We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience & super hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Staples Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aurora Staples Inn
Save
You added Aurora Staples Inn to your Saves list
303 North Fourth Street, Stillwater, MN 55082   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent experience & super hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

The place was beautifully decorated for our friend annual Christmas get-together. Kathy was wonderful and Jerry even cleared the snow off our cars! Very homey, relaxing and luxurious. Food was delicious and beautifully served. We sat by the fire and had wine and good fellowship. We opened our gifts by their gorgeously decorated Christmas tree.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Marlys and friends, thank you so much for sharing your Christmas get together with us. We really did miss you the next morning. We wish all of you a wonderful Christmas season, and a happy and healthy new year. Cathy and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
148
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Fantastic hosts in a lovely setting. Cathie and Jerrie were very friendly and offered lots of local information and great restaurant suggestions.The jacuzzi was welcomed after a long drive and breakfast was awesome. The gas fireplace in the room really warmed things up.

Room Tip: All the room choices are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for all the nice things you said about the Inn and we are really happy you had a great stay. Please visit us again if you're able. Cathy and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Aurora Staples Inn is a beautiful haven providing a respite from our busy daily life. We celebrated our 13th wedding anniversary with a 2-night stay. We recommend staying at least 2 nights to try mulitple breakfast menus and to have enough time to explore Stillwater. Give yourself enough time to decompress and relax!! The house and our room were immaculate. We loved the St. Croix Suite, so many amazing antique pieces mixed with modern ammenities in the room. The bed was comfortable and the linens fabulous. As many others write, Cathy the Innkeeper is a gem, a delightful hostess. We took advantage of the cards & games available as well as the books in the room. We especially appreciated the complementary cold bottled water. I loved having hot coffee outside my door in the morning. You will feel safe and well-cared for as a guest at the Aurora Staples Inn. We can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: We liked the St. Croix room because of the large sitting area and separated bath/whirlpool. The dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. They are very helpful to us and to our future guests. We're glad you found some peace here, and thank you for all the wonderful things you said. We hope to see you again. Thank you. Cathy and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our first time at a B&B and I'm so glad we chose Aurora Staples. It was so romantic and extremely close to the Main Street of Stillwater. When staying here, you need to stay in the Riverview Suite. It is absolutely gorgeous and so relaxing! The best part about this room (and what sets it aside from all the others) is the private 4 season porch that's attached to it. We were able to enjoy our wine and hor' devours upon arrival out there, as well as our morning coffee. It truly added a whole other realm of relaxation during our 1 night stay there. The breakfast in the morning was prepared by Cathy herself and it was so delicious. She is a phenomenal cook! We will stay here time and time again. Aurora Staples is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Riverview Suite - hands down the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Amanda and Kurt, we so enjoyed meeting you both and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kindness, and we hope you'll be back again soon. Cathy and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife surprised me with a three day mini-honeymoon in Stillwater at the Aurora Staples Inn. We stayed three nights, had three AMAZING breakfasts and the hosts, Cathy and Jerry, was incredible. We were given a glass of wine and some small appetizers everyday between 4 and 6, coffee or tea brought to your door each morning, and the breakfasts were so delicious and filling that we often skipped lunch and opted for a snack, saving quite a bit of money. We stayed in the Peacock room and it was plenty big, a beautiful jacuzzi tub and private bathroom.

We live in St. Paul and although only 30 minutes away, we felt as though we were in a different and wonderful world. We couldn't have enjoyed ourselves any more and the Aurora Staples Inn was a major part of our good experience. We very much recommend this bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Can't miss on any room. We stayed in the Peacock room which was the smallest and cheapest, but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in the coach house "cottage" in August 2013. We arrived late and Cathy was extremely gracious and friendly. The garden and grounds are wonderful. The town of Stillwater has a bunch of public stairways (like San Fran); one stairway is next to the inn and takes you down to the river. Jerry was a pleasure to talk to, especially about the inn and improvemts made and planned. Great place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Aurora Staples in March 2013 with our entire immediate family, and were married at the inn! It was an amazing experience from start to finish. Cathy was incredibly helpful and consistently went above and beyond our expectations. She was accommodating of my dietary restrictions (vegan), as well as providing kid friendly breakfast options for my husband's 2 1/2 year old niece.

We could not have asked for a better experience or a more perfect wedding! We will definitely be back many times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Erin and Grant, thank you so much for your kindness. We loved hosting your wedding, and will look forward to seeing you again real soon. Blessings on your life together. Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.3 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 8 in Stillwater
3.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites of Stillwater / Minneapolis
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Stillwater/St. Paul
7.6 mi away
Hudson House Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Staples Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Staples Inn

Address: 303 North Fourth Street, Stillwater, MN 55082
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Staples Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.