We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, great atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dock Cafe

Dock Cafe
425 Nelson St E, Stillwater, MN 55082-5164
651-430-3770
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 85 Restaurants in Stillwater
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Pierre, South Dakota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My two sisters and I wanted a relaxing supper following Alzheimer's walk in Minneapolis, after some reviews and a drive we ended up here. It was great, food, service, and atmosphere, definitely will be repeat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    72
    23
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can't beat the ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had dinner on a lovely late Summer evening. Got there at 5:30 and snagged a
Table closest to the river. By the time we left 1.5 hrs later all the patio tables were filled.
We noticed lots of empty tables inside - too nice to be in. My walleye was very good -
A nice very light pan fried to golden. I got to sub potatoes instead of rice. My husband liked
His shrimp pasta dish. Good warm bread too. We were comped one hot fudge sundae
When I mentioned it was our anniversary. Good service but waitress got busy so check
Slow in coming. I suggest going on a weeknite during patio season or at least early for
Meal times. Cons- a few more flys and bees bugging us a bit. 9.00 specialty drink and 4.50
Tap beer - ouch! Beautiful flowers too. Of course we'll go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, enjoyable views indoors or outside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A lovely early autumn day today - so pleased that this Minnesota restaurant has the sense to serve on its patio according to the weather rather than the calender (so many places seem to close after Labor Day no matter what).

Enjoyed a peaceful and delicious meal with my best friend on the banks of the St. Croix River hugged by Minnesota and Wisconsin. Basic fare, beautifully presented and perfectly cooked. Oh, yes the flourless chocolate "cake" with fresh raspberries and sauce did not hurt either...it was more like a dense mousse under a dark layer of chocolate topped with fresh mint. Yum!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Dock Cafe is hardly a cafe. The food was excellent and their menu offers a variety of meals. The view on the river was excellent. The patio appeared to be completely full on the evening we visited. I would return to the Dock Cafe the next time I'm in Stillwater.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner on the river!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had an excellent dinner at the Dock Cafe! The service was prompt and very attuned to helping get food ordered quickly for my two-year old son. I had an open-faced salmon sandwich which was excellent and my husband's custom-ordered sandwich came exactly as he wanted it. They even had Hendricks gin for an excellent gimlet! Fantastic experience, fantastic dinner, fantastic service. I couldn't have asked for more!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dock Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.