We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of William Sauntry Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
William Sauntry Mansion
Save
You added William Sauntry Mansion to your Saves list
626 North Fourth Street, Stillwater, MN 55082   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Pleasant, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was my first stay at a B&B and I was beyond impressed....the owners were very friendly and conversed with us at breakfast, close to downtown, was very comfortable there, breakfast was wonderful !!! Awesome place to stay !! Will hopefully return again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anggirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Fort Madison, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Took my girlfriend for her first B&B experience. Nice place. Bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was a great start to the day. My girlfriend loved her first stay at a B&B. And they are close to the downtown area. Thanks for a great weekend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The home is stunning, and the service was perfect! We had breakfast delivered to our room, and that privacy was lovely (also the best scones I've ever had). The room was cozy and the steam shower delightful. Not walking distance to town, but a short drive. The drink and snack reception in the evening was a great touch. A little on the pricey side for the area, but worth it for the overall experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NellyBird80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I are frequent visitors of Stillwater. We come to Stillwater a few times a year. We have visited every bed and breakfast in Stillwater and William Sauntry is by far our favorite. We love the location, close to downtown, yet quiet. We love the innkeepers who are very welcoming and ready to answer any questions we have. Tom and Sandy have a way of being present, but also giving us privacy. The breakfasts are delicious, the beds are so comfortable and the inn is really quite stunning. The mansion has the story about the original owners that is also very interesting (alot of history) William Sauntry is our home away from home and we look forward to each visit. It is our time to really relax and unwind. It is hard to leave. Our plan is to someday retire in Stillwater and then we won't have to say goodbye anymore. Until that happens, we are so very thankful that there is William Sauntry to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane and John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a fantastic time; we especially enjoyed the breakfasts. We stayed in the Butler room, which gave us the option of having breakfast in our room. It was our 40th wedding anniversary, and we were making the most of it. The house is beautiful, and very well kept. It was also very peaceful and quiet. We are looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: We loved staying in the Butler room, but all the rooms are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mschultz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We found the Inn sumptuous in its 1800's style. It's a real step back into history and decor. Our hosts were welcoming and more than friendly. A wine and cheese hour in the later afternoon allowed us to meet some of our fellow "Inn-mates" and was a relaxing intro to the property. Breakfast was fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were given a gift certificate for this B&B as a wedding gift, so we took a mini vacation to Stillwater. The house is beautiful and we were treated very well. Tom and Sandy are wonderful hosts. We especially enjoyed the breakfasts where we got to visit to with the other guests and hear a bit of history of the town from Tom. Our room was clean and comfortable, loved the jacuzzi tub! We will definitely be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: I don't think that you could have a bad room, we had the Beltram, with the whirlpool tub in a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarneson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
Water Street Inn
#5 of 7 in Stillwater
3.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William Sauntry Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Sauntry Mansion

Address: 626 North Fourth Street, Stillwater, MN 55082
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fanciest and most authentic inn in Stillwater. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
William Sauntry Mansion Hotel Stillwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing