We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian Charm in the center of the town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Water Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Water Street Inn to your Saves list
Water Street Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Water Street South, Stillwater, MN 55082   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Stillwater
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Victorian Charm in the center of the town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

A room on the river side is essential, also one on the upper floor. The balcony is tiny but workable. The Victorian decor was very nice, the room and bed very comfortable. We took advantage of the room by ordering appetizers and drinks from room service to enjoy on the balcony, listening to the music from the bar. I do think that the price is a bit high for what you get but there are very limited choices for a nice place in Stillwater. The other advantage is the location, right downtown Stillwater so you can walk out the door, grab an ice cream cone at the corner 1950's diner and stroll the streets of town. Get a bit more active by renting a boat to cruise the river. Very beautiful town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for your great review! We are very glad you enjoyed our Victorian Charm and everything we have to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    48
    52
    49
    48
See reviews for
27
151
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I am not sorry that we stayed here as we had a great time and the location cannot be beat, but it is expensive for what it offers and could use some upgrading while still maintaining its older charm. The food and entertainment were great, and for the most part, the staff was very accomodating. Again, I am so glad that we stayed there once, but I would stay somewhere else next time, and just enjoy their restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a room facing the river OR make sure that if it doesn't that you are paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thanks for the Nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Water Street Inn has beautiful antique charm. The view of the river is amazing. If you are looking for for lots of amenities this isn't it. It's VERY over priced but charming. It's beautifully decorated but has an OLD oder about it. Our room was fine but there was definitely a smell in parts of the hotel. We we're there 2 nights and it was nearly $600. In my opinion choose another hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you loved the Antique Charm of the property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My daughter had her wedding reception at the Water Street Inn, this place did not disappoint at all. Start to finish everything was perfect. Allison the event coordinator was wonderful. She was available for any questions. The room was perfectly decorated, the food was amazing. We had a suite upstairs and the room was very nice and clean. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a wedding reception and a place to say. Another thank you to the staff and Allison for everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for the Great Review! We are so glad your Wedding was Great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We totally got sold out! My husband and I booked this room on the 4th of July, on the way to Stillwater. We were told that there was one room left. The most exclusive suite on the property. Queen size 4 poster bed and our own " private patio to watch the fireworks over the river". Quoted $409 per night. I said this was more than we wanted to spend so the front desk clerk said..." How much would you be willing to spend?" I replied ... " we'll, under $ 200 for sure". He quoted me $199 for the suite and we booked. My husband and I were so excited!! On our way there we got a call from a woman at their front desk saying they got a call from a man who really wanted a room and would we give up ours if he would pay us extra to give up. We declined as we didn't have another room and were so excited about the fireworks on the patio.
When we arrived and checked in it was the same woman from the front desk who called us. She said she had found this man a room for the evening.
We got the keys to our " exclusive suite" and walked in... No patio overlooking river ... Just a dark depressing room. Can you guess who got our room? The man who paid more. Probably to the manager and not us.
We called down and said we didn't get the room we were promised. Blah blah blah... More lies!
We asked for a refund and to talk to the manager. He wasn't it by surprise to us :(.
We gave my card to the front desk girl to have the manager call us. No call!!!!!
I even sent Facebook message to owner of property. No response! Beware!
We ended up $200 short on our credit card and no room at 7:30 on the Fourth of July weekend!

On a positive note: we ended up at the Holiday Inn Express in Hudson, Wi! A++++ all the way

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

No cold water for the spa tub. I reported it and gave them 5 hr to repair before we returned. They promised they would take care of it. NOTHING was ever done. Who would pay over $200.00 for a room you can not use the tube. This is my second bad experience. Will never stay there again. DONT WASTE YOU HARD EARNED MONEY .

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was the fourth time staying at Water Street over the past couple years. Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING has greatly improved. Big time. Not sure when Carl (manager) took over, but our experiences keep getting better and better and I can't help but think this comes down to the management. Absolutely can not beat the location, step outside the front door and you're right in the mix of the downtown with all the cute shops, fab restaurants and such. Step out the back door and the riverfront, park and any festival/show going on is taking place right at your feet. Once you park in the Inn's free parking lot, you never have to leave. We don't eat full meals at the pub or restaurant (we have our faves on the main drag) but you should be staying at this Inn just for the location and extremely helpful staff. Again, I must bring this back to management because every single staff person we talked with was so nice, professional and helpful. We've also stayed at B&Bs in Stillwater, which were nice for sure, but LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION which only the Inn meets. Sure, the rooms are outdated but it doesn't affect your stay, you have everything you need. Pay extra and get a room with the view of the river. The most recent room we stayed in, Room 218, perfect for us....quick jaunt up the stairs, a view to die for and the quirkiness of the vault bathroom. Wake up and go downstairs and have your coffee on the back deck and watch people/couples/families/singles on the riverfront. End the day with a drink on the back deck too, doing the same, watching people walking, talking, wading in the water, holding hands.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view on the west side. Anything on the north side will be noisy at bar closing time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We are so glad you had such a great time! We will see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Water Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Inn

Address: 101 Water Street South, Stillwater, MN 55082
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Water Street Inn in the heart of Downtown Stillwater. All guestrooms with double whirlpools, most with fireplaces and balconies overlooking the River. Restaurant with indoor & outdoor seating, Irish Pub overlooking the river, meeting, banquet and wedding facilities for 2 to 300 people. Stillwater’s only Inn on the River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Water Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel Stillwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.