We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cave Man Happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Rossa

Luna Rossa
402 Main Street South, Stillwater, MN 55082
651-430-0560
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Luna Rossa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 85 Restaurants in Stillwater
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nelson Parkway
Description: In Italy, when you plan a meal for someone you care about, you do many things to prepare. You start with the freshest ingredients of their favorite foods, and then you combine those ingredients with so much affection that you can taste it in every bite. Only the best will do, and here at Luna Rossa Trattoria & Wine Bar, we want you to feel like our family and best friends, and we have been anxiously awaiting your arrival! We hope you feel right at home with us, and like you’ve experienced a little bit of Italy with your best friends and family right here in Stillwater.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Cave Man Happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The company was marvelous. Stillwater is a gem. Luna Rossa was a find. Our friend had a groupon. I was not prepared for the lovely atmosphere. Our waitress was hands down one of the best ever. Attentive, informative, efficient. I had veal piccata. It's the first time I've had a creamy sauce on piccata but it worked. The entire meal was an experience. Even better, after dinner we met the owner and his fiancée. The owner complimented two separate employees in our earshot. He took us on a personal tour of the caves though they don't open for a few days yet. If I lived here I would come back soon and often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    47
    27
    23
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sorry, Not recommended.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

It'd have been a better experience to dine here if chefs can use Italian ingredients better than just salt and pepper, improve the dated tasting palettes with right pricing on menu. We'll try other restaurants in this area next time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Evening. Delicious Food. Exceptional Hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We had the best impromptu day! We stumbled across Raffaele's wine store where we sampled many wines and bought a delicious variety at amazing prices, and then decided to grab dinner at his beautiful restaurant (despite having reservations elsewhere). We made the right choice! Raffaele and Lisa were so welcoming, our visit to the store and dinner at the restaurant made our trip. Thank you for your hospitality and delicious food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere...but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first time to Luna Rosa. My wife had wanted to go here for years since she thought it loke nice.
The restaurant lived up to expectations regarding atmosphere, especially in the back by the cave.
But we both thought the food was plain, bland, and overpriced.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stillwater needs an Italian restaurant with passion for food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Luna Rossa is Ina quaint setting on the south end of Main in Stillwater. We dined here on a Saturday night in early spring. The space was only half full. It seemed to take a while for our waitress to acknowledge our presence. Eventually she saw us and brought a menu and wine card. It should have been a tip- off that the list had 4 white wines for every red! I never saw that ratio before! We played it safe sharing a salad and a wood fired calebrese pizza. I never had a pizza with so little flavor!!! This great space needs a menu and a chef with a passion for food equal to the potential for the great space. I hope it gets it soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Rossa also viewed

 

Been to Luna Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Rossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.