We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots Ambiance - Charm - Clean - Quaint -” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Water Street Inn

Save Saved
You added Water Street Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Water Street Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Water St S, Stillwater, MN 55082   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Stillwater
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albertville, Minnesota
1 review
“Lots Ambiance - Charm - Clean - Quaint -”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Firstly, I read previous reviews and was concerned after having purchased a package deal via Groupon (which I would do again). Our lovely room (#217) was beautiful and very clean - and I looked for potential problems and flaws - NONE! The sheets were freshly washed as you could still smell the bleach that was used. You must keep in mind that this is a historic hotel - not supposed to be in the venue of modern and contemporary. Everything functioned well, the commode was clean as was the entire room. The fireplace was a very nice touch and romantic this time of year as well as the spa tub feature. The food (dinner/brunch) was very good and creative. The tableset was elegant and charming - as well as the waitstaff. The bed was comfortable and we liked the take on the European bed and bedding. The ceilings were high, windows tall and it was all very romantic.

Yes, the furniture is in period throughout the Inn - so do not expect contemporary. Yes, the carpets do have some spills on them - as lots of weddings are hosted there. Again, please remember when considering, this is a historic Inn. We found nothing offensive, everything was fresh, clean and comfortable including sheets and towels.

This will be a favourite "special" place to visit and get away for a weekend.

Thank you, Water Street, for a lovely getaway. See you soon!

Elisa, Albertville, MN

Room Tip: The staff was helpful and knowledgeable regarding the rooms and the best room for your stay. Ask th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    42
    46
    45
    43
See reviews for
20
135
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had broken furniture in our room and the carpet was awful looking. The carpet and furniture throughout the hotel is tired, old and this hotel really needs a renovation. Last time they renovated was in 1995. The Sunday buffet brunch was bad and overpriced. Our bed was hard and lumpy. We understand now why the hot tub in the room because we needed it after both our backs were killing us after one night in the bed. Hot tub worked fine and was clean. Our room had a tiny 12 inch old fashioned TV. However, we would never stay here again. For $286 a night for the room we had which was nothing special, book a bed and breakfast. We live in the Twin Cities and went to spend a night away from home with baby at Grandma's for a romantic night. The only pluses are the location, it is walking distance from charming downtown Stillwater.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I spend a weekend in Stillwater and wanted the experience of the 'old town charm' but didn't like the idea of a bed and breakfast. The location is great and there is free parking. However, the bed was incredibly uncomfortable so we left feeling more tired than when we came. The TV armoir was in serious need of repair as well. The fireplace was a nice touch, but there was no way we were using the whirlpool tub.

We also had brunch at the restaurant downstairs and left a lot to be desired. The food was cold and overall very bland, with inattentive wait staff and a teenager male host that was inaudible because he was so softspoken you couldn't hear him.

Overall it as ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed here recently for a family wedding, and while there I broke my foot. The staff, especially Kevin on the weekend overnight shift, but all of the more experienced staff, were tremendously kind and I had to be convinced by them to call to ask to be taken down to the lobby/restaurant/bar area, as I didn't want to be a bother at busy times. The manager brought in a wheelchair for me from on his own volition. If I needed ice or anything else, even at a time when it was no longer being "served," I had it. It is true that the rooms are dark, and much of the furniture needs replacement, as well as the bath storage areas and fixtures as well. The function and wedding areas are pleasant and the views from the suite are lovely across the river from the terrace. The food portions were huge and very good for the type of food served. The waitress in the bar (I forgot your name, but you are studying to be a nurse), was friendly and enjoyable. Housekeeping could do a more through job and one day I had to ask them to do so. One shouldn't have to ask this. Another elevator would be helpful. I had a wonderful time, even with my accident, and the wedding reception was great fun. I tend to leave honest reviews, so despite the kindness shown to me and the memorable time I had, there are areas to improve. But thank you and please wish the staff I got to know well from me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I dropped by the Water Street Inn to view the rooms as my husband and I were deciding where to stay for the night. I ran away from this place as fast as I could. The man at the front desk trustingly gave me keys to two rooms so that I could take a peek. In both, the carpet was soiled and very worn. The furniture is old and scratched. The door jams were dirty. The bathroom tiles in one of the rooms was all cracked. It's musty and dirty from lobby to room. And the lobby is dark and uninviting. It may be historic, but it's not charming and elegant, it's just old. It's time for a good makeover.

Room Tip: I looked at a standard and a suite and both were disgusting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARONA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our experience along with many family & friends was SPECTACULAR in every way at this Inn!!!
The reception area was so elegantly decorated & breath taking and all thru the evening the staff
were so very personable & accommodating to all the guests.... The appetizers & menu selections were excellent & plentiful from start to finish with OOOHHHSSS && AAAHHHSS
from all the guests who enjoyed their time immensely @ this Inn along the St. Croix Riverway!!!
The rooms were so very spacious, clean, quiet & Victorian style with beautiful views of the water front area ****

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We held a board meeting at the Water Street Inn with about 30 people, most of whom stayed at the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable. This isn't an antique filled inn but it is clean and charming. We had two banquet style meals with good food and good service. I want to come back with my wife for a mid week getaway!

Room Tip: If the view is important, ask for the river side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Water Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Inn

Address: 101 Water St S, Stillwater, MN 55082
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Water Street Inn in the heart of Downtown Stillwater. All guestrooms with double whirlpools, most with fireplaces and balconies overlooking the River. Restaurant with indoor & outdoor seating, Irish Pub overlooking the river, meeting, banquet and wedding facilities for 2 to 300 people. Stillwater’s only Inn on the River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Water Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel Stillwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.