We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of William Sauntry Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
William Sauntry Mansion
626 North Fourth Street, Stillwater, MN 55082   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Mount Pleasant, Iowa
2 reviews
“Amazing Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was my first stay at a B&B and I was beyond impressed....the owners were very friendly and conversed with us at breakfast, close to downtown, was very comfortable there, breakfast was wonderful !!! Awesome place to stay !! Will hopefully return again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    7
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
131
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Madison, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Took my girlfriend for her first B&B experience. Nice place. Bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was a great start to the day. My girlfriend loved her first stay at a B&B. And they are close to the downtown area. Thanks for a great weekend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

The home is stunning, and the service was perfect! We had breakfast delivered to our room, and that privacy was lovely (also the best scones I've ever had). The room was cozy and the steam shower delightful. Not walking distance to town, but a short drive. The drink and snack reception in the evening was a great touch. A little on the pricey side for the area, but worth it for the overall experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I are frequent visitors of Stillwater. We come to Stillwater a few times a year. We have visited every bed and breakfast in Stillwater and William Sauntry is by far our favorite. We love the location, close to downtown, yet quiet. We love the innkeepers who are very welcoming and ready to answer any questions we have. Tom and Sandy have a way of being present, but also giving us privacy. The breakfasts are delicious, the beds are so comfortable and the inn is really quite stunning. The mansion has the story about the original owners that is also very interesting (alot of history) William Sauntry is our home away from home and we look forward to each visit. It is our time to really relax and unwind. It is hard to leave. Our plan is to someday retire in Stillwater and then we won't have to say goodbye anymore. Until that happens, we are so very thankful that there is William Sauntry to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a fantastic time; we especially enjoyed the breakfasts. We stayed in the Butler room, which gave us the option of having breakfast in our room. It was our 40th wedding anniversary, and we were making the most of it. The house is beautiful, and very well kept. It was also very peaceful and quiet. We are looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: We loved staying in the Butler room, but all the rooms are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We found the Inn sumptuous in its 1800's style. It's a real step back into history and decor. Our hosts were welcoming and more than friendly. A wine and cheese hour in the later afternoon allowed us to meet some of our fellow "Inn-mates" and was a relaxing intro to the property. Breakfast was fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were given a gift certificate for this B&B as a wedding gift, so we took a mini vacation to Stillwater. The house is beautiful and we were treated very well. Tom and Sandy are wonderful hosts. We especially enjoyed the breakfasts where we got to visit to with the other guests and hear a bit of history of the town from Tom. Our room was clean and comfortable, loved the jacuzzi tub! We will definitely be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: I don't think that you could have a bad room, we had the Beltram, with the whirlpool tub in a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to William Sauntry Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Sauntry Mansion

Address: 626 North Fourth Street, Stillwater, MN 55082
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fanciest and most authentic inn in Stillwater. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
William Sauntry Mansion Hotel Stillwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage William Sauntry Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added William Sauntry Mansion to your Saves list