We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short of expectations for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Water Street Inn

Save Saved
You added Water Street Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Water Street Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Water St S, Stillwater, MN 55082   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Stillwater
GreenLeadersBronze level
MAPLE GROVE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Short of expectations for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Water Street Inn for the first time due to an event that we went to on the St. Croix with friends. Other hotels were charging nearly the same rate and we already knew of their quality of rooms. So we decided if we were going to splurge why not Water Street Inn. Needless to say we were disappointed in the hotel for the price we paid. The room was large but outdated, even for an inn. Updates are needed especially if they are going to keep charging those prices.

We wished there was better entrance from the parking lot or a sign to the front of the building. We traipsed through a wedding reception in our boating clothes.

One other note, as I was heading into the bathroom to take a shower while my husband was downstairs at brunch, I heard housekeeping knock on the door. I did not go to the door but yelled, which i would think indicated people are still in the room and not checked out. However, during my shower, I heard someone in the room and knocked on the bathroom door (and it was not my husband)! Disturbing needless to say. No one was at the front desk when we checked out so we just left the key on the desk and left.

Wish there were more hotel options in the Stillwater area. Most are poor quality and bad value for the price you end up paying for.

Room Tip: Away from the street if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    42
    48
    45
    45
See reviews for
21
137
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This property is almost right on the St Croix River and appears to be very historic and old. The suite I stayed in was very spacious. The bathroom had been renovated and contained a walk in shower, which I prefer instead of the bathtub/shower combo. A jet tub was in the bedroom portion of the suite far away from the bathroom entrance, which I didn't like. The furniture throughout the room was vintage for the period; however, it was not comfortable at all for sitting/reading. Antique furnishings look nice, however, they do not provide any comfort for the visitor. The mattress on the four-poster bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable and the pillows were very lumpy. For the price of the suite, the bed and linens should have exceeded my expectations, but they didn't. As such, I did not sleep well at all. There was a balcony off the bedroom with 2 chairs and a table. The balcony was small, but functional. My suite was on the back of the hotel next to the park / river and very close to the lift bridge. My friend and I sat on our respective balconies in our adjoining rooms until well after dark and enjoyed people watching on the waterfront. All in all, I wouldn't return unless I knew that the furniture had been updated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and honesty regarding our Historic furniture! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We loved the room decor and size. We stayed on a Wednesday night only to find that the garbage service date for Water Street was 5:19 A.M. on Thursday. For more than 20 minutes we listened to the garbage truck pickup dumpsters and slam them around. Add that to the horrible bed and sleep eluded us. The staff should have been aware of this situation and made sure we placed in a room away from Water Street, arranged with the garbage company to change the schedule, or at the very least let us know about it. We stayed at the Lowell Inn last year and wanted to be a little closer to the action. Our stay at the Lowell was superb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your response. We appreciate your comments and business and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

do not bother getting the birthday pkg. I was disappointed in the room we were given,wallpaper was loose in the corner, tub was in the bathroom, not in the same room as the bed, like the website showed. balcony very narrow, so we asked if there was a room facing the river available, they were very gracious, and switched us. This room looked more like the website. enjoyed the tub, while looking at the river. The air conditioning however, did not work. luckily, it was cool during the night and we had all the windows open. we did get an extra bottle of wine because of that. I did have to ask for the wine that comes with the birthday pkg. The meal we had was just ok. Do not get the au gratin potatoes, they were cut from a pan, made the day before, very dry and cold. steak and walleye were just ok, and NO beverage comes with the meal, you have to pay for that! the next day when we came back for our second meal, (all of which we paid dearly for with the birthday pkg) the tables were not cleaned well, the napkin that wrapped the silverware was very dirty, and when we complained about the tables, we were not given any satisfaction. we left, not using the meal tickets that we had paid for already, and went to another restaurant, with CLEAN tables,
very disappointed and the customer service from the management afterwards speaks loudly, as to why so many complaints are here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and your review. I will speak with our restaurant manager to address your concerns. Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

For my bachelorette party, the girls and I decide to splurge and get a hotel room downtown. We were out late and when we came into the room it was HOT! I called and they gave us two fans.. needless to say we did not sleep well in this HOT room. and then next day when telling the front desk about it they didn't even say SORRY! gave us $50 off. So we paid $260 for a room with no air conditioning! what customer service....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Traveled here as a nice place to stay before leaving on our honeymoon. It was quite a disappointment.
The biggest issue was the terrible quality of the bed. It was near impossible to sleep in. There are floors that are more comfortable!
The decor is an attempt at luxurious. However, it qualifies as gloomy or cave-like. Further, there were a couple of places where the wallpaper was bubbling out. The tub was so-so. The carpet was dirty and worn.
We were in room 314 which has an excellent view of the bridge. It is next to the elevator. The elevator noise was negligible. However, the drunk wedding reception guests confused about what floor they were on were extremely loud.
The service was mediocre. My wife forgot a pair of stud earrings on the bedside table. We called within a half hour of checking out to ask somebody to look for them so we could return to get them. We returned to the hotel about an hour after the phone call. The gal cleaning the room had managed to knock them from plain view to on the dark green floor. We were fortunate to be shown the room and allowed to search before she vacuumed them up. Getting access to the room was appreciated. However, the exact location of the earrings was called in and service could still not find them.
Overall, this was a terrible place to stay. We were hopeful with its appearance, but it was a huge letdown. I would highly recommend people go elsewhere. It is overpriced by double for the quality of the hotel. My wife and I will not be returning for any anniversaries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I am very sorry to hear about your stay with us. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel staff was excellent and very friendly. If you are looking for a nice place in Stillwater this is your place. The rooms are very stylish and very large and comfortable. The beds are a bit soft but still provided a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Room 317 has a heart shaped Jacuzzi tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Water Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Inn

Address: 101 Water St S, Stillwater, MN 55082
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Water Street Inn in the heart of Downtown Stillwater. All guestrooms with double whirlpools, most with fireplaces and balconies overlooking the River. Restaurant with indoor & outdoor seating, Irish Pub overlooking the river, meeting, banquet and wedding facilities for 2 to 300 people. Stillwater’s only Inn on the River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Water Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel Stillwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.