We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chilkoot Cafe & Cyclery

Chilkoot Cafe & Cyclery
826 4th Street South, Stillwater, MN 55082
651-342-0429
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 85 Restaurants in Stillwater
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Rochester, MN
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We cannot comment on other offerings but had a 11am breakfast at Chilkoot last weekend and based on the two foods we ate it was really excellent! The wife had corn beef hash which had large (1" x 1-2") slices of corn beef with chunks of potato in a seasoned sauce topped with fried eggs. I had the ham & crab eggs benedict over a slice of homemade bread or bagel (my wife is the foodie but too busy to enter this review). Neither was diet food; we were going for a "2 meal day" and splurging on both more than normal. Oh yes, since it was so late in the morning we split a piece of apple cranberry pie cooked there as well. Wow. The baked goods looked tasty too. Other than the kitchen being just a tinzy bit slow since they were really busy it was a great experience. There were a lot of pedal bikers in the crowd on this nice morning. This is an order-from-the-counter-and-they-bring-food to you (like Noodles) kinda place. We've typically ate at either higher end downtown places or the German restaurant just west of town in our visits to Stillwater, but for a morning and we assume good lunch place as well this is defintely tops on the list just a few blocks SW of the main street up the hill. Footrote: I did say yes to the TA question about "one of the best meals had", which would be yes for breakfast but not overall all means ever .....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Always busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stopped here for dinner on a Monday night. We recently moved to the area and thought because there are always people there we would give it a shot. We had the cream of mushroom and vegetable soup, a bottle of wine, peach bread pudding with caramel sauce, vegetable curry and Ahi tuna salad. Everything we had was very good, it's a nice little spot to have a relaxing dinner. The menu for breakfast looked really good too.
My only complaint is that the service was a little slow due to having one server on. She had 8 tables going which can be hard.
We would return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One Word: BOMBSKI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great Food. Really a fun and unique experience. This is a great place for food. The bikes are awesome too! This is my place to go when we are in Stillwater.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A little bit out of the way, but worth finding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Chilcoots has the ambience of a warehouse/bistro, quite noisy. So I was surprised when friends took us there in the evening, and music covered the machine noise (which usually bothers me a lot.)
The food is good, there is table cloth and napkins, the wine is good and the servers know what they are doing.
We'll be back for sure.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Tasty food prepared with quality ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this restaurant for breakfast on several occasions. The food tastes fresh, wholesome and delicious! The atmosphere is somewhat cyclery and somewhat bohemian - both are good things! Our service has always been good and I have often wondered how they can serve such quality tasty food at such reasonable prices. Try the Biker Burrito and the Lentil Burger. Carry out a homemade pastry for dessert...they are worth taking the time to savor them!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilkoot Cafe & Cyclery also viewed

 

Been to Chilkoot Cafe & Cyclery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilkoot Cafe & Cyclery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.