We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph's Family Restaurant

Joseph's Family Restaurant
14608 60th St N, Stillwater, MN 55082-6322
651-439-3336
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 85 Restaurants in Stillwater
Cuisines: Family Fare
Restaurant details
Hudson, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Joseph's is a nice place for breakfast. The servers are very nice and know many of the patrons by name. Wonderful family restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, Owner at Joseph's Family Restaurant, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for taking a minute and writing a review of your visit to Josephs. We try very hard to be the best restaurant in Stillwater. Your review tells us what we are good at and what we can do better. Thanks again for your help and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    7
    12
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Plain food but good pies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Joseph's has the general American fare of food.
Descent size portions but slightly greasy.
Don't care for the fries here.
Very good selection of pies!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, Owner at Joseph's Family Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review on Josephs Family Restaurant. We care about our customers and we appreciate your comments. We will continue to work hard to provide great family food at a reasonable price for your enjoyment. Thanks again for your review. Joe K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Joseph's a Family Restaurant Staple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family loves Joseph's. True, it is not fine dining but they don't pretend to be. What we love about Joseph's is that you can get in and out without a hassle. The food is tasty and the pie is delicous.

On our last visit my children had the Coconut Chicken Tenders. Wow! We'd never ordered them before and they looked so good that I had to swipe a bite. Delicious! I would definitely be interested in ordering that in the future. I had the Vegetable Beef Soup because I wasn't that hungry. It was tasty but a little salty. I remedied the saltiness by adding a little water and it was fine.

We've had their burgers frequently and have never been disappointed. They're very good.

We like to share a piece of pie when we eat at Joseph's. My favorite of late is the new Peanut Butter Pie they've got on the menu. I can't remember the exact name but it is unbelieveably good. Very rich. Yum!

I love Joseph's for what it is: A nice family restaurant that gives good service and good value for an unpretentious meal... And they just happen to have out of this world pie!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Walmart Crowd”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great place to check out Walmart shoppers. Food is below average. Service is average. Atmosphere sucks. Pretty good breakfast everything is average at best.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park Heights
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Joseph's, good food, and the best pies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Joseph's is properly called a family restaurant. No alcohol, friendly to children. Excellent breakfast, pancakes and waffles with whatever trimmings and side dishes, Really a simple place. No fancy steaks, but good meatloaf. No prime rib, but great fried chicken, A truck stop? No. People of every walk of life eat here. Why? The pie. They serve absolutely the best pies in the St Croix River Valley area. And not just your common fruit pies and the usual cream this or that pie.Every year they hold a pie contest. Many creations are submitted. An independent panel chooses the winner. It will be on the menu for the next year, or even forever. Any day you have your choice of at least 20 or more pies. For Thanksgiving you better get your order in early. I believe they bake only 1000 pies for pick up! So the problem is picking a lunch or dinner that will leave you with enough room in your tummy for pie, or outstanding cake. Of course you can always share. We go there once a week if possible, for a great simple meal, and you can guess what for dessert!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Joseph's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.