We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No cold water.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Water Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Water Street Inn to your Saves list
Water Street Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Water Street South, Stillwater, MN 55082   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Stillwater
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maplewood, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No cold water.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

No cold water for the spa tub. I reported it and gave them 5 hr to repair before we returned. They promised they would take care of it. NOTHING was ever done. Who would pay over $200.00 for a room you can not use the tube. This is my second bad experience. Will never stay there again. DONT WASTE YOU HARD EARNED MONEY .

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    44
    48
    45
    46
See reviews for
22
139
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was the fourth time staying at Water Street over the past couple years. Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING has greatly improved. Big time. Not sure when Carl (manager) took over, but our experiences keep getting better and better and I can't help but think this comes down to the management. Absolutely can not beat the location, step outside the front door and you're right in the mix of the downtown with all the cute shops, fab restaurants and such. Step out the back door and the riverfront, park and any festival/show going on is taking place right at your feet. Once you park in the Inn's free parking lot, you never have to leave. We don't eat full meals at the pub or restaurant (we have our faves on the main drag) but you should be staying at this Inn just for the location and extremely helpful staff. Again, I must bring this back to management because every single staff person we talked with was so nice, professional and helpful. We've also stayed at B&Bs in Stillwater, which were nice for sure, but LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION which only the Inn meets. Sure, the rooms are outdated but it doesn't affect your stay, you have everything you need. Pay extra and get a room with the view of the river. The most recent room we stayed in, Room 218, perfect for us....quick jaunt up the stairs, a view to die for and the quirkiness of the vault bathroom. Wake up and go downstairs and have your coffee on the back deck and watch people/couples/families/singles on the riverfront. End the day with a drink on the back deck too, doing the same, watching people walking, talking, wading in the water, holding hands.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view on the west side. Anything on the north side will be noisy at bar closing time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We are so glad you had such a great time! We will see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This was my first visit to Stillwater, although I am a native to Minnesota. We traveled for a wedding being held there. Our first challenge was trying to drive down mainstreet; not easy. We sat in so much traffic that we ended up just pulling off onto a side street, parking the car, and making a run for the wedding (we were cutting it short on time). Once we got to the Inn, we couldn't figure out how to get in! We could not find a door... we finally entered through the restaurant on the South side and tried to find a main lobby for directions to the wedding, but... no. We could not find a main lobby area or any directions. We did, however, run into several other wedding goers also at bay as to where to go? When another group said, "the bride and groom are still taking pictures...", we thought ourselves safe, but upon second thought I thought I would ask more and found that there were several weddings going on at the same time, and still could not find ours! After a few more minutes, someone from the hotel walked up to the group of six now amassing, also lost in finding the wedding of our choice, and they led us to the correct spot.

The "space" itself was quite nice, and was appropriate for the number of people (about 200). The food was "good enough" for catered wedding food (I had prime rib but it was quite over done). We had access to the outdoors; which was nice, during the early period of the reception (prior to moving in for dinner).

We never got to actually ever see the Inn lobby or any rooms, just much of the other areas.

Favorite: nice deck area
Least favorite: trying to find out where to go and how to get in; lack of service

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you had a nice time at the Wedding you attended at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I'm currently staying at the Water Street Inn this evening, and am so disappointed that I am online writing a negative review. First, the hotel has only been in this building 18 years. It states on line & all over the hotel it was established in 1890 - keep in mind that's the building. My room is facing the street not the river. Therefore, I get to have the street lights lighting up my entire room because the vinyl patio blinds are broken, rotten, and don't close all the way. The mattress is very uncomfortable. Most disappointing I am staying for business, and this hotel is NOT FOR BUSINESS TRAVELERS. There is not a desk for working, slow internet speed (good luck finding the password), and does not accommodate those who would like a fitness center, etc. If you like TV - bring your own from home - this hotel's is a joke. Never again. Will not be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the location of our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rice, mn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night in early April, and everything about it was easy and hassle free. I booked the hotel online through an Amazon.com deal, so we saved 50% off the price of the room. Finding the hotel was easy, parking was ample, and the location was unbeatable. Once we parked the car at the hotel, we never started it again except when we left to head back home. It is walking distance to all the great restaurants, and shops in downtown Stillwater. Our room was comfortable, and charming. This is not a brand new Hilton, it is a historic hotel, and some of the furniture and decor show wear. That was not a problem for us. We did use the fireplace and the whirlpool in our room. The whirlpool was awesome, and was a perfect way to relax after a long day of walking around town. The bed was a little uncomfortable for my husband, but I slept fine. The staff at the hotel were very nice and friendly and even allowed us to check in a few hours early. Overall a great experience in Stillwater!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your GREAT review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent our anniversary weekend here. We were supposed to stay in February, but had a death in the family so I needed to call to reschedule. They were very accommodating. We stayed in March and very much enjoyed it. The rooms were fine but could use a little updating and decor/furniture that is more in keeping with the theme of the hotel. The bed was comfortable and we slept great. I have heard it is best to stay away from a room near the bar or the stairs. We loved our food and service in Charlie's. The service was slow in the restaurant when we had breakfast and they charged us extra for more coffee. The brunch was good if you don't want the French toast or waffles, unless you prefer them cold, everything else was delicious. We love antiques so the town is always fun. We would stay again but only with the winter package which cut the room rate in half. paying the full rate would not feel like a value for me.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Glad to hear we were very accommodating for you and you had such a nice, comfortable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We used the Travel Zoo deal offered by this historic Inn to purchase two rooms for the same w.e. to share with my brother and his wife. I will start by saying this place is really unique, has a great location, and all the staff we met with that w.e. were fabulous. The problem begins with their reservation process. It literally took me an hour and 40 minutes to book this stay! The first gal who made the reservations just couldn't wrap her head around this idea that one person would purchase two rooms for the same w.e. She made the reservations after great effort, (approx 30 minutes into it) and then promptly lost them after "double checking " before I hung up.... Rinse, shampoo , and repeat...here we go again...same thing happened the second time...it was a major pain. Finally once it was locked and loaded, well after an hou,r we were set. Unfortunately, living in MN does have some weather issues from time to time, so the w.e. we had scheduled was the coldest of the year so far, below zero....35 degrees(peachy). I called the Inn to try and switch the reservations and they DID allow for this and we were please...unfortunately I had to be placed on hold to wait for the manager...again for over a half an hour :( It was so terribly frustrating.
As a whole, the Inn is very nice and face to face, the people were wonderful. We had a gorgeous large suite on the street side (beware of bar closing time!) It got pretty wild...but no problems for us. We had a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub in our room. The linens and towels were great and we felt it was a "good deal" for the price we paid...however, having paid full price with all my booking hassles, I would have been very unhappy.
The meal in the restaurant was wonderul, 4 stars plus! We each had a different entree and loved it. Prime Rib, Walleye, Pepper Steak (SUPER spicy), and pork loins.Wait staff was fabulous. I will say that the meal was excellent. We galavanted over to Charlie's Irish bar, located inside the Inn, where there was a live Irish band playing lively music. The musicians were "Bedlam" and they were hilarious. We had a ball. Service here was good as well. The next day we had a brunch breakfast, and again, it was very good. Unfortunately we were not informed about of getting reservations first, which kinda threw our host into a hmmmmmm moment. But being quick on his feet, he seated us at one of the best places in the restaraunt.
So , would we go again?....perhaps, but NEVER reserve two rooms under one persons' name. Also, the Inn charged our credit card twice, and the fees were still pending until finally today! It has been resolved now that I am writing this review. Our card was also charged twice for taxes and that as well, has also been resolved. Strange, but they really need to work on the reservation/charging fees, other than that, it was great.
I did recommend this deal to some friends who went...but the electricity went out that night and they didn't get to have their evening meal....bad luck and thank you old man winter....they were given a coupon to come back sometime for the meal. (they live outside of Stillwater)

Room Tip: Book only one room per person. Their "system" seemed to make it very difficult to do two/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Great to hear your stay was excellent and you encountered fabulous staff! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Water Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Inn

Address: 101 Water Street South, Stillwater, MN 55082
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Water Street Inn in the heart of Downtown Stillwater. All guestrooms with double whirlpools, most with fireplaces and balconies overlooking the River. Restaurant with indoor & outdoor seating, Irish Pub overlooking the river, meeting, banquet and wedding facilities for 2 to 300 people. Stillwater’s only Inn on the River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Water Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel Stillwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.