michael room.

Room Tip: Try the Michael room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Prague, Minnesota
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We planned our stay to the Cover Park Manor for our anniversary. When we arrived at the manor both our mouths dropped open and my heart sank. It looked like a dilapidated old house attached to a brand new family home. The lawn was way over grown and riddled with dandelions. Not at all what I expected, nor what the web site conveyed. No wonder there isn't a "real" picture of the home anywhere on the website. As we arrived the innkeeper, who was very friendly and helpful, pointed us toward the main entrance to check in. As we rounded to the front entrance we were welcomed by the crumbling front steps. Oh boy I thought here we go! Don't judge the book by It's cover maybe it will get better as we get inside. Boy was I wrong. The smell OMG we are at grandma's house, musty smell and all. The main floor looks like when you go to visit your grandma's. Stuffed animals, new mixed with old, personal pictures of grand children but at least on this floor there was living plants. We were brought to the second level of the home to the top of the stairs where we entered the Michael E Suite. The Innkeeper showed us around pointing here and there as to where things were located. When she left the room we went to shut the door behind her and it wouldn't close, the hinge was coming away from the door frame, so you had to physically pick up the door in order to close it. I looked at my husband and started to cry. I felt dooped. The room was dirty. There were cobwebs everywhere, dust on everything, the windows were cracked and also very dirty. There were stains on the walls that I couldn't tell if it was mold or just dirt. The bathroom was dark and also dusty with an unidentifiable stain on the wall by the toilet. There was a little fridge located inside an old cabinet, the inside of the fridge was cracked and dirty also. On to the bedroom. The only nice things in here was the King size bed, the fireplace and the out dated television. The décor was of old car ads in cheap plastic frames on the walls everywhere! When you round the bed and head up the little stair case to the third floor, We thought "OK if the whirlpool is good we can have some cocktails and really forget about where we are at. The top floor... big sigh... Plastic plants everywhere covered in dust and a half filled 10 gallon aquarium with little fish I guess I was expected to feed. We just left 2 dogs 3 cats, a lizard and a goldfish behind to have a little R&R! Poor things they can't help it, but we were reminded they were there all night by listing to the filter pour water into the tank all night, every night. Along with the warm glow of the cheap Christmas lights on the cheap plastic fichus tree. The whirlpool -oh- the whirlpool, it was broke! Oh yeah it did blow a little, but it was clearly in need of some repair or a filter cleaning, because all it did was tickle my leg. What a huge disappointment. The whole 3 days we were there we were never offered a freshening up of the room or towels. It wasn't all bad though, the food was delicious. Homemade and fresh fruit and the little desserts were good too. The walking path is very nice but it states its 2 miles long and that is just not true 1 1/2 miles tops. We have stayed at several other B&B's and this is by far the absolute worst. Please do your research before booking here. Stillwater has many B&B's to offer many of them Beautiful, highly recommended and well worth your hard earned money!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cover Park Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cover Park Manor

Address: 15330 58th Street North, Stillwater, MN 55082
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cover Park Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.