We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marx Wine Bar and Grill

Marx Wine Bar and Grill
241 Main St S, Stillwater, MN 55082-5123
651-439-8333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 86 restaurants in Stillwater
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went here for our 1 year anniversary last minute as we ate a late dinner and everything was closed so we were glad we stumbled upon it downtown. I had the penne with chicken and my husband had the scallops which were both amazing!! I was worried about the penne being served with bacon being too over powering, but every bite was a new flavor of parmesean, spinach, rosemary, bacon, and cream sauce. The scallops were in a hoisen sauce I believe and blackened to perfection. The server was a little weird - I didn't care for his blue jean layed back style for a nice restaurant. Would definitely recommend and go back again. I think our bill was $46 with no drinks or dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    78
    32
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food for Stillwater”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I chose this restaurant for our anniversary dinner.
The location was convinent in Downtown Stillwater. We ate on their patio out back which was OK. The back faced an allyway, and although there was a fence more could be done with the patio to improve the ambiance (lighting, flowers, etc.)

The menu was interesting and everything was cooked well.

The only other negative was the service was so fast we felt a bit rushed. The server/staff were friendly though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Never get tired of their desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Marx is a go-to place for us for a nice glass of wine and a dessert, once a week. Sometimes we even have a full supper, and we love every bite of it. The service is very good, the guys behind the bar know their beverages, and I have never been disappointed with the imagination of the chef.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best in Stillwater!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This is our favorite restaurant in Stillwater. It has such fresh food. And anyone that knows of it recommends it before any other restaurant in Stillwater! You can even ask for the chef to make up a fun meal with your favorite meat and vegetables that doesn't follow the menu. And the servers are nothing short of the best!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Last-Minute Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We decided at the last minute to forego our usual Stillwater lunch stop and try Marx. We were delighted. We shared a large salad with panko-dusted goat cheese (complete with fantastic bread!) and a much larger-than-expected sausage pizza.. My husband also had a good but relatively inexpensive glass of wine. Our only complaint - the pizza had a bit more cheese than we would have preferred. Our suggestion - ask the kitchen to go light on the cheese. We sat in a front window and watched the folks flow by - almost as good as sitting on the patio looking toward the river. Our total bill, tip not included, was about $28. We will definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marx Wine Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Stillwater, MN
Stillwater, MN

Been to Marx Wine Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marx Wine Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.