We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!!!!! Made fresh!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mai Ly Asian Cuisine

Mai Ly Asian Cuisine
14410 60th Street North, Stillwater, MN
(651) 351-5055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 85 restaurants in Stillwater
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food!!!!! Made fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We love the fresh cooked family style served food! Totally going back on a weekly basis! Had the pho and lo mien - son had egg rolls and loved them all!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    10
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Obviously homemade rather than mass produced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Faced with a choice between Mongolian Buffet with a web site showing predictable faux Chinese food or Mai Ly Asian cuisine with no web site but rave reviews, we trusted the reviews and gave Mai Ly a try. décor is...well let's just say that the place was (we surmised) a Mexican chain restaurant of some sort in the past so it's clean and bright but kind of nowhere, Now the food - quite good. We both ordered off the chef's suggested menu - triple delight ( chicken, pork and shrimp with snappy fresh stir fried vegetables and a slightly sweet sauce) and Wonton Soup Supreme (Vietnamese soup broth filled to the brim with large noodles, meatballs, mushrooms, broccoli and pea pods). At $9,95 and $7.50 respectively, these obviously homemade dishes were a bargain. Service was prompt and interestingly, our waitress was the mother of the owner (her son) and the mother-in-law of the fine cook and co-owner Stephanie Dinh. The place is named after abbreviations of the first names of her two grandchildren. What a great Vietnamese/American story behind this fine establishment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stillwater
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best asian in the valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

As stated in previous review's, this gem is thankfully not associated any of the previous restaurants. 3 trips and all were fantastic! Pho is seriously addicting, Curry chicken was dee-lish. This is by far the best Asian in the valley (Wi./Mn.) Prices are reasonable, portions big and with food and service that are a welcome change in Big Ego Stillwater, I will be going back again and again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Asian food in a great town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

There have been other Asian restraunts at this site, but this is not affiliated with any of those. This is the best Asian food in Stillwater, at very reasonable prices. Steph's egg rolls are fantastic, and hand made on premise. Definitely worth stopping in for either lunch or dinner.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Undiscovered Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

First. This is a NEW restaurant and not affiliated with the previous restaurant! We had hesitated to visit because we thought that Mai Ly was somehow affiliated with the previous restaurant. In fact, it is my understanding that Mai Ly is a new restaurant with new cook, owner, management, menu, etc. The owner, Stephanie, opened this restaurant last November and there have been several positive reviews appearing in the local press. We had wonderful food! We had Stephs egg rolls, and then two different stir frys, one with chicken and one with beef. Both were from the 'Chef's Suggestion' part of the menu. One was the curry and the other had a spicy red sauce (can't remember the name). Both were really good with numerous fresh vegetables and delicious meat. Spices and tastes were varied and complex and you could tell that a lot of work went into the meal. I think that the cuisine at this restaurant is principally Vietnamese and the couple sitting next to us were having bowls of the Pho noodle soup. That also looked wonderful. And the prices! Really low. Decor and environment was pleasant and service was good. No need to leave Stillwater any more to get great Asian food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai Ly Asian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Mai Ly Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai Ly Asian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.