We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stillwater stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phil's Tara Hideaway

Phil's Tara Hideaway
15021 60th St N, Stillwater, MN 55082-6384
(651) 439-9850
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 88 Restaurants in Stillwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
windermere, Fl
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great stillwater stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

definitely need a reservation very popular but justified cool place in a cool town. food is great best bar service always a little crowded but understandable enjoy a cocktail until table is ready then enjoy a wonderful meal and service

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    68
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always Busy for a Reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The food is somewhat eclectic, but has a Greek flair. The specials change frequently and are typically very good. The motif is northern Wisconsin log cabin and the building itself has quite the lore. Only downside is that you often have to wait and it is noisy, but that is the typical price to pay for a good restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Busy place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you like a really busy, cozy, bustling restaurant - this is your choice! The food was very good, served hot! There was plenty of good service, too. I had the lobster and broccolini with greek salad. My food was excellent. My husband had the prime and said it was the best he had ever had - and he has had a lot! A little too high activity for me, which is why I didn't give 5 stars. I like a little more calm environment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food to die for...atmosphere not so much...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I need to preface this review with the fact that we have lived in the area for our whole lives...over 60 years, This restaurant has been up and down many times over those years. But...let's stay in the here and now...

Food is out of this world...and worth the inconvenience of the really crowded dining area.

For app, we stared prosciutto gorgonzola crostini - great -- four small pieces, perfect for two. For our entrée, we each had the prime rib....unbelievable...cooked perfectly...horseradish sauce a wonderful compliment to the meal. The salads and side a great accompaniment.

The only reason I give this restaurant a 4 instead of a 5 is the atmosphere. It's a bar. the tables are stuffed into the room with the bar and you almost can taste the other diner's meals. Too bad...the servers really try to make up for this shortcoming, and do an excellent job of clearing and checking back with you...but at the end of the day, you kind of feel that you need to move out so someone else can have your table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a fun suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was a great suprise for us. We have lived in Stillwater for 10 years and finally made it to Phil's. We now think this might be the best restaurant in Stillwater - amazing food. I had the duck and it lived up to the reputation. My husband had the prime rib and he love it - very tender and perfectly cooked with a nice seasoning on the outside. We were with another family (total of 8 of us). We called ahead 30 mintues and they had a table ready for us. We all enjoyed our food and were very pleased with the wide variety. This will be on our places to go list from here on out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's Tara Hideaway also viewed

 

Been to Phil's Tara Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phil's Tara Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.