We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nacho Mamas

Nacho Mamas
312 S. Main St., Stillwater, MN 55082
651-439-9544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 85 Restaurants in Stillwater
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Restaurant details
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had lunch here--it's a pretty typical Minnesotan Mexican place, meaning it's pretty Americanized. However, I happen to like this kind of food and loved the crispy enchiladas. The portions are huge; two could easily split an entree. I should add that they had some other, more creative items on the menu, but we were just there for lunch and wanted to keep an eye on the budget. I was not impressed with the chips; they seemed stale and were pretty broken up. The salsa seemed to be house-made and was very good. The service was friendly and fast. I'd certainly go back if I were craving Mexican!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    42
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great little patio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Located right downtown in Stillwater, Nacho Mama's is the perfect spot to meet friends and share a pitcher of margaritas and a huge platter of tasty nachos!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Slow to seat, but worth the wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Very fun place. A long wait with a tiny little waiting area. Very good Mexican food. Good salsa! I like it spicy and it was good. Not over the top though. Not a huge selection of drinks to choose from. Go for the food. And the fun! Great for a group of lively friends!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Margaritas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

For our first experience at this restaurant we sat outdoors. We just stopped for a rest during afternoon shopping so just had margaritas, chips and salsa. Homemade salsa (it appeared to be) was very good, margarita was fabulous, and we enjoyed the nice weather off the main street without lots of noisy traffic. I'd love to order a meal some time as all the trays that went past our table looked and smelled wonderful. I'd definitely go back here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hair and a fly in our food - stay away at all costs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Four of us went to what appears to be a cute little Mexican restaurant. We sat on the back patio with the most obnoxious music blaring. One of us had a dead fly in her salad, then two of us had hair in our meals. We sent the food back, plus my drink that I had two sips from, because I was disgusted with hair and fly. The cook came out and gave us a hard time which is totally not professional. We received our bill and they charged us for 1/2 of my margarita. I asked to see the manager, and when she came out, she told me I was paying for 1/2 the drink. I refused and told me she was going to call the police on me. We ending up paying for the drink, but their lack of professionalism and customer service, plus unsanitary food handling, convinced me to write this review and recommend that you avoid this restaurant and run for the hills!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nacho Mamas also viewed

 
Stillwater, MN
Stillwater, MN
 

Been to Nacho Mamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nacho Mamas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.