We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ice cream!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nelson's Drive Inn Dairy Store

Nelson's Drive Inn Dairy Store
920 Olive St W, Stillwater, MN 55082-5634
(651) 439-3598
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 86 restaurants in Stillwater
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing ice cream!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

A little place that I passed multiple times, but everyone told me about. 42 flavors of homemade ice cream to chose from. The portions are HUGE!!! A child's size is ample for two people and the price is to die for. The chocolate peanut swirl is our favorite.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    31
    8
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievable value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The portions and prices are UNREAL! A child size is like a larger in most other places. The ice cream flavors are outstanding. The only place to sit is outside so be prepared to eat very quickly if it's remotely hot out! Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

You might be taken back by the prices on the board but don't worry, the value may be the best you will find anywhere. A child's cone is more then enough for a full grown adult. I am not sure how anyone can eat a larger cone. The ice cream is excellent. Lots of flavors. Highly recommend the French Silk Pie or Black Cherry. No inside seating so on a hot day be prepared to wash yourself down. They have an outdoor sink for doing just that.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ice Cream Lovers! Don't Miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you are in Stillwater and you love ice-cream, this mom and pop ice cream shop is a must visit. At first glance, the prices seem high. One scoop is about 4.25. But one scoop is all you need. In fact, my friend and I both ended up getting the "child's" size cone at 3.50 and it was more than enough -- not like any child-size I had ever scene! There are lots of flavors to choose from -- from kid's favorite's like bubblegum and peppermint to more adult options -- like salted caramel with nuts. My friend and I had the salted caramel with nuts and it was delicious. When we were there the line was long, but the wait was not. They move the line quickly and at the same time are very friendly. No indoor seating, but lots of tables and chairs outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Come after lunch- skip dinner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

In Stillwater, there are many cute shops and yummy places to eat. Among them are the few ice cream shops which cater to the tourists, giving scoops of ice cream the size of racquetballs for $5. Nelson's, on the other hand, is one of those places a bit off of the main drag and where even the locals stand in line. The same $5 at Nelson's will get you a near bowling ball sized ice cream treat. Even the "child size" is enough for the average hubby and wife to share.

With close to 30+ flavors at any given time, there is something for everyone. The flavors are varied and some are out there... My son got a combo of cinnamon churro and licorice, but it is not all adventure, as even the plain vanilla lovers will find their flavor at Nelson's.

The main caveat is that on the hot summer days when the store is open, you will stand a better chance of having ice cream running down your arm than getting it into your mouth. Be prepared to rinse off when you're done! For that reason, I would recommend getting your portion in a cup- you may not even be able to finish it anyway and it will be less likely to be all over you.

Finally, if you do decide to go and get your fill, don't plan on the next meal as it will fill you up for a long time. Gotta get to Nelson's, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson's Drive Inn Dairy Store also viewed

Been to Nelson's Drive Inn Dairy Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelson's Drive Inn Dairy Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.