We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funfilled romantic Get Away weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Water Street Inn to your Saves list
Water Street Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Water Street South, Stillwater, MN 55082   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Stillwater
GreenLeadersBronze level
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Funfilled romantic Get Away weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I surprised my husband with the weekend getaway for Valentine's Day. We stayed Saturday night. Room was very nice and clean. Comfortable bed. Quiet. Great view. We met some friends in the bar, had a drink together and went our separate way for dinner..at the hotel restaurant. Our server Sandra was great. Food was very good, much better than I expected! What a great surprise. Portions were really huge! We went back to the bar after dinner...it was packed! The Irish band started up and it was the go-to place in town. We stuck around for a bit and then went bar hopping! There aren't too many places where you can do that so it's really fun to pretend you are in college again and hit a bunch of places in 1 night! Breakfast the next morning was great, too. My only complaint? There should have been a couple bottles of complementary water in the room. We will do this as a gift for someone. It's an experience that you can be proud to share with others.

Room Tip: There was a pool and fitness center????
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you glad you enjoyed the Hounds of Finn in Charlie's Irish Pub and made it around downtown. Look forward to you coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    48
    52
    49
    48
See reviews for
27
151
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We took advantage of a special rate deal and stayed at the Water Street Inn last weekend, 2/8-2/9.

Our room was a huge river view 2 room suite overlooking the historic lift bridge over the St. Croix River. The room was very private, clean and quiet. It included a fire place and a spa tub. We took advantage of all these plus a great breakfast in the dining area the next morning.

In the evening, we enjoyed some great tap beers and a local Irish duo who entertained us in Charlies Pub. No cover charge, just a great relaxing time.

We have stayed multiple times at the Water Street, and hope to return again soon. The staff is very friendly, allowing us to check in early and to also have a late check out time so we were not in a hurry.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different, be sure to ask about what rooms are available and what they have as far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Welcome back, glad you enjoyed your stay and had time to listen to the Music in the Pub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a great place! Cheerful, attentive staff, great restaurant, and our room overlooking the St. Croix River was to die for in its elegance and comfort. The gas fire and huge Jacuzzi-filled tub were romantic additions. Very quiet. The bed was incredibly comfortable. We felt very attended to and pampered. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the St. Croix River is delightful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are glad you had such an amazing time here at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Prague, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great city, great location, so much to see and do in the area. But until these owners realize the amazing potential of this Inn, find another place in Stillwater to stay. I would give a bad rating based solely on the bed and pillows. My wife and I actually hurt all night and hardly slept. We've never slept on a bed that bad in our lives. We're smaller people, and I haven't ever been on a bed that hard and at the same time that sagged so far under so little weight. And the pillows made my head sore. This place could be so much more than it is. All that said,we both agreed that the food in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast was very good and the staff did a fantastic job during our meals.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, Front Office Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We have the My Pillow on all our beds and have heard from guests how great they are. Glad you enjoyed the food in the our restaurant and our Great City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We went as a "marriage getaway" spending one night and taking advantage of supper and breakfast on either end. The food was very good, everything from the appetizer to the dessert. The service was also very good be it in the restaurant, at the front desk, or when we called down to get a bucket of ice (no ice machines on each floor so they bring it to your room). The hotel certainly has a historic flavor to it and so guests should not expect contemporary niceties, although it did have WiFi and the jettub in the huge bathroom was a treat. Our room also had a gas fireplace which cozied up the room that much more. One downside, which I hesitate to even mention because it's rather uncontrollable from the hotel's standpoint, is that our room (#222) was alongside a road that was rather busy in the morning and so the sound of traffic was evident. My wife doesn't mind that sort of thing, actually finding it lulls her to sleep. I on the other hand was thankful for our portable, travel-size white noise machine. All in all, the Water Street Inn is a great getaway for couples. I wouldn't think it would be good necessarily for families though.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, Front Office Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for the kind words, I will pass along your compliments to the restaurant staff.
We are looking forward to the new bridge being built down the river, after that our bridge becomes a bike trail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you enjoy historic buildings this is a great hotel to enjoy with tall ceilings and the feel of the past. The hotel was not at all busy and all the staff was very helpful. Don't expect the modern amenities that newer hotels offer but enjoy the presence of the past. I got a great deal with groupon that included the room, a 3 course dinner and breakfast. I think this is best for couples. My steak was excellent but my husband's walleye was not. They offered to keep our leftover food in their refrigerator since there isn't any in the room.

Room Tip: We were in a corner room on the second floor and could see both the street and river. The fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101water, Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you, hope you can come back and enjoy our Inn in the summer time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartville, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I went here for a romantic getaway. We could not have been happier! The room was beautiful and HUGE! The ambience was the best! Everyone who worked there was friendly and helpful. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Water Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Inn

Address: 101 Water Street South, Stillwater, MN 55082
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Water Street Inn in the heart of Downtown Stillwater. All guestrooms with double whirlpools, most with fireplaces and balconies overlooking the River. Restaurant with indoor & outdoor seating, Irish Pub overlooking the river, meeting, banquet and wedding facilities for 2 to 300 people. Stillwater’s only Inn on the River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Water Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel Stillwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.